We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sun., 09-27
20:00
PRICE RANGE
US$30 - US$60
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
French
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (2,107)
Filter reviews
2,102 results
Traveller rating
1,513
363
135
57
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
1,513
363
135
57
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salmon en croute onion soup snails dauphinoise potatoes beef bourguignon ox cheek creme brulee black pudding sea bass chicken visited kendells blackboard menu french cuisine the early bird menu special occasion going to the theatre three courses
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a fantastic night - Kendells have cleverly managed to keep their wonderful atmosphere while making everything totally COVID safe. Mrs Kendell greeted us on arrival and remembered it was a special birthday which was lovely, and the night was just fantastic from start to...finish. All the food was great but the perfect steaks need to be singled out for praise! So happy that even with the current restrictions, this place is better than ever.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful to be back here celebrating our wedding anniversary. All the Covid measures were very well thought through and felt safe without detracting from the dining experience. Well done to all the team. The food was delicious as always and cooked to perfection. We had...an amazing evening. Thank you xMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have dined here twice and on both occasions the food was outstanding. The atmosphere is cozy and relaxed and the staff have always been very good. The only thing I can criticise is that they don't sell beer by the pint and so the...price of the bottles of beer was quite expensive by the end of the evening. On our second visit we drank the house red which worked out much cheaper.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Kendells for my parents wedding anniversary. The service is brilliant and friendly and the food is fantastic. Lots to choose from with staple meals also. I had the steak and it was delicious. Cooked perfectly. Can’t wait to come back just me and...my partner as it is quite romantic and think it’s perfect for couples!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friends had recommended this restaurant and on our visit we were =sadly disappointed. The restaurant is so dark that you can't read the menu or see the dishes when they arrived. I love musicologists, but found the sound love to be too high. My wife...ordered a dry gin martini and was given a cocktail glass with martini but no gin! The 3 of us ordered different starters and mains. The starters were okay. My main course was duck, which was over cooked. The dauphinoise potatoes were still hard and no seasoning he'd been applied. My desert was the pear tart. the pastry was burnt at the bottom. When we paid the bill the waitress asked us if we had enjoyed our meal and I outlined the problems; she replied 'Alright.'More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We always visit Kendells for special occasions but a combination of reopening after covid & the eat out to help out pushed us to go.What a wonderful experience.we felt so safe, temperature taken, sanitizer & less crowded, waiting staff wearing visors.and of course the food...as wonderful as ever.Still my favorite Leeds restaurant.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went to this restaurant as part of the governments 50 % off scheme yesterday evening. I have wanted to try this restaurant for a while. However normally it would have been out of my price range. I arrived at 5.15 for a 5.30pm booking...and waited outside as the doors do not open until 5.30. I was super impressed with the Covid measures put in place. I was greeted by lady who took my temperature. All staff were wearing face coverings. Then a waitress escorted me to our table. The tables were spaced out well. The cutlery was in a sealed box, another Covid proofing measure. Atmosphere extremely special. Candles every where and a very romantic setting. Tables properly laid, with jugs of water provided. I went with a couple of friends, however it would be the perfect setting for a date! I do agree with the comment about it been dark. It was a little difficult to read the menu. However I doubt it would have been as romantic with more light. My friends had the 3 course set menu extremely good value considering you also get wine included. Would normally be around £30. I just had a main the sea bass which was divine. I recon they must have one of the best chefs in the world working there! Even the bread on the table was delicious. We were there for around 2 hours. Then presented with our bill. When you book they do explain there is a time limit. Understandably considering the current situation. We did not feel rushed though. On the way out we were directed to leave a different way another Covid measure. I would certainly go again for a special occasion. An experience to remember.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 22, 2020 via mobile

I was soooooo looking forward to visiting Kendalls. Imall for ambience however reading the menu was a challenge as it was very dark (and Im getting on a bit), so we had to use our mobile phone torch to read it however I noticed others...were doing the same (much younger than I am). The starters were ammmmazing!!! The service was super. We asked for the bouef en croute, a sharing main course. We requested for it to be rare. It didnt come rare and it came on separate plates, so not sharing at all, was huuuuuge and a bit tough. I was so overwhelmed and absolutely gutted as I was so excited to go. Im certain other main dishes would have been as good as the starter.we will go back to try something different from the menu.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 5, 2020 via mobile

A wonderful French atmospheric restaurant with great ambience. Food delicious and so much choice. You can chose the al la carts menu or tea time menu which is in fact the same as the al la carts but less options. However there is so much...choice you'll be hard pressed to make a decision. Mr Kendall's Onion Soup is to die for. Such depth of flavour- yum! Whatever reason you are eating out this has to be one of your top venues on Leeds. The welcome from staff is so warm and service second to non. Now my top place to eat in Yorkshire.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 15, 2020 via mobile

Really good menus with maybe too much choice. We had a choice of a la carte (blackboards on the wall), valentines special menu, or a sort of early bird. Having so much choice is great but took us a while to choose. Having chosen the...valentine option we were a bit miffed that the waitress told us we were too late to order it? Chose something else from the a la carte and all four of us were more than happy with what we had. Between the four of us only one of us had dessert and two of us asked for wine after the main course. However as soon as the dessert was finished with two drinks only part drunk the bill was presented. That was fine but within 5 minutes we had 3 staff members asking if we wanted the card machine. I could perhaps understand if they were short of tables but there were 3 empty ones nearby. I would visit again and recommend but don't want to feel rushed.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Leeds Headingley hotel
340 reviews
4.13 km away
Headingley Lodge
427 reviews
3.78 km away
Boundary Hotel
175 reviews
3.80 km away
High Bank Hotel
134 reviews
2.79 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Manjit's Kitchen
115 reviews
.31 km away
Aagrah
595 reviews
.03 km away
Safran
183 reviews
.32 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Nuad Thai Boran Spa
13 reviews
.30 km away
Leeds Playhouse
391 reviews
.14 km away
Victoria Leeds
442 reviews
.43 km away
Leeds Kirkgate Market
470 reviews
.42 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Scott D
March 10, 2020|
Answer
Response from Andrewd4m | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, I’ve no idea
0
Votes
HappyTravelingfortwo
November 21, 2019|
Answer
Response from DebsWa | Reviewed this property |
Hi Parking isn’t great in the area. We parked at John Lewis but I would call the restaurant and ask for suggestions - they are more than helpful.
0
Votes
Trudiemackem
December 30, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Anne R | Reviewed this property |
yes it is near the BBC offices and opposite Leeds City Bus station.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing