We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sun., 09-20
20:00

Ratings and reviews

#349 of 1,151 Restaurants in Leeds
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Reviews (752)
Filter reviews
750 results
Traveller rating
290
100
110
108
142
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
290
100
110
108
142
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pudding cat lover lovely cats food covers birthday treat lovely cafe kittens
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

Booked for a family of 6 cat lovers, on arrival we were hit with a £28 cover charge just to be able to eat there! The decor is fine but the service is very mediocre, it’s the typical employee students who don’t seem to have...much interest in being there. The food was generally very mediocre, the worst being the so called super thick milkshake, not in any way thick, moe like a Nesquik. The cats are typical cats, they won’t interact with you unless there’s food in which case you’re swamped with them, not a terrible thing as the we thought it was quite fun but given the size of the restaurant there were too few cats spread thinly. We were all super keen to come here but it can only be described as a damp squib.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 5 days ago

I have been visiting Kitty Cafe Leeds since it opened a couple of years ago and always had a great time. There was only one occasion when I had a bad experience when the previous manager was there. Since the new general manager David, has...taken over, the cafe has been transformed. Yesterday morning the cafe was fairly quiet so David was able to take the time to chat to the customers and tell them all about the cats at the cafe. He is always ready to answer any questions the customers have about the cats and the cafe. All the cats are very well looked after and they all get on so well together. David is so good with the cats-he obviously loves them all very much, taking the time to cuddle and fuss them, as well as running the cafe and serving the customers. The cakes and coffee are also much improved since my last visit-the red velvet cake was absolutely delicious. If you are ever visiting Leeds city centre the Kitty Cafe is definitely a place to visit. xxMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Th best thing was a cats. Everything was catastrophic. Waiter was rude and he screaming. Food poor quality. Good coffee and milkshakes. Not recommended for families with toddlers.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had been wanting to visit the cafe for some time so decided to book as a treat whilst on annual leave. We did manage to get a booking though the Eat Out to Help Out scheme so cost us £10pp for the “experience” main,...side, dessert and drink. When I phoned to book I had to pre pay over the phone which wasn’t an issue. When we arrived I noted the sign on the door stating one person at a time in reception. I opened the door and realised they were dealing with another party. I was about to turn around to wait outside and was barked at by a member of staff. The door had quite a lot of reflection so couldn’t see in!! I didn’t actually enter though, yet I was spoken to like a child! We waited out the front for a while and no one came to open the door and advise we could go in. Looked inside again and the reception was empty. We were just left waiting despite being aware that we were there. Not a great start! Anyway, we were greeting by a different girl who seemed very lovely and bubbly. She made up for the rudeness of the previous girl. We were told the rules and seated. The cafe is really bright open, was pleasantly surprised. Someone came and took our food order but weirdly wanted our dessert order at the same time?! Drinks and mains arrived with no major issues. Food was mediocre, but was what I expected. We ate and enjoyed interacting with the cats. They seemed happy, lots of hiding places if they felt they needed to get away and the staff were quick to remind people of the rules if they were breaking them (ie picking up a cat). Meals finished and waited for our cakes for over 30 mins. I asked the waitress if she could chase up our desserts (at the point we had been there 80 mins) and again was barked at and told “they are coming now”. The cafe was quiet that day, lots of empty tables so not sure what the big delay was for. In summary, food was ok, cats were nice but one member of staff could do with some customer service training. I also noted the next day I had been charged double on my card. 2 separate transactions 30 minutes apart (one showing as Leeds the other Nottingham). Rang to query and they didn’t seem surprised. Said it was a system error and needed to send proof. I did so and was refunded.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first time at the kitty cafe and there is nowhere on the website saying there are charges of £16 to help with up keep of the cats, this is a very expensive charge, the food isn't cheap either, lunch cost me nearly...£50 for 3 of us. ??More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The £20 welfare charge for 2 adults and 2 kids means that this is a very expensive place to go for food and drink and I guess needs to be considered an ‘experience’ I’ve checked the website and if there is mention of the surcharge...then it’s buried somewhere. The first mention of it is just as you are about to enter into the main part of the cafe and they point to a sign. We had booked in advance and were not told. So our plan of a milkshake treat for the kids suddenly became massively more expensive and took away anything good about the experience. You either feel conned or stupid. Not a great way to make your customers feel. Service is slow. Were told that couldn’t have a scone because they were bought in to order a dog off very quick. Clearly that was a load of rubbish to cover some other reason. Food was mediocre and overpriced. Won’t be back.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?3  
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Awful. Arrived for our booking at 1230 and had to wait in line due to COVID restrictions, which was fine. Got in after 20 minutes and were told by the waitress that she had given the table away as we were late. I explained that...we weren't late, we had been waiting in line. She shrugged and said 'well, it's 1250 now, so that's on you'. We'd waited for 20 minutes in the line and they had clearly given our table away even earlier than that. Rude staff. No apology. Embarrassing service. Avoid.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Disappointing experience - you only get an hour, for which you have to pay £6 as a "Cat welfare charge" before you even get to sit down - £2-3 would be more realistic. To add insult to injury, we were reminded that there were only...15 mins left of our booking - before all of our food order had arrived. Unacceptable, won't go back againMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I took my children here as they have been asking for quote some time. What can I say TERRIBLE! The food was terrible, and the same goes for the service. Also having to pay to go in to the cafe for the welfare of the...cats?! It was pretty obvious that the WELFARE monies was not being spent on the cats, as they were starving! If you care about cats or any animal for that matter, I would strongly advise not to visit here.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I supported my service user to kitty cafe and we loved our visit. Can't wait to visit again. My service user loved the cats

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Leeds Headingley hotel
333 reviews
3.75 km away
Premier Inn Leeds City (Elland Road) hotel
1,194 reviews
3.40 km away
Headingley Lodge
427 reviews
3.36 km away
High Bank Hotel
134 reviews
2.95 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Falafel Guys
747 reviews
.08 km away
Home Restaurant
529 reviews
.04 km away
Whitelocks Ale House
581 reviews
.11 km away
Cafe Moor
157 reviews
.11 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
County Arcade
304 reviews
.12 km away
Thornton's Arcade
251 reviews
.17 km away
Victoria Leeds
442 reviews
.16 km away
Leeds Kirkgate Market
469 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
5catsandus
January 8, 2020|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from TinyBarmaid | Reviewed this property |
Its essentially a cat shelter i think, so i think you can adopt (dont quite me on it though). If youre not sure you can always go in and ask, the staff are really lovely and helpful
0
Votes
Greenston
January 26, 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from lozz_tee_2005 | Reviewed this property |
Would have to park in the city elsewhere. Trinity shopping centre has a large multi story and isnt that far from the cafe really.
1
Vote
kazSelby
September 19, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from genuine_saj | Reviewed this property |
Yes its £6 per adult and £4 per child for up to 1 hour.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing