We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
Bookatable

Ratings and reviews

#70 of 414 British in Leeds
#185 of 1,150 Restaurants in Leeds
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$19 - US$45
CUISINES
British
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveller rating
177
125
63
40
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
177
125
63
40
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch soup bread chateaubriand salmon pudding scotch egg burger seafood fries main course chefs table special occasion starters fizz veg meats
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited and stayed at the Malmaison Leeds. We decided to eat at Chez Mal as the weather was bad and we have eaten at a Chez Mal in a different hotel before. We were greeted and seated on time and the staff were friendly and...helpful. We ordered pretty much straight away and had our chosen starters within 15 minutes of seating. The starters were average at best, small amounts of goats cheese and mozzarella which were the two starters surrounded by salad. If you have starters where the hero’s are goats cheese and mozzarella then it needs to be enough and good quality. Neither were. The main courses then took an hour!! We asked twice and were told they were plating up. Another 10 minutes passed. When they arrived the salmon and noodles were cold but no info about them being cold on the menu. When queried it was confirmed to be cold.....still not sure it was. Steak was cooked well. All in all a poor experience.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 19, 2020

Friendly people, in a relaxed, smart place. Attentive without being over the top. Reasonably priced food and drink.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 16, 2020

great food we enjoyed a three course meal everything was great, service was fab felt very safe and was nice to be pampered pre covid x

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 10, 2020 via mobile

Visited Chez Mal last night for a small Birthday get together. This was my 1st time ‘out’ since lockdown so was very excited to be here. When walking into the hotel the Reception team were super helpful noticing our puzzled faces attempting to figure out...the one way systems haha we arrived and was greeted by the wonderful assistant restaurant manager (didn’t catch her name but she was fab!) we had a couple of teething problems with our order but was to be expected with only two people looking after F&B ... we really didn’t mind because it was wonderfully rectified. FOOD WAS DELICIOUS!! I love Mal and wish you guys all the bestMore

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 10, 2020

Came here for a friends birthday meal, small affair with just 5 of us over 2 households. The whole hotel was very clearly marked for the new world of social distancing and the staff were attentive and informed about how this would flow through our...visit. QR codes around the bar and restaurant for both track and trace sign up and to be directed to digital versions of the menus available. Staff were very pleasant and very proactive in implementing the social distancing between themselves and guests but it never felt like they were just trying to stay away from you (if that makes sense). Still the same level of service I’ve come to expect from the Malmaison teams, the lady who looked after us was very nice, unfortunately I didn’t catch her name but she clearly loves what she does there at the hotel (she mentioned she was the assistant restaurant manager). There were a couple of issues which I’m not going to mention here because they were dealt with swiftly and clearly teething from coming out of this lockdown. I just wanted to praise the hotel and the team for doing the very best they can given the situation all hospitality venues face right now. If you love Mal go support them in their bar and restaurant. Thank you all again!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed April 15, 2020

Our friends treated us to Sunday Lunch. We had the offer of the Prosecco 20.00 each as much as you want to drink for 2 hours ( I think they have changed the deal now so please ask before you book ) The buffet for...starter was fab everything you could want great choice. The main meal was lovely and when you go they do change the menu so its not the same every time. Lovely staff and Grace that served us was lovely, very friendly and kept us topped up with drinks. Would go again.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 16, 2020

Due to the Coronavirus scare, the usual buffet table was closed. A great work-around was the sharing platters served to the tables instead. A wonderful variety of meats, seafood and salad, served with bread. Main courses for us were a delightfully light fish dish and...a Mal Burger. Both - both great. We followed it up with the Chocolate Torte to share which was delicious. Very Special Thanks to PAOLA for looking after us and keeping my wifes unlimited prosecco topped up! super friendly and helpful. All in all a great way to spend a Sunday lunchtime. We were very impressed with the cleanliness, discreet and constant cleaning, change from buffet to platters, handling of the food and dishes and, overall, spacing of the tables where we were. Would suggest removal of say one table on the seats by the windows just so people have a little more space on the tables for two there currently. Overall 5 Stars +.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 15, 2020

Due to the Coronavirus sacre, the usual buffet table was closed. A great work-around was the sharing platters served to the tables instead. A wonderful variety of meats, seafood and salad, served with bread. Main courses for us were a roast beef lunch and a...Mal Burger. Both yummy. Thanks to Paola for looking after us and keeping my unlimited prosecco topped up! super friendly and helpful. All in all a great way to spend a Sunday afternoon.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 15, 2020

This was our fourth visit to the bottomless brunch. We have raved about it and recommended it to loads of peop!e. This visit was still good but we noticed a change in the food choices that relegated it from "amazing" to "good". The buffet was...lovely but much less choice. There was no pizza or quiche which was available at our previous three visits and this made it less appealing to non meat eaters. There were no sausage rolls or scotch eggs which didn't bother me but my partner was disappointed. The crepe station was also different. Previously they were made in front of you whilst you wait and had a variety of toppings and chocolate sauce available. This visit there was chocolate sauce and bags of Haribo - no other toppings. There wasn't anyone there making them - they were ready made on a plate. Having said this the quality of the food was great and this is still good value for money - just less impressive compared to previous visits. The drinks flow freely. Ben did a great job of toppings up glasses. The final difference was no live music or space to dance as there had been previously. Tables were in those spaces instead......disappointing. We will still recommend people try it and we had another enjoyable afternoon but perhaps our expectations were raised from our first three visits and so a little disappointed.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 4, 2020

Been to these brunch a few times and love the food is gorgeous, drinks are gorgeous and lovely service. With great background music and ever someone on the piano. Great afternoon ??

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Boundary Hotel
175 reviews
3.56 km away
Premier Inn Leeds Headingley hotel
339 reviews
3.97 km away
Crowne Plaza Leeds
2,132 reviews
1.03 km away
Headingley Lodge
427 reviews
3.54 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
My Thai Restaurant
197 reviews
.01 km away
Revolucion de Cuba
1,271 reviews
.07 km away
Viva Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria
699 reviews
.06 km away
Viet Guy
332 reviews
.15 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Bridge LS1
14 reviews
.05 km away
Blayds
37 reviews
.05 km away
Club Mission
18 reviews
.07 km away
Lambert's Yard
12 reviews
.09 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Chez Mal Brasserie & Bar at Malmaison Leeds staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing