We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
Bookatable

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE RANGE
US$8 - US$15
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Table Service
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveller rating
109
85
58
42
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
109
85
58
42
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews puds roast dinner selection of vegetables great carvery nice meal family meal waitress carveries cauliflower
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for a family meal with my hubby and stepson who has autism. The chef there was absolutely amazing with him and waited for my stepson to tell him what he wanted on his plate. The chef didn't loose is temper or get frustrated he...just stood there and patiently waited. Thank you. Also the waitress we had was very kind and professional as well. Food was amazing and so was the price.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 20, 2020

I visited the restaurant 18/08/2020 as part of the Eat Out to Help Out scheme, the servers and waitresses were friendly and adhered to the guidelines to keep customers safe. Enjoyed the meal, service and atmosphere of the restaurant. will visit again

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
GeneralManagerAA, General Manager at Hall Green Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2020

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day! Thanks again for taking the time to leave us this information about your recent visit. Take care!

Reviewed August 19, 2020

Went out for a meal with my family, the server was friendly and listened to what I wanted. Was definitely service with a smile I’m sure his name was Arron. The waitresses were really helpful and brought over the cutlery and sauces that we asked...for. Thanks for a great visit.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
GeneralManagerAA, General Manager at Hall Green Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2020

Sharna H, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at Toby Carvery Hall Green! We can't wait to see you again, have a great day.

Reviewed August 18, 2020 via mobile

Came here after booking days ahead , for just after 1pm ,, sat right at the back , it was my granddaughters birthday and was ment to be special !!! Went up and showed chefs what I wanted as it’s all done for you they...were charming the best chefs that you have had actually, when I got to the table no condiments , no knife and forks, have to keep waiting to spot waitress to ask , my food was stone cold,, pasta cold mash cold ,peas cold, wheather it was because this was the bottom of the metal dishes when put on my plate, when waitress came I said the food is cold , oh dear , do you want me to heat it up , my friend had hers , but I don’t like to think it’s been blasted in a microwave, why should it be , I have to say the worst meal I have had from here ,,,the pasta my grandson had was dryed up,, I have been here plenty of times but I will never waste my money in here again ! And to be told oh we don’t serve food in bar lies again??, several eating in there yet you kicked up about talking a pudding in there !! I think your staff need a lesson in talking to customers , such a un pleasant meal which should of been a happy one ,More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
GeneralManagerAA, General Manager at Hall Green Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2020

Hi Marie_0121, we can assure you that we do not find this type of behaviour acceptable, and we would like to address the situation you have described. We would like to work towards a resolution, so if you are willing, please reach out to us...More

Reviewed August 4, 2020

I was here yesterday for an evening meal, great food, great atmosphere. The manager on shift was extremely helpful (I think her name was Ellie?). Considering it was the first week of the Eat Out to Help Out scheme, she handled the running of the...restaurant really well. Will revisit! :)More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Hall Green Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such great feedback, I'll be sure to let the team know that they excelled on your visit.

Reviewed August 1, 2020

Went to the toby for a few drinks yesterday with my friends and ordered some sandwiches to the beer garden they was amazing just what we needed on a hot day. When we got there the staff on the door was helpful and explained how...we queue at the bar and give us all the information we needed with the Covid rules, there is hand sanitizer all around the pub to public and staff use great toby amazing staff !More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 23, 2020

Had a lovely sunday lunch. Marie looked after us and was very friendly and helpful. Food was delicious and decent portion.Well done to all the staff in these strange times.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Hall Green Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2020

Thank you for your positive feedback, I'll be sure to pass your praise onto Marie.

Reviewed July 23, 2020 via mobile

First visit back after lockdown; amazing service and food! Staff were very attentive whilst also making sure the premises was kept clean. Big thank you to Dean who welcomed us on arrival, also loved his new hair cut!

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Hall Green Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, the team will be delighted.

Reviewed July 21, 2020

Had a lovely sunday lunch. Alice looked after us and was very cheery and helpful. Food was nice. Good portions! Will be back

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Hall Green Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2020

Thank you 166nattyd for your feedback, Alice will be thrilled to know you enjoyed her service.

Reviewed July 19, 2020

Went there today first time after lockdown. Food was fantastic staff are a pleasant to talk to and cant do enough for you. Lady who dealt with us today named Marie is a pleasant and lovely young lady . X Many thanks Karen and jenny

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Hall Green Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2020

Thanks for your feedback Karen, glad you enjoyed yourself and we are very happy to have you back.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre Bridge Street Hotel
1,749 reviews
7.61 km away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre
425 reviews
7.61 km away
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) hotel
2,525 reviews
7.61 km away
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
1,136 reviews
7.48 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Alleppey Boat
254 reviews
.17 km away
Raja Monkey
486 reviews
.51 km away
Alfresco Fusion
125 reviews
.74 km away
Tugs Fish & Chips
48 reviews
.59 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Shirley Park
95 reviews
1.85 km away
The Strawberry Fields Bar
6 reviews
2.07 km away
West Warwickshire Sports Club
11 reviews
2.26 km away
Sarehole Mill
179 reviews
1.75 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
The_diddler
January 8, 2017|
Answer
Response from Chris G | Reviewed this property |
Yes, it's not necessary to have food.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing