We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sat., 09-26
20:00

Ratings and reviews

#223 of 284 Cafe in Birmingham
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Location and contact

Ladywood
0.4 km from Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery
Improve this listing
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch
CUISINES
Cafe, British
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Table Service
Reviews (686)
Filter reviews
685 results
Traveller rating
228
66
91
112
188
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
228
66
91
112
188
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

They make you pay £6 donation adult and £4 for kid. But u hv no choice, so i wud say its an entrance fee but they do not write anything abwt this on their website, they catch u off guard. Rude tbh

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Extremely disappointing. Avoid this restaurant. I brought my daughter to the Kitty Cafe (Birmingham) for a birthday celebration. As she’s a cat enthusiast, she was concerned for the cats wellbeing; moreover, she thought the cats seemed stressed and unhappy. The food is TERRIBLE, overpriced and...the service is shockingly below standard. Subsequently, I wasn’t able to eat the panini - cardboard bread, paucity of filling, bland and the vegetables seemed stale - plus my daughters quesadilla was dry and tasteless; consequently, she didn’t eat it. Her mock-tail wasn’t mixed or prepared correctly; hence, it was pure syrup and sickly sweet (again she didn’t touch it). Also, ancillaries (milk and sugar) weren’t brought over with the pot of tea - as the tea was £3-95, this was unacceptable - Specifically, the staff have ZERO manners and NO people skills. They treat their customers with contempt and disdain. As we indicated the food was unsatisfactory (and didn’t eat or drink anything) and refused to pay! Generally, they were incredibly rude to us. My daughter was clearly upset. Please avoid!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beware, although this business was selling vouchers through Wowcher, they don't accept those as payment. A convoluted story about Wowcher having set these vouchers up without the cafe's agreement, but this business refuses to confirm this in writing. Place looks nice, but our experience of...its management is dire. I also noted that their Facebook page doesn't accept reviews from customers, just posts. not surprised considering.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

I will never come here again. The customer service is really poor and slow. Food is disgusting. The cake my son ordered was stale and had to be sent back, my Jacket Potato was cold and the pizzas were thick with cheese and dripping in...fat. All I was offered was 10% off the bill and to contact Head Office, which will be doneMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

such a cool and fun place to hang out. the cats are lovely and the place itself was very welcoming and friendly. i would definitely visit again! the food is lovely too

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited kitty cafe today and we really enjoyed it the staff were friendly the cats of course were amazing 23 cats and all rescued the waitress was telling us the names and we could see how the cats loved her too will definitely be...going again it was a very relaxed and calm atmosphere really enjoyed it :)More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was my second visit, really love the quirky decor and cat art. The afternoon tea was delicious, could do with some taller nets to go over the afternoon tea stands please. Cats and kittens galore and loved them all but please please review your...age limit. Some young children just think it's a playground rather than a cafe, the cats are definitely more chilled when the tiny kids have gone. I had an altercation with a mother over her unruly child who felt it was ok to scream at the top of his voice and put his fingers on my afternoon tea as well as messing with the cups on the couple's table next to me, absolutely not the fault of Kitty Cafe with regards to the rude obnoxious women and hats off to the one member of staff who came over to make sure all was ok and apologised, while I thanked her for it, it wasn't for her to apologise for the stupid arrogance of others. I would love to return but please think of the cats and kittens and review the age limit of children.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I went when the £10 deal was on and we had a wonderful time. The food was good and lots of it. Most of the cats were around and we took photos and fussed some of them. We felt there was no...pressure from staff to leave and we were there for about 90 minutes. We can't wait to go back again!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If I could give this place 0 stars then I would. I came here because I had a £20 gift card from my sister. Thank god for the gift card because I didn’t have to spend any of my own money on this disgusting establishment....Considering that we are in a pandemic, there was absolutely zero measures in place. Tons of screaming brats running around and people wandering about the restaurant with no consideration for other people’s personal space. Staff not monitoring the guests or ensuring people were distancing. The food (cream scone and a strawberry cheesecake) came out 20 mins after ordering with filthy cutlery. We didn’t get to see any cats because of the swarms of people running around. Only redeeming thing about this place is the staff- very polite and well mannered. Would definitely never come againMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 21, 2020 via mobile

Went here with family over xmas 2019. One of the party is cat obsessed so was in there element! The tea and food option is great and the cats are friendly and will come up to be stroked. When we visited it was very busy...and the service was a little slow which meant we had to rush our cakes. Overall though i would definitely go again.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Hagley hotel
549 reviews
2.91 km away
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
817 reviews
2.87 km away
Prime Lodge
97 reviews
2.48 km away
ibis Birmingham Bordesley Circus
599 reviews
1.89 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Grand Central Kitchen Birmingham
1,910 reviews
.04 km away
Tapas Revolution Birmingham
3,205 reviews
.08 km away
Tiger Bites Pig
87 reviews
.07 km away
Faculty Coffee and Tea
230 reviews
.04 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Grand Central
394 reviews
.09 km away
The Old Rep Theatre
184 reviews
.20 km away
Birmingham New Street Railway Station
1,686 reviews
.08 km away
Flat 8 Gallery
32 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jojoportland
February 28, 2020|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jg4200116 | Reviewed this property |
Well i gave a 5 star review and didnt get 1
0
Votes
chriswB9011IR
February 3, 2020|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from lozgrif | Reviewed this property |
No it isn't optional. It goes towards the care of the cats. Imagine people came in and took a table for an hour and ordered like 1 drink. They wouldn't make much money.
1
Vote
380LauraC
January 1, 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sam P | Reviewed this property |
Hi,young children are allowed in cat cafe but not sure if you would be charged £4 - probably as it’s a welfare fee for cats but not sure.id book for two as you pay welfare fee when you get there.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing