We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sun., 09-20
20:00

Ratings and reviews

#193 of 241 Bar in Birmingham
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Seafood, International, British, Contemporary, Fusion, Bar, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly

Location and contact

Ladywood
1.2 km from Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery
Improve this listing
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
9
9
2
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
9
9
2
5
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at the restaurant where one of managers promptly attended the host desk. We have said we wanted to sit in the outside area if possible and were pointed to it quickly- nice and easy- but thats where anything we have good to say...about this place stops... Shame really as attended multiple times before lockdown and was always positively impressed with the it. As we settled on one of the table outside we waited for someone to come over for approx 15mins when my collegue went to ask at the bar if we could order, he have been told by the same manager that have sat us down that he was to proceed with ordering drinks... at this point even rain came quicker than a waiter, and we relocated to the indoor space asking again if we could order. At this point its 30mins of waiting... Another 5minutes have passed and we become debating whether or not stay here anymore, my collegue have asked the manager if we could order. Waiter came over instructed by a manager to appologize but clearly hushed something underneath his nose saying he is busy... 2 tables of 2 -afternoon tea, 1 afternoon tea for 7 and 4 lads in garden outside... Busy??? Ordered coffee and mocktail ?? coffee arrived only with white sugar- brown and sweetner went out for a walk so it seems. At all times we could hear staff member and manager speaking in whatever tounge that 100% was not english. I mean great if you explaining something to someone but not when you on the floor with customers. Shameful that places that once been great cannot keep their standards and seems like they forgotten totally what a customer service is all about.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed November 5, 2019 via mobile

Buffet lunch here was ok. Chili and rice and ratatouille was fine. Not special or so. Fresh fruit salad was good. Friendly staff

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 18, 2019

Took a party of 12 family members for afternoon tea and could not fault it. Service was spot on, food was delicious and plentiful with much needed take home boxes and there was no pressure for us to leave afterwards. Really enjoyable afternoon, excellent value...and huge thanks to all the staff on reception and in the restaurant, especially Mohito who nothing was too much trouble for.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed July 21, 2019 via mobile

Considering how close I live to here, we had never been. So due to another dog house stint, I had to make sure me and the good lady were back on terms. Decor was stunning. Lots of space! You could talk in private without hearing...other couples or peoples conversations. Outdoor Terrace has lots of space. A bit noisy with one of Birmingham’s busiest junctions below. Drinks were normal hotel prices. The good lady loved it, that’s all that was important.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed July 6, 2019 via mobile

Quite disappointed with the service, atmosphere and food especially seeing how expensive it is. Expect more from what you have to spend. Was terrible but wouldn't ever go back.

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed May 28, 2019 via mobile

This is our 2nd time at the 1565. Very comfortable environment, excellent staffs with fine foods and drinks. Value for money and will definitely come back again.

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed February 25, 2019

Classy bar and restaurant space in Park Regis Hotel, with outside terrace and good choice on menu, not cheapest but really nice feel to

Date of visit: February 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed January 27, 2019

We had been to the carvery before at the Park Regis Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it so we rebooked for 7 of us. I could not believe I was at the same venue as the carvery was so poor. The choice of starters in December...2018 had now been downgraded just 4 weeks later to only a salad bar which none of us ate. Looking at the piles of untouched salad it looked as if previous diners had also bypassed this disappointing option. If you wanted a decent starter you now had to pay extra! The carvery unfortunately was cold and so dry that I couldn't eat it. I complained to the waiter who spoke to the chef who said it was that way because it had been out for over 3 hours! Not the response we expected as we were looking for a resolve! The waiters were great and in particular Omer who apologised and brought us out lovely desserts and really tried to end things on a positive note. His service was excellent! A different waiter told us that the starters and dessert options had been changed since December, but it is interesting that the price had not changed for a menu offering far less for your money. I would not recommend going here unless the standard of the food offered and served is drastically improved. Really disappointing!More

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed January 27, 2019

I had booked the three course carvery as the deal seemed reasonable at £14.95. Being a four star hotel, I had some reasonable expectations this would be good. I had the soup starter which was quite nice. I could not tell you what it was,...as it wasn't labelled? I found this odd as it should be for allergy information. I don't have any, but another customer did when I was there and complaied which I overheard. The soup was nice though. The main carvery though was a serious disppointment. The meat was cut so thin, to a 2mm width. The chef actually said what a workout he was getting on the carvery (which I found an odd comment as there were only four tables eating). He must have been referring to the amount of time he spent on his mobile phone, rather than checking the cold food he was serving. Other than the steamed potatoes all the food was cold. The hot area isn't hot enough. The stuffing was pre-prepared and sliced like you would get black pudding. I didn't know what it was and the chef told me it was stuffing. It was fridge cold. And I mean fridge cold. It was obviously pre-prepped and not warmed. The hot lamps could not heat it either. The gravy was not labelled and there were two pots (assuming one veggie) and because they were in half in ceramic pots the gravy was literally cold, not even luke warm. The whole dinner was luke warm/cold. I could have complained, but what would they replace it with more cold food? 15 minutes after we ordered two drinks they arrived. The service was slow and poor to begin with to the point of me walking the 8m to the bar myself. It got better as we got towards pudding. The dessert cheescake was not good and had minimal base. Pity the chf could not be bothered to wipe the knife between cutting it and then you don't end up with the base all over the top of the cheese cake. Simple things any good chef would know and that says a lot about work ethic. I won't return and by looking at the sheer number of people in the restaurant, this clearly isn't popular. Hot food isn't an unreasonable request, nor is getting a drink within a reasonable amount of time. There are better options and I left unsatisfied and hungry.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed December 9, 2018

Having booked well before using Groupon, they had no record but agreed to serve us anyway. We were given the menu and chose, later to be told we had been given the wrong menu. After seeing the new menu, we noticed that the starter we...wanted (scallops) wasn't there, even though it was listed on Groupon but they wouldn't honour it. We ordered wine and they changed it to something really sweet without asking. After tasting it a shuddering at its sickly sweetness they changed it. The main we had was shoulder of lamb but the menu didn't explain that it was like pulled/shredded bits compressed into disc shapes. The cheesecake desert was the best, served in a deconstructed style.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Lucas House Hotel
19 reviews
2.09 km away
Norfolk Hotel
651 reviews
1.89 km away
The Eaton Hotel
739 reviews
2.02 km away
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
664 reviews
1.84 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Revolution Birmingham
1,003 reviews
.20 km away
Del Villaggio
1,149 reviews
.03 km away
Varanasi
523 reviews
.22 km away
La-pop!
38 reviews
.10 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Broadway Casino
191 reviews
.24 km away
Crescent Theatre
119 reviews
.47 km away
Ikon Gallery
221 reviews
.57 km away
Grosvenor Casino Birmingham Broad Street
67 reviews
.20 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ph690
June 30, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Bob J | Reviewed this property |
yes.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing