We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sat., 09-26
20:00
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
About
Gaucho Birmingham is a stone’s throw from Cathedral Square, situated in the buzz of Birmingham’s business district. The dining destination for impeccable Argentinian steaks, Latin American plates, the finest wines and signature cocktails. You’ll be welcomed by sophisticated interiors, with textures and tones inspired by Argentina’s forests, and warm smiles from our outstanding team. Perfect for those weekday lunches, after work cocktails or electric weekend brunches – we’re the new social hub for luxury in the city.
PRICE RANGE
US$32 - US$127
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Argentinian
FEATURES
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (832)
Filter reviews
819 results
Traveller rating
527
149
76
41
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
527
149
76
41
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch steak lomo empanadas chateaubriand dulce de leche bread scallops cheesecake salad fries pudding cooked to perfection chimichurri sauce cuts of meat special occasion side dishes
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago

We had visited Gaucho last year and the food was absolutely delicious but our visit this year for our anniversary was the opposite I am not sure if they have changed the chef but it was extremely disappointing. The decor is beautiful it is very...modern and luxe with a nice classy atmosphere. We had a reservation however we were still seated by the bar for about 10/15 minutes before we were shown to our table. The two stars are purely for the steak it is always delicious and good quality, the sides however mash potatoes and mac and cheese were pretty much inedible. The mash potato tasted like it had come out of a packet it literally tasted like water there was not a grain of even salt that had been added to it. The Mac and cheese was the same beyond bland, it tasted like plain pasta there was no cheese taste at all. One of the staff came and asked us how our meal was while we were eating, we explained that the sides were really bland and needed more seasoning he apologised and said he would pass our comments to the chef, given that this is a higher end restaurant we would of expected a bit more in terms of customer service especially seems we spent over £200 for two people. Fully recommend for the steak although the prices are quite expensive but please do not waste your money ordering mash or mac n cheese as sides!More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 days ago

Been a few times and always been very good. Decided to go for Sunday lunch with family and all had the roast beef. Beef was very tasty as was the gravy/ sauce. The roast potatoes tasted better than they looked, which is just as well...but the veg were the raw side of al-dente and awash in garlic. Not great. Puddings were ordered, which were quite poor across the selection, but the cheese board can only be described as disgraceful. For £16.50 there was one kind of wafer biscuit and four tiny portions of cheese. That's it. We complained and in fairness this was deducted from our bill. We finished with a cup of tea and a cappuccino, both quite hopeless for simple hot drinks.I found the waitress very perfunctory with us, some may describe this as efficient. Gratuity already added to the bill is sort of irritating and in honesty in my opinion we shouldn't have left more than a token £5, not the nearly £30 automatically added. That's probably going to be my last visit in truth as the overall experience just didn't sit right.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
GauchoManagement, General Manager at Gaucho Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Good afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We’re sorry to read about the downfalls with your experience and would love to receive more feedback in order to see how these could be improved. However, in terms of the gratuity, this...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

We were a group of 5 celebrating our son's 21st birthday. The restaurant was very C19 safe and the staff were knowledgable and friendly. The food is delicious, all the starters were praised (especially the scallops) and the meat eaters raved about the steaks -...two of the party had fish mains which were also very good. They made a fuss about my son's birthday and noted his nut allergy which was also appreciated. The only reason I haven't given 5 stars is that I feel that the steaks should come with chips included - our bill certainly ramped up with sauces and sides . That is just an observation on my part however and not a criticism of the quality of the food.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
GauchoManagement, General Manager at Gaucho Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Good afternoon. Thank you for the positive feedback! We are delighted to read that our fish and meat dishes were enjoyed by everyone and the staff provided a knowledgable and friendly dining experience. It is also great to know that our safety features made you...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

First visit to this place, went with friends. I have a steak and was a busy evening but food arrived on time!!! And tasted delicious! Really recommend this place and definily I will come back. Great chefs!!

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
GauchoManagement, General Manager at Gaucho Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The Gaucho Birmingham Team are proud to have your recommendation and also that we delivered excellence throughout your experience. We hope to see you soon. Kind regards, The Management Team at Gaucho Birmingham.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Amazing place !!!! And the food .... wow ?? cooked to perfection... thank you ?? we will come back !!! Well done team GauchoMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
GauchoManagement, General Manager at Gaucho Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon. Thank you for the five star rating and lovely feedback! The team at Gaucho Birmingham are proud that your meal was cooked to perfection and we can’t wait to welcome you back. We hope to see you soon. Kind regards, The Management Team...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the best steak I’ve ever had! The waiter knew exactly what he was talking about and made us feel like the only guests in the restaurant. If you want to be looked after when dining, this is the perfect place!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
GauchoManagement, General Manager at Gaucho Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good evening. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is a pleasure to read your kind words and to know that you found your host informative and attentive. We hope to see you again for another wonderful experience! Kind regards, The...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Amazing service, great atmosphere, friendly staff and brilliant safety measures will be back and recommend to everyoneMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
GauchoManagement, General Manager at Gaucho Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good evening. Thank you for the five star rating! The team at Gaucho Birmingham are thrilled that you found the service amazing and enjoyed the ambience. We have adapted our safety features to accommodate the government guidelines and we are proud that this made you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was really excited to eat at Gaucho, sadly it did not live up to expectation, it's not that it was bad...it just wasnt great. Was given a warm welcome and promptly taken to our table, ordered drinks which were very slow in arriving to the...table.... food was ok, nothing special, I've had better steaks at other places and for the price paid I expected them to be fantastic... ordered a second round of drinks to arrive with the main course, was half way through eating main course and had to ask waiter for the drinks. Overall I would not spend this sort of money again for an average meal.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
GauchoManagement, General Manager at Gaucho Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some constructive feedback. At Gaucho Birmingham we always strive for perfection and we’re sorry to hear that your experience didn’t live up to expectation. If you would like to discuss this in more...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So after lockdown, my girlfriends and I took advantage of the August deals, to encourage people to visit restaurants again. I have been quite a few times to Gaucho’s for lunch over the last few weeks and each time we were served with such great...service and great food to match. The host on entrance was extremely friendly and made you feel welcome as soon as you entered. Once seated our sever on every occasion was extremely polite and friendly. I would like to give a particular shout out to Bernadetta who served me more than once and each time she excelled her original service. The deals were great and the food was amazing, you didn’t feel like you were getting a “cheaper version”, as the quality was still there. On one visit there was a slight mix up with one of our steaks, we raised this to a manager passing her name was Rosa. She was apologetic and amended the issue immediately. She did this with genuine purpose, in hope it didn’t ruin our experience and actually, her fast reactions made our visit even more special. She didn’t make excuses she did what any good manager would do which was to rectify the issue to the best of her ability. Even when the all these offers finish and we get back to some sort of normality, I would still recommend and visit Gaucho’s, due to the exceptional service that we received from Rosa and Bernadetta.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
GauchoManagement, General Manager at Gaucho Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon. Thank you for the lovely feedback. We are delighted to read that your experience was up to Gaucho’s high standards from the moment you entered and that the mistake was rectified which didn’t affect your time with us. We hope to see you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have been for a dinner with my boyfriend...when we arrived, someone welcomed us and they gave us a table. We have been served by the waitress Benedetta. She was really friendly and very helpful giving us information and advising us very good dishes; good...knowledge of wines as well.The food was amazing as well...amazing experience. We’ll be back soon.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
GauchoManagement, General Manager at Gaucho Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good afternoon. Thank you for writing a review. Benedetta is very pleased to read your feedback and can’t wait to make your next experience even more special. We will look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards, The Management Team at Gaucho Bitmingham.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Hagley hotel
549 reviews
3.02 km away
Prime Lodge
97 reviews
2.28 km away
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
817 reviews
2.97 km away
ibis Birmingham Bordesley Circus
599 reviews
2.06 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Fazenda Rodizio Bar & Grill
393 reviews
.02 km away
The Old Contemptibles
687 reviews
.14 km away
The Oyster Club
200 reviews
.14 km away
Damascena Coffee House
358 reviews
.10 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Birmingham Cathedral
396 reviews
.07 km away
Old Joint Stock Theatre
72 reviews
.08 km away
Nanetta Stocker's Grave
8 reviews
.06 km away
Colmore Gate
6 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Gem1979
March 10, 2019|
Answer
Response from Lizwat12 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I’m not sure, I’d check their website or call them ??
-1
Votes
davidslowikiwski28
January 31, 2019|
Answer
Response from Ronaldinhollew | Reviewed this property |
No, I don't think they have wagyu. All their meat is imported from Argentina so I doubt very much that it's wagyu.
1
Vote
EmmaH855
September 28, 2018|
Answer
Response from Simonsmith2015 | Reviewed this property |
Yep lots of on street parking... sorry about the delay in responding !
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing