We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sun., 09-27
20:00

Ratings and reviews

#210 of 243 Bar in Birmingham
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$6 - US$32
CUISINES
Bar, Street Food, Pub

Location and contact

Ladywood
0.7 km from Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery
Improve this listing
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
7
4
2
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
7
4
2
6
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed November 28, 2019

Visited for afternoon tea and we were disappointed. Our afternoon tea was served ouside the main bar, in the lobby and it felt like we were in a waiting area rather than an eaterie. The waitress was pleasant and efficient but service was disappointing. The...food was the most disappointing afternoon tea that we have ever had. The measly sandwhiches were bland and the only savoury on offer. The scones were lovely: light and fresh. However, the portion of cream was meagre. The sponge cakes were stale, hard and inedible. As were the two pastries.that we left. The fresh fruit was lovely and the pot of tea was okay. We did feel abandoned and if we had been able to summon the waitress would have brought to her attention our disappointment. We got fed up waiting and left.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed September 14, 2019

Went for Peaky Blinders afternoon tea and was pleasantly surprised at this little gem in a not very upmarket hotel. The lobby bar is lovely with a great selection of drinks and food. It is bright and stylish. The afternoon tea was very different to...delicate sandwiches and cakes as it was themed on the Tv show. There were cheese rolls, pickles and pork pie as well as scones and cake. The food was delicious but we brought home doggy bags as it was extremely plentiful. The staff were very polite and efficient especially Janae who went out of her way to ensure our experience was enjoyed.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 5, 2019 via mobile

The drinks/food was good. Staff very polite. My only problem is the location. We arrived half hour late. What we didn't realise is that this place is attached to the Holiday Inn. We had gone past it three times & was very tiring for my...husband because I'm in a wheelchair. Where the notice says "The Lobby" there was scaffolding so couldn't see notice. Needs another notice stating name of place in a better location for all to see. All this messing about looking for the place ruined what should of been a nice experience.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed June 7, 2019

This place is great! The food is super and on this occasion we were gathering for a pre-theatre gettogether and had a range of the starters and small plates - the pork tacos, mac bites, wings, prawns (x2), soup and a variety of chips to...share tapas style which were excellent (the hot wings were particularly good as were the prawns!).. Also there was a chicken and prosciutto salad and a sausage and mash which were both very well received and all of the portions were very generous - you could go swim in the soup bowl its that big!! We were looked after superbly by the whole team, bar and restaurant who made sure we had everything we needed and in a timely fashion so that we were out in time for the curtain up! We've popped in at other times and its always a great drop in place with lots of comfortable zones to relax in and always with friendly service! All we need now are the numbers to come up from the resident mystic on the team!! This time next week :-)More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed July 10, 2018

The service was very poor. The soup was not tomato as it said was nice and spicy. Piri Piri chicken, when I asked for Piripiri suace, I was told they do not have any.

Date of visit: June 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed May 1, 2018

I have been here a couple of times for eats and drinks in the past and have been mightily impressed with the re-styled bar/restaurant - comfortable and with great facilities - USB chargers, papers and tele's etc... But the outstanding and best thing about the...place is the menu for both value and quality! I first had the ploughmans (which is enough for his lunch and dinner!) which was incredible value! And this weekend we (me and MCF) went pre-Ceri Dupree for late lunch/early dinner and to my disappointment the ploughmans was off (and I had been dreaming of it since my last visit!)... though this turned out to be in our favour as we went for the antipasti and a Tex Mex sharing board and whilst I expected good things my companion was amazed at what came out! In fact we were both a little concerned that we would be eating into the first half of the show! These have to be 2 of the best sharing boards that I have eaten from - not only in their generous portions but the quality too - excellent! And with well priced drinks and service that was attentive and friendly throughout I can highly recommend this place for eats and drinks in this part of town - in fact I shall be back this Thursday for another pre-theatre bite (and hopefully a ploughmans but no matter - I am pretty sure whatever we pick it'll be good!).. There are certainly no Hill Street Blues here!! (see what I did there!)...More

Date of visit: April 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed April 25, 2018 via mobile

Popped in here for a quick lunch whilst making our way through the city in the rain. Rather sterile looking environment but we decided to stay put because of the weather. Seating options for dining are also quite limited but as we were the only...ones there not a problem. Food choice was not bad and the quality of our BLT and chips were actually very good. Friendly enough service – just a shame it lacked any atmosphere or dining tables.More

Date of visit: April 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed April 23, 2018 via mobile

Staying at the HI Birmingham it’s tempting to just go downstairs but probably don’t. The Lobby is a strange set up over a restaurant, hallway and bar area all serving the same food by the same staff. This creates the first issue; minimal staff running...around trying to cover loads of tables they can’t see. I had a G&T in a badly cracked glass. The server was very apologetic and took it away. It was replaced by simply pouring the remaining drink into another glass! I expected it to be replaced - as in the whole drink in case of glass in the drink, but no. I had an over cooked burger and a tasteless cheesecake. Didn’t enjoy the experience to be honest. I’ll go out next time; so much choice locally of course.More

Date of visit: April 2018
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile

Dine All day - just don't do it here, sub standard, tasteless, prawns from swamp. Nice place, great music, family staff( actually overly friendly ) I really don't need to hear what the young lady behind the bar was doing with her boy friend the...night before. Barman was pleasant and polite. Such a shame as I believe with the right manager and NEW CHEF, the place could actually be an amazing space. Such a wasted opportunity. Sorry guys just not good enough.More

Date of visit: August 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed July 16, 2017

This place charged us nearly £13 for a glass of very poor wine and a pint of lager. It has no draught British beers and found afterwards we were one pound short in our change. The barmaid looked as though she had just been fired...and the only 'atmosphere' was provided by a night-light type candle in a jar on each table. Avoid this place unless you are very rich, do not mind being robbed and are not very choosey.More

Date of visit: July 2017
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
819 reviews
2.95 km away
The Birmingham Hotel
156 reviews
2.92 km away
Prime Lodge
97 reviews
2.55 km away
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
1,205 reviews
1.33 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Chung Ying Cantonese
874 reviews
.11 km away
Taj Mahal Restaurant
301 reviews
.05 km away
Soul Shack at The Sunflower Lounge
122 reviews
.00 km away
Peach Garden
115 reviews
.11 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Birmingham Back to Backs
3,661 reviews
.21 km away
Birmingham Hippodrome
3,402 reviews
.20 km away
Grand Central
394 reviews
.20 km away
The Old Rep Theatre
184 reviews
.10 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Lobby On Hill Street staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing