We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#31 of 1,178 Indian in London
#341 of 16,830 Restaurants in London
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Mentioned in

About
The original Bombay cafes have almost all disappeared. Their faded elegance welcomed all: rich businessmen, sweaty taxi-wallas and courting couples. Fans turned slowly. Bentwood chairs were reflected in stained mirrors, next to sepia family portraits. Students had breakfast. Families dined. Lawyers read briefs. Writers found their characters. Opened early last century by Zoroastrian immigrants from Iran, there were almost four hundred cafes at their peak in the 1960s. Now, fewer than thirty remain. Their loss is much mourned by Bombayites.
PRICE RANGE
US$19 - US$39
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Indian, Asian
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (2,521)
Filter reviews
2,264 results
Traveller rating
1,494
519
141
52
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
1,494
519
141
52
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chicken ruby gunpowder potatoes black daal naan murgh malai okra lamb chops curry calamari ice cream indian food visited dishoom house chai chilli cheese toast chai tea worth the wait best indian
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed today via mobile

Amazing food with an excellent service, food was quick, the service person was polite. Always amazes me and my friends. One of the best places to have Indian food. I would suggest book a table before coming !!

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Their breakfast to me is the best! They have changed the menu slightly after the COVID-19 pandemic lockdown but food quality and service still remain outstanding. I came to this branch after a while and was as normal greeted with a friendly receptionist who took...my contact details incase of any virus outbreak which was good. Reasonably busy but sadly the area is still quiet after lockdown. I would not normally be so lucky to get a table walking in! Very clean, social distancing well managed with the pandemic. Nice atmosphere, super friendly staff. Lovely. What more could you ask for? Yes, good food too. I decided to try the akuri which is a twist on scrambled eggs with home-made buns. Loved it. Generous in portion. Filling and not too spicy. To drink I had their famous house chai which is a must! Spicy and slightly sweet with additional free refills. They even offered to give me one to take away. They serve it in a small glass. I would say try and resist after one or two glasses as it will become heavy and you want to enjoy your meal. Would recommend otherwise. Dishoom lives up to the hype. I will say that the breakfast is my favourite.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Amazing Indian food, really tasty. The is really helpful and friendly, the environment is also outstanding, I really high recommend this restaurant. The only downside is the amount of food served per plate, but I do understand it. You need to book in advance because...normally is big queue outside.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Ofcourse! "Dishoom" One of our favorite destination for Indian food in London. As usual, planned for Shoreditch but headed to covent garden outlet but a board outside directed to this outlet in Carnaby. That short walk have helped us to be more hungry??. Managed to...get a table without a wait, though we had no prior booking. Great ambience and very welcoming staff! Had an awesome time ????More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is our favourite restaurant and we are never disappointed when visiting ?? Amazing food and super service by Joanna, we look forward to our next visit when back in London

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were treated so well from the moment we arrived, despite it getting busier the staff remained really attentive. As they found out we were celebrating our anniversary, they kindly gave us our prosecco on the house. With regards to the food, you cant come...here and not try one of their signature naan rolls - we went for the 'wrestler' which had the sausage, bacon and fried egg. Also recommend the akuri eggs and a cup of chai to finish. Superb!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Must stop here first thing. Low key yet high quality indian food. Manager Charlie made the experience memorable. Will be back.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As always brilliant food. Service was absolutely fantastic. Thank you Dylan from South Africa, you made our night that much better.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic as always! Service with a smile and food served fresh and quickly. Good prices and my challenge is to try more dishes!

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dishoom is very popular for its breakfast but I had only been for lunch and dinner. I decided to bring my dad here for a birthday breakfast to see what the hype was about. Unfortunately, our food came out cold and the restaurant seemed to...be understaffed. We had to send our food back and the waiter apologised and mentioned that they were a little overwhelmed. At the end of the meal, the staff brought around a small dessert for my dad's birthday and stated that the meal was on the house. We were extremely impressed at how humble and responsive the staff were, which is not normal for a restaurant of this calibre. I barely even remember that we had to send food back now because all I remember is how friendly and service orientated the staff were. Despite the cold food, I am still giving this 5 stars because a meal is about the experience and the experience here was fantastic.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Soho
The go-to district for a good time in London, Soho
hosts a wealth of world-class theatres and a
compelling lineup of cafes, restaurants, pubs, bars,
and clubs. At Soho's core is London's original Red
Light District and the epicenter of the LGBT scene –
and thus the city's hottest nightlife. For shopping
enthusiasts, Soho is not only the home of London's
greatest concentration of boutique shops, but also the
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Fox Club Mayfair
196 reviews
.81 km away
Haymarket Hotel
982 reviews
.80 km away
Sofitel London St James
4,889 reviews
.80 km away
The Residence
6 reviews
.76 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
PIX
342 reviews
.04 km away
Mother Mash
1,162 reviews
.04 km away
Wright Brothers Soho
769 reviews
.08 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Carnaby Street
1,594 reviews
.06 km away
Great Marlborough Street
5 reviews
.06 km away
Ain't Nothin' But...
366 reviews
.02 km away
BLUE POSTS
27 reviews
.03 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
zulque
May 14, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from iamJeebs | Reviewed this property |
Hi, Yes, Dishoom serves Halal meat. I am not sure if there is any Halal certificate they hold. However, upon enquiring it has been confirmed by the management that they serve the Halal food. Cheers. Enjoy
1
Vote
el_Cherry_1
May 16, 2017|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from naba80 | Reviewed this property |
The drinks were amazing. It's quite loud there and they have space at the bar. If you are not going to eat; i don't know if it's the place.
1
Vote
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing