We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sun., 09-27
20:00
OR
Get food delivered
About
Athens meets Soho at The Real Greek Berwick Street, bringing Greece’s famed ‘Filoxenia’ (hospitality) to the heart of Soho with our Central London restaurant. Our friendly staff and freshly-prepared food provide all our visitors with an authentic taste of Greece. Whether you’d like to unwind over a series of Meze, Souvlaki and Sharers, take away a fresh and healthy lunch or meet for business over coffee, our Soho restaurant is the ideal spot. We have live Soho Music Nights every Friday & Saturday evenings from 7.30pm
PRICE RANGE
US$13 - US$15
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Mediterranean, Greek
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (777)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveller rating
364
160
46
19
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
364
160
46
19
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews greek salad flatbread meze dishes salt cod souvlaki baklava lamb prawns fries oxford street our waiter food was amazing booked a table set menu saturday night visited this restaurant soho
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went here for lunch. Had a souvlaki and it was lovely. Wasn’t busy when we went but waiting time was a fair while. So wouldn’t recommend if you’re in a rush to have a quick lunch.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and boyfriend went the first time to The Real Greek as for a date we wanted something Mediterranean and so no regrets! The food was so authentic and not to mention the calamari and the salt cod prawns, which i think were my favourite...from all - brought my memories back to Greece holidays! We absolutely loved everything we ate from the menu and will be returning definitely soon, no doubt. Thanks again for the great experience!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Omg amazing service and food. We chose this restaurant as a first time dinner. There was just one chef in the kitchen providing amazing service and delicious food. We were surprised with the starters as they were scrumptious and very well presented. The mains were...equally amazing. Our kids loved watching the chef working. Thumbs up for the chef that kept a smile on his face while the restaurant was choc a block. Loved it. Will be back soon no doubt.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My mum & I went to The Real Greek yesterday & would definitely recommend it, the food was delicious as always. We had the baked aubergine to start with souvlaki, Greek salad & chips, all washed down with a lovely glass of wine. The food...always within a good time once order is placed, staff are friendly & very cleanMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 20, 2020 via mobile

Very friendly staff and great food - very enjoyable evening meal with a tower of mezze dishes! The house wine was decent and service was quick.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 12, 2020 via mobile

Excellent meal and free water thrown in ok tap slow service mind wasnt too many people in but great attuides from the staff

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 27, 2020 via mobile

Four of us met for a catch up dinner and specifically went there as needed something a bit cheaper. They do a set menu for 13 quid and we all got that and choose different bits so then we could share each others. Good value...for money and the food was tasty enough, some of it felt like it had literally been spooned out of a big tub and overall it's pretty basic but for the money I think it would be hard to argue for more. The service was good, our waiter was really nice and patient as it did take us a while to order. Would recommend if you want something quick, cheap and better than a mcd's.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 27, 2020

Went here today and had dinner with a few friends. The waiter was beyond rude, the food came oils cold and when we tried to find so Some to talk to they were too busy. Finally got the bill and mentioned the food was cold...and the waiter was rude and aggressive saying why did we eat it then. There is nothing I can do about it now. The bill was also incorrect and had extra food on that we hadn’t ordered. When the final bill can’t finally correct I spoke to the manger about how unhappy we were and she also did nothing to acknowledge but at least did give us an apology. Would not recommend and definately won’t be back.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 15, 2020 via mobile

We arrived for an early lunch, just after they had opened for the day. The waitress was very friendly, but the food was dreadful. We ordered a number of dishes that arrived within minutes. The food was bland, cold and rubbery. We thought it may...have been blasted in the microwave. Really disappointing, so won’t return.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed February 14, 2020

I really don’t understand all the good reviews. We ordered 5 separate dishes and only 1 was edible. Our food arrived stone cold. As in just out of the fridge cold. We were going to leave but to give them a chance they offered to...replace everything so we waited. But the food arrived cold again. We were absolutely starving so picked at as much as we could bare to eat. The souvlaki wraps had next to no meat in them, the wrap was thick and greasy and inedible. The belly pork, which we expected to be fatty, because belly pork is, was all fat, no pork at all, the meatballs were warm and quite nice, the lamb skewer was burnt and cold, the rice had a soap taste and the chips were covered in flavouring - but hot. So, a £46 portion of meatballs is what we ate. The restaurant tried to offer us a complimentary drink but we couldn’t get out quick enough so declined their offer. We were asked if we enjoyed our meal, to which we replied no and no answer was given. I highly recommend avoiding this place. There is so many other places to eat in the same areaMore

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Soho
The go-to district for a good time in London, Soho
hosts a wealth of world-class theatres and a
compelling lineup of cafes, restaurants, pubs, bars,
and clubs. At Soho's core is London's original Red
Light District and the epicenter of the LGBT scene –
and thus the city's hottest nightlife. For shopping
enthusiasts, Soho is not only the home of London's
greatest concentration of boutique shops, but also the
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Thistle Trafalgar Square
2,122 reviews
.82 km away
Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury
529 reviews
.81 km away
Brown's Hotel
1,835 reviews
.82 km away
Regency House Hotel
464 reviews
.79 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Scarlett Green
470 reviews
.05 km away
CERU Soho
316 reviews
.07 km away
Cookhouse Joe
1,091 reviews
.05 km away
Tongue & Brisket
88 reviews
.07 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Oxford Street
4,816 reviews
.14 km away
Berwick Street Market
49 reviews
.10 km away
Ballie Ballerson Soho
164 reviews
.04 km away
BrewDog Soho
320 reviews
.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Andy M
I cannot agree enough with this review, at least it wasn't just me! When I called up to complain, I was told that the charcoal grill was definitely used to cook the meat when without out a shadow of a doubt, it absolutely wasn't and I felt insulted that they still tried lying about it. And my meal cost £40 for one person!!! Can't believe that someone willing to spend £8 on a cheap lunch gets free bread / dips or whatever as part of the lunch saver when people who want to spend MORE in the restaurant on more food get hoodwinked into spending nearly £8 to have a bit of bread to accommodate a DIP!!?? And so true - calamari is essentially battered squid. So for a "Real Greek" to call overcooked, raw squid "calamari" that's doused in honey is just ridiculous. Sad thing is, i know for a fact that my Greek relatives would have walked out if they were there so it's clearly tourists that think this is a 5 star place. If they went to a few other Greek places i can think of, i think the experience would change their perspective
May 7, 2015|
Answer
Response from Michael C | Reviewed this property |
I didn't think the restaurant lived up to its name ' The Real Greek' it seemed to cater more for tourists as you mentioned in your review. I had the chicken skewer with saffron rice which was not cooked properly and which... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing