We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sun., 09-27
20:00

Ratings and reviews

#1,784 of 16,827 Restaurants in London
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
Sponsored by: Maxwell's Bar & Grill

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Amazing Freakshakes
1. Amazing Freakshakes
"This Oreo shake is just divine!"
StefanoMalachi
See reviews that mention Amazing Freakshakes
2. Tasty Burgers
2. Tasty Burgers
"the new vegan bacon and cheeseburger is absolutely delicious"
_frangarcia1993
See reviews that mention Tasty Burgers
3. Sizzling Fajitas
3. Sizzling Fajitas
"I ordered the chicken fajitas and they were amazing."
jaynell
See reviews that mention fajitas
About
Maxwell's Bar & Grill is an American diner-style, family restaurant serving mouth-watering Burgers, Ribs, famous Freakshakes and lots more!
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Diner, American
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (3,076)
Filter reviews
2,693 results
Traveller rating
1,128
886
377
166
136
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
1,128
886
377
166
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ribs burger fries chicken pulled pork pudding ice cream covent garden monday madness american food our waiter seated straight away kids menu pre theatre meal going to the theatre booked a table great cocktails
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago

Came here regularly prior to lockdown, so was looking forward to coming back for a delicious burger experience. Unfortunately that’s not what I got this visit. Sat outside, tables not spaced as much as other restaurants nearby and no staff wearing masks. Chicken burger came...in 2 minutes, it’s usually cooked fresh, so they must be reheating in microwave now. Chicken was overcooked and tough. Complained before I left and was given free cocktail. From next week waiters will have to wear masks by law, but I won’t be returning to this restaurant again any time soon. Have eaten at a few restaurants very recently and the Covid compliance has been excellent. Such a shame that a lovely place like this was showing no regard to customers safety as well as horrible food.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed December 3, 2019

We had a great meal here. We popped in without a booking and just had a main course each and a cocktail. the food was fantastic and so filling. It was my daughters birthday and she got this amazing milkshake which was amazing, given to...her by the wonderful staff to celebrate.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took the children for lunch, the staff were very friendly and welcoming. We had a very tasty Baby Ribs and The Freakshakes for dessert, these are bigger than what you may think!! Nice cocktails too!! Can't wait for another meal soon!

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to Covent Garden and had a NY burger which was amazing, plus fries and onion rings, everything was delicious! Wanted to leave this review to tell u guys to keep up, especially in this period of not busy time! <3

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were very impressed by all aspects of our visit to Maxwell’s. The service was excellent, the speed with which our orders were taken and brought out, and the bill when we requested it, was very quick... but the food is the main event here....My boyfriend had the Cheesebomb burger and I had the Nachos Fondita. Well, I tried. This was the first establishment I’ve visited where “Suitable for 2 people sharing” was actually accurate, but they were so tasty I was determined to fit in as many as possible. I also made the most of the happy hour cocktails and tried the Bailey’s Banana Colada which was so tasty I ordered a second instead of dessert. I can’t fault anything about this restaurant and look forward to going back as soon as we can.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have always been a fan of Maxwells and it never disappoints. Staff are amazing and will continuously go out of their way to ensure your visit is perfect. A shout out to Carlos who was amazing!

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Although the surrounding area was very quiet by comparison, Maxwells was busy and a good atmosphere was developing. We had a very friendly greeting on arrival and were given a choice of seating. Our waiter was very friendly and not rushing us to choose food...and drinks. Our choices arrived in good time. The food was well presented and drinks nicely mixed. A good lunchtime meal and pleasant service made Maxwells somewhere to return to.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Every time we’ve visited London we make sure to stop by maxwells. Always greeted with the warmest welcome and fantastic cocktails. Staff are outstanding and the service is top notch! Keep it up lads, will be back again soon!

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped by briefly for cocktails on my birthday. Great choice, food value and excellent service! Many thanks

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my mum booked into here to enjoy some cocktails for happy hour, first the atmosphere was buzzin! Amazing decor and we loved sitting at the bar! Massive thank you to the bar tenders Ivan D and Nico! Such amazing service and such lovely...people who made us feel welcome and made our evening! An absolute credit to the establishment! Thank you for making our evening with the most delicious cocktails! We have book to come back next week with a group of 12!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Covent Garden
Whether you're headed here to check out the multitude
of shops, theaters, cafes, pubs, and restaurants, or
simply to be among the multitude of people who pass
through this pretty part of town, you'll love soaking
up the festive and historic atmosphere in and around
Covent Garden. Even if you don't have tickets to the
opera or a show at one of the many famous theaters
here, don't be surprised if find yourself captivated
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
L'oscar London
185 reviews
.75 km away
Sofitel London St James
4,890 reviews
.72 km away
The Resident Soho
2,984 reviews
.74 km away
The Royal Horseguards
6,077 reviews
.64 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Steak & Co. Garrick Street Covent Garden
1,979 reviews
.08 km away
Clos Maggiore
3,951 reviews
.01 km away
Palm Court Brasserie
2,580 reviews
.05 km away
The Lamb & Flag
1,091 reviews
.07 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Covent Garden
24,732 reviews
.13 km away
St. Paul's Church (The Actors' Church)
166 reviews
.08 km away
Apple Market
190 reviews
.12 km away
Galeria Melissa
6 reviews
.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sven t
September 12, 2020|
Answer
Response from AndrewCatley | Reviewed this property |
It is casual dining.
0
Votes
GeorgieSmith
November 26, 2018|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from yonis168 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, the service is very quick (even when busy), don't mind about it.
1
Vote
roxybills_229
August 19, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from GSteward | Reviewed this property |
Maxwell's opens at noon. I presume that the lunch menu is available until at least 3pm, but there is no specified time.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing