We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Yauatcha Soho

Claimed
Save
Share
MICHELIN 2020
COVID-19 Update: Local restaurants need your support! Purchase a gift card directly from them and make a difference. Purchase a Gift Card
Reserve a table
2
Sun., 09-27
20:00

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

The bright ground floor features well-spaced tables and cabinets full of pastries and chocolates – but ask to sit in the more atmospheric basement, wit...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
The MICHELIN Plate: Good cooking
Comfortable restaurant
About
Yauatcha Soho is a Chinese dim sum teahouse in the heart of Soho and part of the Hakkasan group, offering an all day dining experience. Launched in 2004, Yauatcha gained immediate critical acclaim. Yauatcha provides a unique dining experience, offering authentic dim sum with a contemporary influence. The renowned menu includes a wide selection of dim sum and a list of over 60 types of tea. The design by Christian Liagre offers full view of the kitchen allowing passers by to witness the preparation of the expertly made dishes. Spread over two floors, the 160 cover restaurant offers a light environment on the ground floor, emulating the vibrant 'chatter shop' atmosphere of a traditional dim sum
PRICE RANGE
US$36 - US$64
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Chinese, Asian
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (4,130)
Filter reviews
3,282 results
Traveller rating
1,641
949
378
190
124
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
1,641
949
378
190
124
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dim sum dumplings cheung fun beancurd har gau macaroons shui mai wagyu beef soft shell crab prawns tasting menu truffle seafood spring rolls pancakes rice fries
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A few years ago I used to visit this restaurant a lot and it was by far my favourite place to go in London for a nice informal meal so I made sure I booked a table when I was on a visit to London....Sadly today I was a bit disappointed. The food is still good but not as good as I recall however it’s really expensive now and In my humble opinion the balance between quality, service and value is out of sync with the market. One would have thought there was more profit in a busy reasonably priced restaurant than a empty overpriced one but I’m just a customer so what would I know.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
YauatchaSoho, Marketing at Yauatcha Soho, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Keith L, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience here in Yauatcha Soho. We are glad you like our food, at the same time, we are dissapointed you find there is no balance between quality and value. We appreciate all feedback that...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had many people recommend this restaurant, and honestly I'm not sure why. This was a very poor dining experience overall. The waiter was short with us, and kind of rude. He didn't explain anything about the menu, and when we tried to ask questions...he just repeated the names of the dishes over and over again. Honestly, if you're spending £20-30 on a dish, you'd expect at least SOME kind of explanation to the flavor or how it was cooked, recommendations, etc. I felt like I was at a fast food restaurant. The food itself was average at best, and I felt like I could get much better noodle and meat dishes from over in Chinatown at half the price. To be fair the dim sum was quite good, but at almost £5 per dumpling, it's just not worth it at all. We won't be back.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
YauatchaSoho, Marketing at Yauatcha Soho, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Bcc5025, Thank you for your review. We're pleased you enjoyed our dim sum and have passed on your compliments to our team, however we're very sorry to hear you found the service disappointing. It would be great if you could email us with your...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I chose this place is because of the high rating online and it was the biggest mistakes. I was going to treat my good friend and my partner a nice dim sum meal. As an Asian I have never ever had such expensive, tiny portion...dim sum in my life. Plus the service is extremely poor as well, we had to wait for more than over an hour to serve just few dim sum.... this is just unacceptable! We ended up back to China town and went into another place called “ Tao Tao Ju” which is much much better and more reasonable price. So if you ever want to try this place I will warn you think before you go in. You will regret for sure!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
YauatchaSoho, Marketing at Yauatcha Soho, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Kyliewpy52, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate all feedback that helps us to improve. Please can you contact us on reservations@yauatcha.com with your contact details so we can investigate further. Regards, Yauatcha Soho

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Don't waste your time here for some very over priced small portion food. Spent 2 hours at this restaurant, mostly waiting for food to be serve, it was about an hour wait from the first serving to the second one. All the staff was miserable,...they don't pay much attention to the customers, they spend most of the time cleaning and wondering around. You're better off going to China Town to any of the restaurants there, you will get better food at half the cost and it fills your hunger.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
YauatchaSoho, Marketing at Yauatcha Soho, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Anonymous K, First I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we take our guests feedback very seriously. Please accept our apologies for the fact you felt your Yauatcha Soho experience was not perfect. We'd be most grateful...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The prices were eye-wateringly expensive. Having selected one of the fixed price menus, they charged £7 extra for a dish of pak choi! We were a party of 8 and all the dishes came at different times, so there was a 20 minute gap between...first and last starters being delivered, with no apology at all. The food was nice but we felt we could get equally good food in Chinatown for a fraction of the price. There was a 14% service charge added to the bill, which we resented but paid as our waitress had worked hard.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
YauatchaSoho, Marketing at Yauatcha Soho, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Joy L, Firstly We would like to thank you for taking the time to detail your recent visit at Yauatcha Soho. It's only through our guests comments that we are able to continue improving our service. I am truly disappointed to read that your...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food was great no complaints. Had dim sum platter and some other a la carte items. This would be five stars, but the service was truly awful. I cannot begin to explain how bad this was - waiters did not come to ask to take...our order, water wasn’t brought to the table until much later, when asking for a tea refill this I had to ask twice, I asked for the bill three times the third time it arrived because I asked someone who looked like the manager. Service needs to improve to match the quality of food.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
YauatchaSoho, Marketing at Yauatcha Soho, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Moomoofood, Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we take our guests feedback very seriously. Please accept our apologies for the fact you felt your Yauatcha Soho experience was not perfect. I can assure you that...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

One of my favourite restaurants in soho. They never fail to provide filling food of exquisite flavour. Not heavy or oily at all. My recommendations include: Wagyu beef puff Scallop shui Mai Spicy pork Szechuan wonton Prawn and chicken shui Mai Kung pao chicken Steamed...Chilli prawn Half crispy aromatic duck Singapore noodles You can not go wrong with this order ?More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pros - awesome restaurant fee, nice music, funky decor. All the food we ate was excellent apart from one fairly average noodle dish. It was £20 too. Crazily expensive for what it was. We enjoyed the Taste of Yauatcha menu and all the food on...there was great. We also loved the half crispy duck. Cons - service was so distinctly average for a nice restaurant. Miserable front of house lady 'welcoming you in' - basically shouted at us for trying to shield from the rain and told us to wait outside whilst she tapped away on her Ipad. it was pelting it down, have a bit of common sense. Waitress we had was a bit of a robot. Couldn't hear a thing she was saying half the time. Not sure why the staff weren't wearing see trough visor PPE so you can at least attempt to lip read. We had to ask twice for one of our drinks. Two bits of food came and ten we waited another 5-10 minutes for the rest. Not good enough. No one came over to ask how our food was. Just so average. The set menu was OK value I thought. The rest was pricey for what it was. The noodle dish was absurd at £20. Crispy duck - £38. Delicious, but expensive.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were seated outdoors at a table with no cover, with no options to move indoors when it started to rain - no indication during booking that this would be outdoor seating. The service was extremely slow and the servers were completely disinterested. The food...itself is worse than you would find at any decent Chinatown alternative, and the dim sum was distinctly average. Save yourself the disappointment and go literally anywhere else for Chinese food.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
YauatchaSoho, Marketing at Yauatcha Soho, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ann Z, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate all feedback that helps us to improve. Please can you contact us on reservations@yauatcha.com with your contact details so we can investigate further. Kindest regards, Yauatcha Soho

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Was initially plonked outside in the cold until we complained and were then moved into the bar area of the restaurant but we had to ask 3 times to actually be moved - we got absolutely none of the atmosphere we had heard good things...about. Food was fine - nothing bad but nothing great about it either. Wouldn’t go back not much to write home about!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
YauatchaSoho, Marketing at Yauatcha Soho, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Alice K, Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to detail your recent visit at Yauatcha Soho. It's only through our guests comments that we are able to continue improving our service. I am truly disappointed to read that your...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Soho
The go-to district for a good time in London, Soho
hosts a wealth of world-class theatres and a
compelling lineup of cafes, restaurants, pubs, bars,
and clubs. At Soho's core is London's original Red
Light District and the epicenter of the LGBT scene –
and thus the city's hottest nightlife. For shopping
enthusiasts, Soho is not only the home of London's
greatest concentration of boutique shops, but also the
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Mermaid Suite Hotel
404 reviews
.81 km away
Staunton Hotel
446 reviews
.81 km away
The Z Hotel Trafalgar
36 reviews
.81 km away
h Club London
317 reviews
.73 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
My Place Soho
368 reviews
.01 km away
Cote Brasserie - Soho
1,220 reviews
.07 km away
Mediterranean Cafe
644 reviews
.01 km away
Yorica!
239 reviews
.08 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Wardour Street
51 reviews
.08 km away
Berwick Street Market
49 reviews
.10 km away
Broad Street Cholera Pump
13 reviews
.10 km away
John Snow Saloon
11 reviews
.06 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Uj_ind
May 30, 2019|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Micha T | Reviewed this property |
I completely agree with Mike. There should be an obligation from the customer's site too, and providing the info is not such a big deal.
1
Vote
Salmz
July 12, 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from 130susieh | Reviewed this property |
I think they will probably be fine with a baby ( I’m sure I saw someone with a tiny baby there) but ring and ask, I’m sure they’d be helpful:-)
1
Vote
Arne L
May 27, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from barry d | Reviewed this property |
the truffle spring roll by miles,very very tasty
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing