We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

#1,184 of 16,830 Restaurants in London
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$74 - US$74
CUISINES
Mediterranean, Middle Eastern

Location and contact

Islington
1.7 km from King's Cross Station
Improve this listing
Reviews (1,366)
Filter reviews
1,238 results
Traveller rating
709
329
111
58
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
709
329
111
58
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cakes salad roasted aubergine shakshuka quiche bread beef mackerel tapas sea bass long table upper street small plates interesting food green beans fabulous food take away
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago

Went there in the morning for some easy meals and we were delighted. The staff is super friendly + they have great vegetarian meals Top recommendations!

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

Really delicious food, excellent staff who made sure that one of my guests’ allergies were accommodated, lovely laidback ambiance during dinner. My only criticism - dishes are recommended to be shared; I think the portion sizes served should be a bit more generous to reflect...this.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 31, 2020

We are already familiar with the chain. The one in Upper Street is fab ! We had to wait for 10 mins in the queue but it was actually worth it :)

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed April 13, 2020

We had the best experience at Ottolenghi. Went before seeing our favorite band, Dawes, at the Islington Assembly Hall. we were visiting from the states and Ottolenghi came highly recommended. The cold and warm dishes were great and we really enjoyed the wine that our...server recommended. The staff was awesome and extremely hospitable!More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed March 19, 2020

Casual - but upmarket service. Great food - but not over priced. Well done to the waiting staff and kitchen crew for making us so welcome. We were so pleasantly surprised and our tastebuds were surprised. Then at the end we were offered a gift...of a surprise cake in a lovely box to take a way. So good - we have already told all our friends and cannot wait to come back. BIG THANK YOUMore

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 22, 2020 via mobile

Looked forward to this but, sadly, immensely disappointed. We love Ottolenghi's food/recipes...all packed with flavour. However, this meal was certainly not packed with flavour, nor was the ambience! Will never return, nor recommend.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 22, 2020

We arrived on time but still waited a short while....no problem. It was packed for good reasons. The plates are a bit small especially the starters. For the two of us, we ordered aubergine with tahini and a lemon ricotta that was great and the...beef capriccio with sour cream and shallots. The aubergine was better although...we did enjoy the capriccio. Glad we didn't order more before the mains came. Our next dish was roasted quail that was OK as it could have been done just a bit more. It had a peanut sambal and marinated radish covered in a plum sauce...would have better if cooked a bit more. We then had the pumpkin with pine nuts and whipped goat cheese that was excellent...why can't I do that at home? Actually, I can and will sometime. Very simple but very good. The service was medium I thought but certainly good.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 17, 2020 via mobile

We tried to go on Saturday morning for coffee and amazing patisseries. Queing so we gave it a miss! In the evening we walked passed again. Circa 9.00pm...Still open! They serve meals! We only wanted coffee and cake...20 minute wait...No problem. Fabulous cakes...Fabulous place.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 15, 2020 via mobile

I think that we are all over this shared plates of microscopic portions of super complex food of millions of ingredients. It has been overdone and is getting tedious. I am not asking for huge plates of stodgy but simply honest tasty and flavoursome food....Food was OK. Wine was OK seating was cramped service was good. Then again the same applies to Macca’sMore

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 11, 2020 via mobile

Adore the food, but the service lets it down. I own most of ottolenghi’s cookbooks and eating at his restaurants are always a culinary treat for me. The salad flavour combinations are gorgeous. I found the staff dismissive and rude though, so I would only...takeaway next time.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
4,870 reviews
2.11 km away
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
870 reviews
2.10 km away
Hart Shoreditch Hotel London, Curio Collection by Hilton
38 reviews
2.10 km away
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
5,699 reviews
2.07 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Terra Rossa
171 reviews
.03 km away
Laki Kane
161 reviews
.03 km away
Cafe La Divina
352 reviews
.05 km away
La Petite Auberge
578 reviews
.02 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
King's Head Theatre
127 reviews
.16 km away
Almeida Theatre
136 reviews
.04 km away
Everyman Cinemas Screen on the Green
50 reviews
.32 km away
Little Angel Theatre
33 reviews
.12 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Mick G
August 27, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from m0ssy8 | Reviewed this property |
There is a sample menu on their website Trip adviser doesn't allow you to copy and paste the link or slow me to add photos to help you more. Enjoy Dean
0
Votes
idc98
August 2, 2017|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from Filmman70 | Reviewed this property |
It can be as formal or relaxed as you wish. It really is a "no pressure" type place. Have a lovely meal!
1
Vote
travelmadbob
June 23, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Mark Y | Reviewed this property |
Sorry don't know, suggest just phone them up or drop them a note. We like it here and by London prices it isn't too outrageous. The flavours are interesting mixes and we have never been disappointed. If Theodoros reckons it... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing