We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ROKA Aldwych

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 Update: Local restaurants need your support! Purchase a gift card directly from them and make a difference. Purchase a Gift Card
Reserve a table
2
Sat., 09-26
20:00
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

#1,021 of 16,827 Restaurants in London
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

Trafalgar Square / Embankment
0.2 km from The Courtauld Gallery
Improve this listing
About
ROKA Aldwych, located moments from The Strand and minutes from Covent Garden and Somerset House, is the fourth ROKA to open in London, serving all the ROKA classic dishes alongside Japanese island-inspired cocktails. Set lunch and pre-theatre menus for £27 per person. Brunch served at weekends.
PRICE RANGE
US$42 - US$140
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Grill
FEATURES
Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Cash Only, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (974)
Filter reviews
854 results
Traveller rating
517
208
75
37
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
517
208
75
37
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch sashimi dessert platter cod tasting menu sea bream dumplings soft shell crab beef truffle rice sorbet salad ice cream japanese food charlotte street baby chicken
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a great bottomless brunch.. on the more pricey side of brunches but well worth it for the amount and quality of the food you get ! Option for bottomless prosecco, red or white wine too which was great and regularly topped up.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived early and were seated straight away, food was amazing and Marcus our waiter was exceptional in his attentiveness, he made the 2 hr time slot we had a memorable experience

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Whilst Roka don't currently have a vegan tasting menu, the staff were so helpful at advising on what could be made vegan and arranged for these dishes to be served at the same time as the tasting menu courses. Thanks so much to Adrian at...the Aldwych branch for going above and beyond to ensure I didn't miss out :)More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a bottomless brunch served by Marcus who was so professional and assertive, would definitely return. The food was to expectation and explained. Thank you Marcus to the birthday treatment! Thank you.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 17, 2020 via mobile

One of my favourites. Try to get here at least twice a year. Food never fails to amaze. Staff fabulous. Place was as packed as ever.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 4, 2020

I used to love Roka but we went last night and the food was simply not upto scratch. We were using the Eat Out To Help out Scheme but a few things stood out: (1.) The Dessert platter was a huge let down (the central...ice cream was especially bland). (2.) Service took a while to come along and I always feel the dishes weren't staggered well (we received our starter after a main). (3.) I remember Roka used to have excellent food; I hadn't been for 3 years but I would honestly not go again (I used to once a month).More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 2, 2020 via mobile

Just has the most fabulous lunch here today. The service from Adrian was superb. Everyone was so courteous and careful. The food was delicious! Thank you.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 26, 2020

We went on a weekday evening and we were temperature checked on entry. The restaurant was about 35% of capacity and the tables were spaced out. There was one group of rowdy men who'd not leant manners, but hey, it was probably the first time...ever they were dining out, so we excused their loudness. Because it was quiet, it did lack a bit of the atmosphere but that can be a good thing to those who prefer tranquility, but we had the men I mentioned. I did feel that the food quality was lacking a bit - the Tiger Prawn tempura and the hot pot (Truffle Kamameshi) wasn't quite as good as before though we're comparing the Kamameshi with another rice hot pot we had previously. I feel that because they're catering for the take-away market, they're compromising a little. This is why I give it 4/5. The menu is broader than the one on the website. I would say, without being rude, that you're better off at Sticks and Sushi than Roka Aldwych. I've been to Roka Canary Wharf and Roka Mayfair pre-corona and they were good experiences. Service was good.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 9, 2020 via mobile

Came here for a brunch with friends on the Sunday before the lockdown was announced. The restaurant is lovely inside and the service was fantastic, like it always is! We had the Sunday brunch menu which is a selection of different starters and a mains...dish each, with unlimited Prosecco throughout the meal. All of the food was delicious and we all left the restaurant feeling full and quite merry. I was extremely happy we managed to get this brunch in before the lockdown started and I hope Roka survives these testing times and still manages to provide these brunches in the futureMore

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 6, 2020

Had the beer time yesterday for brunch. Temperature taken on arrival due to covid. Tables were well spaced out and the food was outstanding. The services was fabulous and our glasses were always topped it. Never ran dry once. I booked for next month as...I was leaving. Roka Canary Wharf. Thank you so muchMore

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
With its iconic Nelson’s Column, majestic oversized
lions and brightly-lit fountains, Trafalgar Square is
not just considered the heart of this bustling London
hub, but the very core of the city itself. Beyond this
esteemed gathering place are more famous icons, as
well as a disproportionate numbers of the city’s most
popular cultural attractions including the National
Gallery and many West End theaters. Along the way to
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Royal Horseguards
6,077 reviews
.98 km away
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
3,296 reviews
.96 km away
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
279 reviews
.95 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
3,826 reviews
.96 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The George on the Strand
632 reviews
.21 km away
The Temple Brew House
315 reviews
.21 km away
The Delaunay
3,246 reviews
.13 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Courtauld Gallery
3,411 reviews
.21 km away
Novello Theatre
856 reviews
.24 km away
Royal Courts of Justice
307 reviews
.26 km away
Duchess Theatre
759 reviews
.26 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
amyy1985
June 30, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Lesley P | Property representative |
Our last seating on Saturdays is 3:30PM, whereas our last seating on Sundays is at 8:00PM! We look forward to having you with us soon.
1
Vote
JulietteBar
November 21, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Lesley P | Property representative |
Hello! Brunch is on offer between 11:30AM and 3:30PM on Saturdays [and 11:30AM until 8:00PM on Sundays!] and no other menu is on offer during these times. Therefore, so long as your Saturday booking falls within that... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing