We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sat., 09-26
20:00
About
Quo Vadis is one of London’s most iconic restaurants, with its instantly recognisable fa?ade and fascinating heritage. The “Grande Dame of Dean Street” has been around since 1926 and continues to be a Soho institution, beloved by local residents, foodies, regulars and tourists alike. Restaurateur and food connoisseur brothers Sam & Eddie Hart took on the restaurant in 2008, and in 2012 the inimitable Jeremy Lee came on board as Chef Patron. Jeremy along with General Manager Andy Smyth, runs the building with charisma and charm. The menu at Quo Vadis changes change daily according to the produce offered to Jeremy by his enviable list of suppliers, many of whom Jeremy has built up very close relationships
PRICE RANGE
US$32 - US$83
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
European, British, Soups
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (651)
Filter reviews
607 results
Traveller rating
249
198
80
57
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
249
198
80
57
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews smoked eel pie sandwich hake meringue oysters potatoes chicken jeremy lee dean street british food post theatre wine list soho horseradish carafe lemon
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago

One of the best meals I’ve had in London in the last ten years. Absolutely astonishing. We will be back!

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 13, 2020

Ate here on one of their street tables at lunchtime. Great pasta and wine, especially as I had not cooked it! Good service but.....our friends were on one table we were on another, to take an order the waiter stood between them, distance less than...1 metre, no mask. I know what my friends have been up to, but not what he does in his spare time.... I picked cheese for dessert and was surprised the choice was ‘blue’, ‘cow’ or ‘sheep’. Would have expected better info for the price. Going inside your temperature is taken and there is a one way system to the loo...why such attention to detail when the waiting staff don’t wear masks and stand so close?More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed April 11, 2020

Went for lunch on many occasions. Very good British food and lovely service. Had a chat with Jeremy himself. Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: April 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 7, 2020 via mobile

It’s probably that London is in coronavirus lock down, but this was quiet on a Saturday lunch. Pate to start followed by chicken fricasé. Yes that was a little dry but delicious. Truly delicious, as was the chicken liver pate Wine list ranged from keenly...priced Picpoul at £32 to a ludicrously expensive Tempier rosé at £150 Give it a goMore

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 6, 2020 via mobile

Historical restaurant. We visited for a working breakfast in the upstairs area. Service was nice and friendly and efficient. Food (traditional cooked English) was nice but nothing special to make you think - gosh I need to come back here. Decor reflects Soho location. Needs...a wake up. Living on former glories.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 6, 2020

I've walked past so many times and have never eaten at Quo Vadis until last night. This was a late evening booking and as I entered through the revolving front door, food critic and Prince Charles step-son: Tom Parker Bowles was just leaving. I wonder...what he'd say about a meal here. The welcome was fine, although I found myself involuntarily on first name terms with the gentleman on the desk. The restaurant is quite small really: 18 covers maybe, but there are two function rooms which you could hear in the background. It's a pleasant enough space though with white table cloths and comfy banquette seating. The menu is reasonable in its options, with some small appetizers and oysters, a selection of starters and a good choice in mains, with daily specials. It also offers genuinely different dishes than you'll see around Soho I would say. I opted for some Smoked haddock kickshaw appetizers to precede my starter of Smoked eel sandwich, a Quo Vadis signature dish. My main was the Chicken fricassée with roasted potato, fennel, olives, garlic, rosemary and lemon. So, the Kickshaws were nice little puffs filled with a Smoked haddock and parsley cream. The signature Smoked eel sandwich was quite fiery on the palate on account of the slathering of horseradish and although I love smoked eel, its flavour was lost for me. The pickled red onion didn't really improve things either. The big let down though was the Chicken fricassée which was OK, but a genuine fricassée comes in white wine sauce to give it some jus and added flavour. This was a single chicken leg roasted with the potatos, fennel, olives, garlic, rosemary and lemon in their own juices. It was perfectly fine but very dry and so I was offered mayonnaise, which helped but shouldn't have been necessary. I also had a side of chips which I have to say were excellent, but probably not needed. For drinks I opted for a carafe of the white burgundy that was their wine of the month. It was good value and worked well with the dishes served. Service was fine, though please don't ask someone if they're enjoying the food when you can see they have a mouth full! For this two course à la carte with appetizers, water, a carafe of wine, coffee and tip: I paid £81 a head. Not terribly bad value, but not the best meal I've had in Dean Street. In fact, to be honest, the Townhouse down the road is better and for the same money.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?10  
Reviewed March 1, 2020 via mobile

Mid week dinner with a business colleague. Almost deserted at 8pm. Friendly attentive service. Limited menu, but the chicken pot pie was delicious. Decent and reasonably priced wine list. Because it was quiet, it was easy to have a business conversation.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 24, 2020 via mobile

Great food, lovely friendly service. Bit pricey but it’s soho ?????♂? (drinks are far too expensive and there was quite a long wait at the bar, albeit on a very busy evening) Recommended

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 19, 2020

I've been aware of Quo Vadis for decades yet never gone gone in. What a waste of my life! The food was exceptional. Every dish we consumed was the best that could be. The pie of the day had a beautiful light pastry and fresh...ingredients within. A special mention must go to their sticky toffee pudding. I thought I had died and gone to dessert heaven. Must make up for my time left on planet food.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed January 21, 2020

Beetroot starter was overpowered by the horseradish dressing which completely smothered the dish, the pie of the day was half full , soupy and under-seasoned, fish cakes were luke warm and dry and the hake was over-cooked. Side dishes were meagre and again under-seasoned. We...chose to move on rather than risk the desserts.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Soho
The go-to district for a good time in London, Soho
hosts a wealth of world-class theatres and a
compelling lineup of cafes, restaurants, pubs, bars,
and clubs. At Soho's core is London's original Red
Light District and the epicenter of the LGBT scene –
and thus the city's hottest nightlife. For shopping
enthusiasts, Soho is not only the home of London's
greatest concentration of boutique shops, but also the
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Academy
115 reviews
.74 km away
The Cavendish London
4,746 reviews
.78 km away
Staunton Hotel
446 reviews
.72 km away
Haymarket Hotel
982 reviews
.65 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Honest Burgers Meard St - Soho
2,314 reviews
.07 km away
Soho Joe
1,319 reviews
.02 km away
Barrafina
1,888 reviews
.07 km away
Burger & Lobster - Soho
3,713 reviews
.07 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Soho Theatre
229 reviews
.05 km away
Wardour Street
51 reviews
.10 km away
Circa
12 reviews
.05 km away
Seduire
10 reviews
.08 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Anne R
September 29, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from hockeydoctor | Reviewed this property |
Sorry for terribly late reply. They restaurant has just been refurbished and i believe is now quite small. Previously I would describe as bustling rather than noisy. They food is great. Seasonal, simple and very well cooked... More
0
Votes
CustardConcrete
December 5, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from CitigirlLondon | Reviewed this property |
The above seems to be a statement. If you tell me how I can help in would be more than happy to help.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing