We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Thu., 09-24
20:00
About
From the team behind Japan Centre, Shoryu Ramen launched in November 2012 and was recently recommended in the Michelin Guide 2014. Shoryu Ramen specialises in Hakata tonkotsu ramen from the Hakata district of Fukuoka city on the southern island of Kyushu, Japan. Hakata tonkotsu ramen is a style of ramen made with a thick, rich, white pork soup and thin, straight ramen noodles. Our Hakata tonkotsu ramen recipe has been specially created by our Executive Chef Kanji Furukawa who was born and raised in Hakata, to provide the UK with highly crafted, genuine tonkotsu rarely found outside Japan. Shoryu's owner Tak Tokumine is also a native of Fukuoka city and along with Kanji is dedicated to championing
PRICE RANGE
US$11 - US$19
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Sushi, Japanese, Asian, Soups
FEATURES
Highchairs Available, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (469)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
135
116
29
16
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
135
116
29
16
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ramen noodles soup wagyu beef unagi halloumi seafood kingly court regent street japanese food food was fantastic buns karaka bowl takoyaki wagamama branch
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was by far the worst ramen I have ever eaten. Tasted like what I imagine WATER FROM THE DRAIN to taste like. On top of that the ramen was served cold. And a 50 minute wait??? This is ridiculous. Not even going to mention...the lack of social distancing, cleaning tables after customers or the menus themselves. WILL NEVER EVER VISIT THIS CHAIN AGAIN!!!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
JapanCentreGroup, Marketing at Shoryu Carnaby, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi jrodriguez33, we are really sorry to hear about your experience at Carnaby branch, can you please email hello@shoryuramen.com with the date/time of your visit and if possible copy of your receipt so we can look into this for you, thanks, PC

Reviewed August 9, 2020

Service was excellent; attentive, friendly and the staff had a polite and positive attitude. My vegetarian ramen, however, was not as good as I had hoped. The soup had no depth of flavour or umami and was more like a thin watery miso soup. The...noodles tasted like pasta rather than ramen noodles. Also, this particular type of thin straight noodles should normally be used in thick, creamy soup and does not work at all in a light broth. The whole thing looked and tasted a bit like an afterthought. Unfortunately, my experience was far from 'taste of Japan'. Traditionally, only non vegetarians could experience the true taste of an amazing bowl of ramen. This has changed over the past few years and nowadays it is actually possible to find a life changing bowl of vegetarian ramen that carries all that heartiness and depth of flavours and all around amazing-ness that original ramen has. I'm still in search of that life changing bowl of vegetarian ramen in London...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 8, 2020

The service was really good here and they get an extra point for the Japanese Toilet. The Ramen however was lacking. It was ok, but the broth s in both our dishes were no where near as complex, interesting and 'good' as one should expect...- I guess one should, given that the broth is really a main event in Ramen - .My wife's Veg ramen came in miso soup...neither of us was impressed when we realised. The noodles were decidedly average as well, unfortunately.Not bad for London but that's as far as I'll go.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 10, 2020 via mobile

We liked food in this place. Very tasty, huge portions, rich selection for various taste. You'll be asked about presence of any allergy and also you may ask for detail ingredient list for any of dishes. There are Ramens for vegans. This place is popular...in evening so better time to visit is before 5 pm. Food quality is in the restaurant level but layout is more close to bar. Recommended to those who loves japan kitchen and pays atention to food more than to presence of white tablecloth, candles, music and etc.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 24, 2020 via mobile

This restaurant is in Kingly Court, a tucked away indoor courtyard in Soho. It has stiff competition from the other eateries in Kinglet Court, but it stands out, and justifiably. Excellent service from the moment you walk in. The menu and the food are excellent,...and the drinks are good as well. We thoroughly enjoyed our ramen, so it's a thumbs up from us!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 2, 2020 via mobile

I ordered the vegetarian Ramen and the taste of the soup was delicious, in my humble opinion the toppings could be more exciting, the tofu was very bland. Otherwise is a nice place to have dinner, but be ready to wait to be seated as...it's very popular.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 1, 2020 via mobile

Really enjoyed the ramen soups and buns. The staff was friendly and the atmosphere quiet nice. Would recommend it

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 29, 2020 via mobile

Cannot recommend the Kakuni Tonkotsu enough. I couldn't stop eating it even though I was already full. It was absolutely divine. Service was good although one complaint is that we stood in a queue outside for about 10 minutes when it seemed there were non-reserved...tables inside. Otherwise everything was good!More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 25, 2020

Went and had a nice meal however, we had to wait for 40 minutes to be seated while there were plenty of empty seats that could have accommodated everyone one in the line. When asking about the empty seats we were told the assistant manager...refused to seat us.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
JapanCentreGroup, Marketing at Shoryu Carnaby, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2020

Dear Omar Thank you for leaving us a review. We are so sorry to hear about your experience at Shoryu Carnaby. Ensuring we provide excellent customer experience is important to us so have passed this onto the management team who have investigated and will be...More

Reviewed January 20, 2020

I have been back to this place every time I am in London. It′s always a fantastic experience. Staff is friendly and try to squeeze you in if you didn′t book a table. I recommend booking if you are not alone. This time I enjoyed...a stunning Chicken Katsu Curry Ramen and some fried brussels sprouts.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Soho
The go-to district for a good time in London, Soho
hosts a wealth of world-class theatres and a
compelling lineup of cafes, restaurants, pubs, bars,
and clubs. At Soho's core is London's original Red
Light District and the epicenter of the LGBT scene –
and thus the city's hottest nightlife. For shopping
enthusiasts, Soho is not only the home of London's
greatest concentration of boutique shops, but also the
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hallam Hotel
394 reviews
.82 km away
The Connaught
1,407 reviews
.80 km away
No. 13 Half Moon Street
10 reviews
.81 km away
The Stafford London
1,560 reviews
.74 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Cahoots Ticket Hall & Control Room
88 reviews
.04 km away
Cahoots Underground
2,221 reviews
.02 km away
Le Bab
536 reviews
.00 km away
Senor Ceviche Carnaby
1,144 reviews
.00 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Carnaby Street
1,594 reviews
.07 km away
Great Marlborough Street
5 reviews
.11 km away
Triyoga
7 reviews
.00 km away
The Red Lion
15 reviews
.04 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Shoryu Carnaby staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing