We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sun., 09-27
20:00
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

#88 of 1,176 Indian in London
#1,065 of 16,827 Restaurants in London
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

South Kensington
0.5 km from Natural History Museum
Improve this listing

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

A well-run, well-established and comfortable Indian restaurant, featuring a very smart bar and conservatory. Creative dishes sit alongside more traditi...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
The MICHELIN Plate: Good cooking
Extremely comfortable restaurant.
About
Opening in 1982, Bombay Brasserie was in the vanguard of modern Indian cuisine, with an inventive approach that married classic regional cooking with a European brasserie-style menu. The spacious interior, with its airy conservatory and bright murals, extends to a welcoming bar and a more traditional dining room well suited to the affluent Kensington clientele.
PRICE RANGE
US$26 - US$65
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian
FEATURES
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (1,317)
Filter reviews
1,104 results
Traveller rating
565
327
112
55
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
565
327
112
55
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kebab platter fried spinach kulfi curry chicken naan sea bass mango soft shell crab prawns tasting menu indian food sunday buffet gloucester road tube station attentive service special occasion ambience
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago

We have been to Bombay Brasserie a few times now, it never disappoints. The food is always excellent and the service is on point. Over time this has turned into one of our favourite Indian restaurants in London.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Been here a few times, but the last time a very long while ago! Upon entering this well known London Indian restaurant, I was struck by its very uninviting look! You wait there whilst your table is being prepared (in these times that doesn’t take...long, as no tablecloth, paper napkins and menus). Anyway, scruffy looking tables and chairs in waiting area. Could have at least put little tealight candles in a glass or some flowers around surely, on the tables? Service was average, but I suppose it’s difficult to interact when you’re wearing a mask most of the time - poor waiters! Food good, I did love mine. I had a King Prawn main dish and it was delicious and perfectly cooked. My husband had lamb Biryani which he said was like any other Indian restaurant (not really what you expect when it costs at least twice as much!). My daughter had vegetable biryani, again same comment! Her cauliflower starter was delicious she said but very spicy! We bought a bottle of wine £41 - there wasn’t any cheaper they said, although they do start at £31. However, the surprise of the evening was that my daughters cranberry juice was £8!! How can that be justified? No alcohol in it, just cranberry juice and a normal size fairly small glass. We love going out to eat in restaurants, and we’ve been to some amazing ones in the world which have been quite pricey, but worth it! There’s a difference between quality/posh and just a rip off! I’m afraid in my opinion this is the latter!!! No more Bombay Brasserie, not worth the effort of journey or money.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visit here every time we come to London, the food is outstanding and the staff are always welcoming and polite. they have made some adjustments for social distancing and safety of the staff but it dose not lose the relax atmosphere which we like....They have changed the menu recently, even though they have taken our favourite dish off they still have a good wide chose and it tastes so good.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I have been to the The Bombay Brasserie many times, I'm never disappointed. This time was no exception, we were greeted at the door by Benny Varughese, the restaurant manager. As it was extremely busy we were asked to sit in a the beautiful bar,...very soon we were shown to our table. From then on I felt like royalty, we were treated so well, all the staff bent over backwards and we were never forgotten or made to wait for any length of time. Our food preferences were dealt with appropriate and very delicious options. As I said earlier, it was very busy but every guest was made to feel special, my husband and I certainly did. I would like to thank all the staff at the Bombay Brasserie for making our meal, and us feel so special. Thank you Benny, the manager, Sri Ram the chef and everyone who served us, you are all amazing.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 16, 2020

Being a special occasion, we were looking forward to special meal. However, turned out to be disappointing. The food was very ordinary but above all, the portions were woefully small for the prices charged. £15 for Fish Amritsari-2 x2cm long pieces of fish-dry and not...at all fresh tasting. Three small 50p size ticks for £15!! Even the main course portions were very small.Dal Makhani was undercooked. Shame, because we have been going to this restaurant over the years but it was never this bad.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 12, 2020 via mobile

Had a wonderful dinner at the Bombay Brasserie. They have hand sanitisers and the tables are laid out spaciously. The staff wear PPE all the time. It was good to be out in town after a long time. The food was excellent and portions quite...good. The service was excellent and we were well looked after Ben/Benny and Diego.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 15, 2020 via mobile

In so many reviews, I am asked if an offering exceeded expectations. Well, the Bombay Brasserie certainly did. I last ate at the establishment nearly 40 years ago: it was good then but has improved since. The bar has an extensive list of wines, beers,...Gins & certainly more, all impeccably served and mixed in a bar of breathtaking lights. You then move to the dining room, which is like a 1920s colonial club. Real linen napkins and tablecloth. Discrete but attentive service, and dishes delicately but perfectly spiced. Veg and non veg, well advised according to individual tastes - just so rare to find, and a delight. I love Indian food but for those who are less enthusiastic the experience is wonderful. No mortgage required to pay the bill either!More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 9, 2020

The restaurant is large with plenty of space between the tables, facilitating conversation. The reception bar is small but with a large fireplace giving an intimate atmosphere. The decor gives a slightly olde worlde feeling , but is also quite pleasant. The menu is original,...more inventive than other Indian restaurants I have been to. The wine list is not too long , but has an adequately wide price range. The food was delicious, service quiet but efficient, and with my guests there is no doubt we will be returning!More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 23, 2020

We first visited this amazing restaurant in 1985 and it's still one of our favorite places to eat in London. Chose it again for a Birthday Celebration on Saturday. Just love everything about it the opulent beautifully decorated rooms, the wonderful attentive staff, entertaining piano...player and the amazing food. Can recommend the tasting menu but make sure you have plenty of room as the dishes keep coming. It's speaks volumes about the quality of the food and service that they have been in business for almost 40 years.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 18, 2020

Fabulous high ceilings with colonial style decor in the bar when you first enter the restaurant. The bar is huge, beautifully furnished with cosy settees and armchairs to enjoy a pre-dinner drink from a well stocked bar. Menu is interesting and food simply divine. Amazing...spicing used with everything beautifully presented and so tasty. Because of the space inside the restaurant it feels very private and opulent. Service was a little stand off for my preference but maybe that fits the image and we were really well looked after. I would have preferred a little more warmth and engagement.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque
white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's
easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with
superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and
Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely
child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to
mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall)
such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
1,587 reviews
.59 km away
Earls Court Gardens Hotel
337 reviews
.57 km away
Hotel Moonlight
388 reviews
.57 km away
The Ampersand Hotel
4,377 reviews
.51 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Steak & Co. Gloucester Road Kensington
2,299 reviews
.07 km away
Garfunkel's
1,216 reviews
.09 km away
Olives Restaurant and Bar - Italian Kitchen
979 reviews
.04 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Natural History Museum
36,828 reviews
.53 km away
South Kensington
357 reviews
.44 km away
Genting Casino Cromwell Mint
20 reviews
.38 km away
The Drayton Arms Theatre
13 reviews
.36 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Chinthurst18
November 1, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from stevesky2015 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I can’t The best way around London is Tube
0
Votes
Indi K
December 7, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from sallysW3955BY | Reviewed this property |
As someone else remarked, plenty of vegetarian options. For further info you'd want to contact the management.
0
Votes
Sandra R
October 31, 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from ShamanCuervo | Reviewed this property |
Hi- There is rice, and sweets. Probably tandoor chicken as well. Not the best place on earth for no spice.
3
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing