We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
Bookatable

Ratings and reviews

#269 of 2,606 European in London
#620 of 16,828 Restaurants in London
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
European, British
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours

Location and contact

Covent Garden
0.2 km from Trafalgar Square
Improve this listing

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

London's oldest restaurant boasts a fine collection of antique cartoons, drawings and paintings. Tradition continues in the menu, specialising in game ...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
The MICHELIN Plate: Good cooking
Comfortable restaurant; one of our most delightful places.
Reviews (4,594)
Filter reviews
3,971 results
Traveller rating
2,435
869
371
180
116
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
2,435
869
371
180
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak and kidney pudding potted shrimps game dishes oysters rabbit pies dover sole potatoes soup salmon bread oldest restaurant visited rules traditional british food downton abbey cocktail bar upstairs covent garden
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Absolutely beautiful meal, outstanding service and safe during Covid. We arrived and had our temperatures checked in a non-invasive manner- using an iPad-style device rather than the guns! Service was immaculate and tables well-spaces. If it wasn’t for the face masks, you’d not have realised...we’re still in a Pandemic! Staff were relaxed and as attentive as always. All of the food and drink was superb, very well cooked, beautifully seasoned and presented. Just the right amount on the plates too. My favourite London restaurant by a country mile, a real treat when we’re able to go. The sense of occasion is well worth getting dressed up for!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 days ago

Really; really pleasant staff, but this restaurant is big on prices, but small on portions. Starter about £15-19 quid Main +£23.00 veg & pots £4.25 ? New potatoes (6 in total) Chips (15 in total) made the supplement charge a bit steep? Puds were £8.25...and lacked in flavor. They were busy; the menu, understandably was reduced, pity this was not reflected in the pricing?More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 5 days ago

As I can't eat wheat without suffering badly afterwards, I was so disappointed that my first visit to the famous Rules will have to be my last. We went for a special treat for my husband's 60th birthday. We were excited by the unique menu...including historic dishes such as steak and kidney pudding and pie and old-fashioned puddings for dessert. My husband had such dishes for his meal and thoroughly enjoyed them. I, on the other hand was guided towards salmon and fruit or cheese or sorbets. There were no adaptations of any of the dishes. I had rung and checked first whether there was a gluten free menu and I had been told the waiter would be my gluten free menu. I wrongly assumed this meant that the waiter would tell me how dishes coud be adapted for me. Whilst there's nothing wrong with simple food, it's just what I cook at home. When going to a special restaurant like this, I would hope to be offered one or two options similar to my husband's choices, the food the restaurant is famous for. If friends can kindly produce a delicious gluten free cake for me and my kind, why can't a famous restaurant like Rules? They did, admittedly, have gf bread.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 6 days ago

Beautifully romantic setting and fangastic quality of food. All beautifully cooked. Myself and my husband had a great evening here and would visit again. Many thanks.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I choose to dine here on a Saturday night as we were staying locally and intrigued to see how the oldest restaurant in London was. It reminded me of Smith and Wollenskys in New York, very formal, everything runs like clockwork and...the team were professional. We both had potted shrimp and the rib of beef which were exceptional however with wine and coffee £250 was steep but expected due to where we were. The only reason I have scored a 4 star was the atmosphere felt a little lacking, uptight and stiff. This is only my personal opinion but feel now we’ve been here there are other places of the same price to try.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The last 6 months have probably been the longest period without a visit since I moved "down south" 30 years ago. Welcome back Ricky and team ?? My party of four on Saturday night was superbly looked after. Oysters, Champagne, potted shrimps, rib of beef,...Margaux, sticky toffee pudding, Sauternes. Bliss! Not sure about the 'Lipstick at Dawn' cocktail but my husband married me so clearly has dodgy taste! Also big thank you to Natalie our waitress. She has looked after us several times recently and is a true professional and a great ambassador for your business.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As always, rules does not disappoint. Apart from the temperature taking you would not know we were in covid rules territory. Tables are a little further apart (no bad thing). Food was excellent, grouse for me and pie for my husband. Service was extra special...and a couple of cocktails in the bar- not sure it could get any better under very extraordinary circumstances. Already booked our regular Christmas table. Well done rules!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

i have been to rules on several occasions but this was the first since the start of the pandemic so worth commenting .The restaurants procedures are excellent they take your temperature and photo before you are seated.The restaurant has retained its structure and then there...is plenty of space so social distncing is not a problem.they have a oneway system when you need to use the bathroom which is upstairs.We were served by Nathalie a delightful lady.Rules is all about tradition but not about complacency the standard of the food and the standard of the service is superlative. We had jersey rock oysters as an appetiser which were excellent.For our main course we both had the steak and kidney pie with pommes dauphinoise and buttered greens.This is a rules classic the steak and kidney is superb it is full of steak and kidney and the sauce is served in the side as there is no room for sauce in the pie.The meat is very tender and full of flavour.For dessert i had the apricot tarte tatin and my friend had the steamed syrup sponge.These desserts are not for the faint hearted they are good sized portions but very tasty.This was a fantastic meal and i am already planning my next visit.This is a superb restaurant the service we received from Nathalie was excellent and i look forward to the next timeMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 6, 2020 via mobile

Great place and great staff. Have been coming for years and always get excellent service. Highly recomended

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed April 13, 2020 via mobile

I had heard about Rules. Was going to the theatre with my daughter It was a miserable cold wet night. We wanted dinner before we went. We didn’t book and were delighted when they offered us a table. Rules is warm and welcoming. Service and...food were exceptional. The fish pie was freshly cooked and delicious We had crumble for dessert and it was so good This restaurant is a gem in Covent Garden. Can’t wait to return!More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Covent Garden
Whether you're headed here to check out the multitude
of shops, theaters, cafes, pubs, and restaurants, or
simply to be among the multitude of people who pass
through this pretty part of town, you'll love soaking
up the festive and historic atmosphere in and around
Covent Garden. Even if you don't have tickets to the
opera or a show at one of the many famous theaters
here, don't be surprised if find yourself captivated
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
1,672 reviews
.86 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
3,826 reviews
.86 km away
Rosewood London
2,580 reviews
.83 km away
Dean Street Townhouse
813 reviews
.73 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Oystermen Seafood Bar & Kitchen
1,236 reviews
.06 km away
Sticks'N'Sushi Covent Garden
2,403 reviews
.05 km away
Condesa
267 reviews
.01 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Kinky Boots at Adelphi Theatre
2,686 reviews
.06 km away
Adelphi Theatre
257 reviews
.05 km away
St. Paul's Church (The Actors' Church)
166 reviews
.09 km away
The Vaudeville Theatre
355 reviews
.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ngosi
February 16, 2020|
AnswerShow all 19 answers
Response from trap1 | Reviewed this property |
yes
1
Vote
rbb23
August 8, 2019|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from gutensohnmilli | Reviewed this property |
As superbe as this Restaurant is, maybe with a one year old its not such a good idea... but i can only speak for dinner time...
1
Vote
Google Translation
a0603
July 11, 2019|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from DavidgLewis | Reviewed this property |
This is no ordinary restaurant, I think that you could probably order off menu if you were a vegetarian.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing