We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Thu., 10-01
20:00
OR
Reserve a table

Ratings and reviews

#712 of 2,606 European in London
#1,711 of 16,828 Restaurants in London
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
European, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
View all details
meals, features

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

Lipton, the tea people, once owned the building and the pared-down, ersatz industrial look of the restaurant is bang on trend. For added animation, hel...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
One MICHELIN Star: High quality cooking, worth a stop!
Simple restaurant
Reviews (446)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveller rating
185
108
65
30
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
185
108
65
30
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews smoked eel fixed menu mutton tasting menu bread radicchio jerusalem artichoke meringue guinea fowl amuse bouche razor clams ice cream turbot liver oysters pork penne
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food was excellent. Generous portions and great prices. The food was excellent. All good wishes and thanks.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My debut in tripadvisor is writing about my favorite place in London, in my neighborhood, Shoreditch. I've seen some people write bad free reviews and it's unfair that people get a wrong opinion about Lyle′s. Sometimes it is difficult to realize that the seemingly simple...is the most complex. The menu costs 65 pounds and it's hard to get more for less. Highly recommended.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 10, 2020

Atmosphere and staff were lovely and the food was amazing. Great wine list, attentive staff and a classically simple menu that focuses on great product. The menus changes daily so you never know what you’ll get, but we lucked out with a wonderful menu full...of fresh and perfectly cooked ingredients. Would definitely go back and eat there again.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 15, 2020

Well we booked the Lyle’s because it′s not so easy to get a table on a Saturday evening in London on short notice. In my mind, if a tasting menu has one dish that’s astonished me, it′s a perfect evening and the Lyle’s had two...on this evening: The Calcots (spring onions) with egg yolk and wild garlic was to die for and the backed cream and Harbinger rhubarb as dessert the best dessert of our 4 day foodie tour through London We definitely will come back - if Boris let us in!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 26, 2020 via mobile

My wife and i were gifted a 200 pound voucher for this establishment. And what a let down. Lyles contacted me via email to ask how my experience was, and i explained how poor it was, and they haven’t responded therefore i am taking to...tripadvisor. The service, great. The food, below average. The chefs, on there phones! Every dish was underwhelming, especially considering the price, each dish was a let down. The service itself was fantastic, and it’s a shame the food didn’t match. Not to mention, the chef, not sure if head chef, but was on his phone was a good 20 minutes leaning against the wall, extremely unprofessional for a place with such a reputation. I do not recommend this place at all.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?4  
Reviewed February 11, 2020 via mobile

Excelllent food, good service and simply a very recomendable place ?? Had a five course set menu with recomended wine for each dish ??

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 23, 2020 via mobile

Understated in its delivery but a really sound and inspiring collection of flavours. The staff are understandably knowledge about the food. Such a good meal. We need more places like this

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

Excellent meal for our first night in London. The menus changes daily so you never know what you’ll get, but we lucked out with a wonderful menu full of fresh and perfectly cooked ingredients. Don’t skip the cheese course!

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile

We had just travelled from Sydney via Perth. 5:00 am arrival at Heathrow, so after settling in our son took us into London. This was his recommendation. What a great choice. Great wine list, attentive staff and a classically simple menu that focuses on great...product. Loved it. Will be back.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 16, 2020 via mobile

atmosphere and staff were lovely and the food was amazing would definitely go back and eat there again only one thing to keep in mind is that only 1 toilet for gents and 1 for ladies but that ok

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Shoreditch
The western front of the edgy East End, Shoreditch is
a perennially trendy haven for anything “street” – be
it art, food, or fashion. With its handful of well
connected transportation links dotting its perimeter,
along with an ever increasing variety of shops,
hotels, bars, and restaurants, it's easy to explore
this trend-conscious and youth-oriented neighbourhood.
There's a lingering post-industrial grit about
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Novotel London Tower Bridge
3,568 reviews
1.45 km away
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
2,963 reviews
1.42 km away
Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch
4,546 reviews
1.44 km away
The Whitechapel Hotel
321 reviews
1.30 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Brat
211 reviews
.08 km away
Pizza East
1,481 reviews
.04 km away
Boxpark Shoreditch
602 reviews
.04 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Dinerama - Street Feast
418 reviews
.19 km away
Urban Food Fest
41 reviews
.15 km away
Howard Griffin Gallery
12 reviews
.08 km away
SideStory
17 reviews
.09 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jejita
July 9, 2019|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from ceciliascimia77 | Reviewed this property |
I don’t think so
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing