We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Thu., 10-01
20:00

Ratings and reviews

#305 of 2,606 European in London
#695 of 16,828 Restaurants in London
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

The first of Isaac McHale’s restaurants is set in the ornate and rather glamorous former Shoreditch Town Hall. Chefs perform centre stage in the smart,...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
One MICHELIN Star: High quality cooking, worth a stop!
Comfortable restaurant
About
The Clove Club opened in March 2013 in Shoreditch Town Hall, East London. The restaurant is named after the original supper club that brought our founders Daniel Willis, Isaac Mchale and Johnny Smith together in 2010. We serve modern British cooking – thoughtful, precise and elegant food in a relaxed and informal setting. At The Clove Club we serve a tasting menu that highlights the best produce we can source from across the British Isles, with ideas and inspirations from around the world. Our wine list showcases regions from the old and new world, encompassing traditional and modern styles of wine making, with a focus on artisanal growers. In addition we also offer a number of pairings – classic
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
European, British
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (731)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveller rating
418
126
64
32
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
418
126
64
32
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu orkney scallop truffle scallops amuse bouche haggis petit fours bread lamb sashimi sardines ice cream penne pudding potatoes open kitchen paired wines
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Wow what a meal. The food was sublime and the service impeccable. We had the tasting menu which was some of the best food I’ve ever tasted. Bravo

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed June 4, 2020

The short version: This is the best restaurant I have ever been. I love to eat. Food can be a horrible part of any travel, or it can make the memories of travel even sweeter. My girlfriend and I visited this restaurant three years ago...and we still talk about it, still compare it to every restaurant we go, still smile with the memory of the food, the servers and the busboy. We've been to many, many great restaurants since, but none compares (others have been in the area, but not close). We didn't visit in July 2019 as stated below, but July 2017. The long version: Three years ago, my girlfriend was diagnosed with breast cancer and she would have to go through surgery, chemotherapy and radiation. I love to travel and have done so, but she had very little experience with travel of any sort. London is my go-to town for fun and a bit of adventure (but not typically for food, though that has been changing in the last ten years or so). She was allowed a break between the surgery and the chemo, so when she healed and felt well enough, we made our way to London. It was a great two weeks. We ate great food, saw great shows (the Ferryman was spectacular). It was everything I could have hoped for for the woman I love to look back on while going through the rigors of chemo to remember good times and to give her hope and strength. I did not think that our meal at the Clove Club would be the highlight of the trip, that while she was going through chemotherapy and the only thing that she could keep down was a bagel with cream cheese that she would think of the great meal we had and the great people who worked there. To start, it was not the greatest day. Some of our plans fell apart and we had a mediocre lunch, but, of course, we made the best of it. So when the time came for dinner, we were actually a bit tired and a little done in. We were met at the door by a somewhat largish gentleman who took our names before letting us in. Our very nice Matre d' directed us to our table and off we were. We ordered the tasting menu with the wine paring. Andrea, my girlfriend, was raised in Washington wine country and so has a somewhat good vocabulary when it comes to wine. I just like to drink it, but I pay attention. We did not know any of the wines on the menu at all. The sommelier was a wonderful woman who loved to talk wine. We talked about American wines and she talked about every other kind. She was nice and cheery, informative and receptive. We learned so much about the wine she was serving and she presented each one such that it felt like a brand new experience with each taste (which it was). The dinner was superb. I was, at first, skeptical. One of the first items we were served was pieces of fried chicken. I was raised in the southern part of the United States in an area known for its fried chicken. Fried chicken is easy to make, but easy to ruin and difficult to really make taste good. The fried chicken at the Clove Club was magnificent. It was not dry, but not greasy. It had a great flavor with just the right amount of spice to it. I was hooked. Every item on the menu not necessarily better than the one before, but all exceptionally good. Every item a different experience. Some an explosion of flavors, others a subtle hint. And every one paired to perfection with the wine. The funny thing is, that as good as the food was (and the food was really, really good), we talk just as much about how good all the servers were. The stand-out was, of course, the man in the bright green suit (I'm sorry, but I don't remember your name), not just because he had a bright green suit, but that he had the personality to pull off wearing a bright green suit in a serious venue. I thank you, because you put me at ease and allowed me to enjoy myself and experience everything not at 'a Michelin starred, one of the 50 best restaurants', but at a nice evening out with a fine meal and stellar company. Even the young man busing the tables was great company with a slight edge. On one plate was left a little sauce to which he asked if I wanted some bread to sop it up. I replied 'no', but that I could understand if someone wanted to lick the plate. He told me, in a nice way, that I would regret my decision, and he was absolutely right. To this day, I regret not getting that bread. Why am I writing this three years later? We recently rearranged the furniture and the menu was behind a dresser. We had such a good time recounting the whole trip and the dinner specifically, that I thought the people at the restaurant might like to know. I know that the staff probably has changed a bit, and that, to me, is too bad as we loved every one of them and had an absolutely marvelous time. Andrea is still cancer free and we are thankful for the memory of a bright spot in an otherwise dark time in our lives. Thank you.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?6  
Reviewed March 17, 2020

Really enjoyed the six-course tasting menu here, even with some challenging dietary requirements of gluten and lactose free. The champagne and wine advice from the sommelier were exceptional. The little personal nods as it was a birthday booking made it all the better.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 15, 2020

Well the price tag of the Clove Club is not for the faint hearted, but is worth every penny. The sardine sashimi was probably the best fish dish I ever have eaten and the aged rib of Herford beef definitely the best piece of beef...I have ever tasted. The intensity of the taste of the fat margin of the rib was marvellous, better than any Wagyu beef I tasted until now! What else do you need to say? Not every dish is perfect - the raw Orkney scallop with clementine, hazelnut and Perigord truffle was very irritating for my taste buds, even if they proclaimed, that this dish brought them on the Top 100 List - but an experience anyway. And the wine pairing is “extraordinary ”, even if the missed my taste once or twice. Still I think with this menu, the Clove Club has made it on my top 5 list of the best restaurant I have ever visitedMore

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 21, 2020

My husband and I were in London for this 40th birthday. I wanted to do something extra special for his big day so I planned a surprise lunch at the Clove Club. I did my research on TripAdvisor before making reservations. While there were mixed...reviews, I am SO glad that we dined here. The service was outstanding, the food and cocktails were amazing, the atmosphere was great (we really enjoyed the open viewing kitchen-that was cool), and we even got to meet the Chef! The entire experience was such a treat, we appreciated the special touches as we celebrated a special occasion. Thank you to the entire staff, you definitely made this milestone birthday extra memorable!More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 17, 2020 via mobile

Being No 27 of the Best 50 Restaurants of the World is maybe as prestigious as the Michelin Star. We were never disappointed! I went with out 13 y/o son for the lunch menu sind it was a lot cheaper (just 64£...) than the dinner...tasting menu. All amuse bouches and courses we just outstanding. The service was the best I had ever experienced. I just did not like the craft beer but being German, maybe that’s the Problem... :-) I can recommend The Clove Club to anyone looking for a special and fabulous place for lunch or dinnerMore

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?2  
Reviewed February 5, 2020 via mobile

Went for 50th with partner. Full tasting menu, such an array of fresh fish and sushimi combined with lamb, chicken and beef dishes. Many with an amazing stock/broth/jus with deep flavour to die for. Served by a a young French waiter who was the most...charming and friendly company for the meal. This is a restaurant that oozes passion for great food and a memorable experience. All in a wonderful setting of the old Town Hall.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 3, 2020

We dined here and loved it! Their kitchen is open to dining room. Lovely concept and we enjoyed seeing them plate and prepare dishes. Friendly service that made us feel welcome and relaxed. Absolutely wonderful experience in every way. Food is innovative, surprising and every...mouthful a treat. Service was excellent and atmosphere relaxed. Definitely worthy of their Michelin star rating. We will definitely be back!More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed January 19, 2020

Went to the clove club after booking it few weeks ago for our anniversary. Impeccable service from the start to the end. Lovely personal touch with the card and cake. I have been to a lot of micheline starred restaurants and this will definitely stand...out because of the service and the fresh British ingredients. Superb fine dining worth every penny.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 11, 2020

Dinner at Clove Club was an anniversary treat for us. If I'm honest I expected it to be bigger. As the evening wore on the dullness of the old-fashioned tatty dried flowers on the windowsills as the main decoration annoyed me more and more -...please be more imaginative! The explanation of the menu and wine pairing at the beginning was a little confused, and we spoke to three staff before it was clear. The stand out good service came from the sommelier while elsewhere the service seemed less than slick for a top restaurant. The food is mostly excellent. I particularly liked the trout and sardine. Being picky, I don't think the balance of the scallop with truffle worked. The scallop seemed underseasoned and disappeared into the background of the earthy truffle. The chicken was perfectly cooked but a little boring, whereas the chicken feet with dip that came with it was great. I think the latter should be the focus of the dish as it's more interesting. The lamb after it was very good (though the River Tamar is pronounced wrongly by the waiter - it's Taymar, not Tammar). After the lamb was a lemon dessert that looks like a blob of mayonnaise and doesn't go with the sparkling wine. A rare miss in an excellent wine pairing. After that, the Belle Helene was nice but lacked imagination or wow factor. The desserts are weak for a 27th in the world restaurant. Overall the food is a good showcase of British ingredients, and the wine pairings are unusual and interesting and worth trying.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Shoreditch
The western front of the edgy East End, Shoreditch is
a perennially trendy haven for anything “street” – be
it art, food, or fashion. With its handful of well
connected transportation links dotting its perimeter,
along with an ever increasing variety of shops,
hotels, bars, and restaurants, it's easy to explore
this trend-conscious and youth-oriented neighbourhood.
There's a lingering post-industrial grit about
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Town Hall Hotel
1,564 reviews
1.72 km away
The Ned
1,242 reviews
1.69 km away
New Road Hotel
498 reviews
1.59 km away
Premier Inn London City Aldgate hotel
2,810 reviews
1.60 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Bike Shed
626 reviews
.07 km away
The Blues Kitchen - Shoreditch
1,874 reviews
.10 km away
Hache Shoreditch
444 reviews
.09 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Shoreditch Town Hall
17 reviews
.03 km away
Nikki's
10 reviews
.06 km away
Trafik
20 reviews
.07 km away
London Chinatown Experience
45 reviews
.09 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Brit8
May 16, 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from joan3 | Reviewed this property |
Need to check it's a set menu no choice
0
Votes
stushy2016
February 20, 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Mimi0267 | Reviewed this property |
It is best to go for the taster menu with the different wines, this way you will taste all the beautiful food they prepare and for the sitting area I was in the main room when the kitchen is, you see the food being cooked in... More
1
Vote
faerie87
June 10, 2017|
Answer
Response from phillipg601 | Reviewed this property |
The 9 course menu is £110 , however you get 3 snacks before so it really is a 12 course meal , not too much food and because of the quality of everything I rate it as good value . I hope you find this helpful.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing