We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Fri., 09-25
20:00

Ratings and reviews

#732 of 2,603 European in London
#1,782 of 16,805 Restaurants in London
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

The coolest joint in Jason Atherton’s stable comes with distressed walls, moody lighting and a laid-back vibe – it also has a terrific speakeasy-style ...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
One MICHELIN Star: High quality cooking, worth a stop!
Simple restaurant
About
Social Eating House is an informal and affordable dining experience in Soho with a contemporary bistro menu paying homage to the best of British cooking with international influences.
PRICE RANGE
US$24 - US$70
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
European, British
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (1,417)
Filter reviews
1,339 results
Traveller rating
710
335
173
79
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
710
335
173
79
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scallop ceviche lamb tasting menu jerusalem artichoke truffle cod sorbet pudding ice cream cake salad potatoes blind pig pollen street jason atherton smoked butter chefs table
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago

Came here for my partners birthday, it did not disappoint! The menu was lovely and food all beautifully cooked and presented. The staff were extremely attentive.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 days ago

We were greeted with ‘can I help you’ not even a ‘Hi can I help you’. On explaining we had a reservation we were seated at a table outside the disabled toilets next to the service counter even though many other preferable tables were available....We instantly felt our faces did not fit. On ordering our food those around received their starters having arrived much later. We ate the most part of our food with a tray containing dirty plates just to the left of our table. After finishing eating our dirty plates were left on the table for over ten minutes and then only partly cleared. The table was only completely cleared on paying the bill. It was also noted fresh food being served directly next to a tray containing dirty plates. The food we enjoyed but the overall experience for a restaurant with a Michelin star was very disappointing,More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 days ago

I do love this place!! Staff is super professional and kind!! Food superb and really high standard! Prices are more than honest!! I reccomend to visit it in the centre of Soho.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was strangely lacking for a starred restaurant, and I’ll tell you why. Firstly when we entered. When your spending a proper amount of money, you expect to have someone greet you and take you to your table. Instead, that person was missing and we...had to wait at the bar for a couple of minutes until she got round to us. Secondly, we had the tasting menu, but certainly 2 of the descriptions didn’t mention really key things. The scallops failed to mention all the curry powder which overpowered the dish (it certainly was heavy handed) and the beef which was delicious, failed to say that it was tartare, which some people really don’t like. Thirdly there were some weirdly long gaps between some dishes, and the service disappeared after a while. Fourthly, and importantly, while the waiting staff had to wear face masks, our main chap wore his under his nose, and another chap who brought a couple of dishes, wore his under his chin (!) both of which made us feel unsafe. Not great in these times. Most of the dishes were good to be fair, but there was too many issues to give this place a glowing review.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Has a table booked in the cocktail bar for 8 o’clock and a table in the restaurant for 9:15. Cocktails good and got onto our restaurant table at the time booked. Staff served us drinks and took our order quite quickly but the whole experience...went downhill from there!! Starters came after about 20 minutes (which is fine), plates cleared away when done, but, mains eventually came out at 10:45!!!!! Far far far to long a time. To be fair front of house staff apologetic and did everything they could but not a lot they could do when the food just wasn’t there!! The food was good, no denying it, but, that’s really no good when the overall experience was so poor. Bill about £500 for four which is fine when the whole experience stacks up but not with such poor timing and we ended up not enjoying our night out. Wouldn’t return to any of Jason Atherton’s establishments I’m afraid.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went as a group of 4 to try the set menu (excellent value at £25 for 3 courses due to the September discount). Pretty much flawless experience from start to finish. Table was booked for 6.30 but one person arrived at 6.15 and was still...able to be seated early. We each had a cocktail to start (cocktail of the day was 'Clover Club', gin and raspberry based, really delicious) while browsing the menu. Service was attentive but not over the top. Ordered our food and had some delicious bread and butter while waiting. All of us had the beetroot starter- incredible presentation and flavours. We ordered a bottle of Australian Riesling to have with our mains- between the 4 of us we had every main on the set menu (chicken, plaice, venison and the vegetarian pasta) and everyone enjoyed their food. The pasta-eater felt it was perhaps a tad undercooked and I personally would have preferred a little more seasoning for my fish, but these are probably subjective opinions. Desserts were coconut panna cotta and bread and butter pudding- both great. I never would have expected olives to work with coconut but it was divine. We weren't rushed out after finishing our desserts and were able to linger over the last of our wine while chatting. Bill for a cocktail each, 3 courses and a bottle of wine between 4 came to £200 including service ie £50 each- an absolute bargain for the quality of food and the overall experience we had. Will absolutely return, thank you for a lovely evening.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was slightly disappointed not to be able to book the 6.30 sitting only the 6 pm. It was all good news from there. We ordered the 3 course set meal with the carafes of wine. Both the white and red were good selections. The...bread and butter served before the meal was an indication of the quality food to follow. I had the mackerel to start and the chicken for mains. Both were superb and I’d go as far to say that you’d find it hard to find a better and tastier chicken dish. I had the sponge desert which was equally good. As a group that had not seen each other for a while we ordered 2 more wine carafes and a couple of beers. We were all pleasantly surprised at the bill and decided we we wi return for the al la cart menu.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a booking last night at this restaurant. I rang on the day as we had some logistical issues to make sure our booking was OK. I was told that the restaurant would probably be full and likely we would be seated in the...bar area. I said that was ok as long as the table we were given was not a high-chair table but a proper table and was reassured that we would not be on a barstool. They said they would leave a note on the booking to move us to the restaurant if possible. You can guess where this is going...in our uber on the way there we ran into roadworks which delayed us by 15 minutes, but I called the restaurant and was told they would hold our table for us. Upon arrival, I asked if it had been possible to be seated in the restaurant and I was told that it wasn't. Then we were showed to...you guessed...exactly the table I had been reassured we would not be on. It was a thin countertop with high bar stools next to the window - not exactly the place to do the full tasting menu / go all-out on wine etc! I was really disappointed, especially as there were other 'proper' tables on the floor which were empty and remained empty for the majority of our meal. Others arrived during our dinner and were seated at better tables. The only reason for this I can think of was the obvious eyes the front of house gave us. We are mid-20s Londoners and used to being treated poorly compared to those who are older than us but never had I been made so aware of this. Needless to say, we did not order the tasting menu or the wine - can't imagine it would have been at all enjoyable on that thin counter with the bar-stools! We asked several times again to move and were told no, despite the number of empty tables on the floor. The starters were pretty good, but the chicken main was over-salted and the puddings were so sweet they put my teeth on edge. I wouldn't go again - for a place with such good reviews I would have expected much better service. If they had told me upfront we would be on bar stools we would not have gone, and we were tempted several times to walk out, given the rudeness of the front of house and the poor quality of the food.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 15, 2020

I dined from the set menu, three courses for £28 (or £18 with the government scheme). Environment is very casual, jeans and shorts seemed acceptable attire. Bottled water is from Blenheim Palace (£4.50 a bottle), decent wines around £9 a glass, nice sourdough served with...meal. My starter of Mackerel with apple, raisins and cauliflower was the star of the show. The main of chicken, hasselback potato and a medley of lettuce, peas, bacon and cream was beautiful in it's classical simplicity and expertly cooked. On this, being the hottest day of the year, dessert was a yogurt parfait with cherries, praline and basil sorbet, simply delicious. Service was relaxed and attentive.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 4, 2020 via mobile

Ok let’s break this down. Ambiance- dark wood, low lighting “speak easy” vibe... probably better suited to evening than lunch to be honest. All clean and Covid-19 safe. Service - was excellent. Attentive but not over so. Only issue was a dead fly in one...wine glass which was fixed quickly and efficiently. Food - I went for the set menu. £38 for three courses with wine. Starter I went for the roast mackerel with cauliflower puree was excellent. Main meal I went for the cod tranch which was a bit disappointing. The oyster emulsion just didn’t add anything you couldn’t taste it. The cod was a very very small piece of cod. So not good. Desert I didn’t taste but the yogurt parfait was the favourite of those I eat with and highly Reccomended. Drinks- the seasonal G&T was very good. Just stuffed with 5 large ice cubes in a small tall glass as is the disease in London!!! So for me not much of a drink and as the ice melts it’s just waters down the drink. 2 ice cubes ?? is max needed. The house white wine was ok not remarkable but average. So I’m removing half a star on the drinks and half a star for the disappointing main meal. So 4 out of five stars.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Soho
The go-to district for a good time in London, Soho
hosts a wealth of world-class theatres and a
compelling lineup of cafes, restaurants, pubs, bars,
and clubs. At Soho's core is London's original Red
Light District and the epicenter of the LGBT scene –
and thus the city's hottest nightlife. For shopping
enthusiasts, Soho is not only the home of London's
greatest concentration of boutique shops, but also the
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Ritz London
4,853 reviews
.82 km away
Gresham Hotel
596 reviews
.78 km away
Astor Court Hotel
863 reviews
.80 km away
Claridge's
2,497 reviews
.78 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Tapas Brindisa Soho
611 reviews
.04 km away
BAO Soho
884 reviews
.05 km away
Bodean's BBQ
2,173 reviews
.07 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Berwick Street Market
49 reviews
.10 km away
Broad Street Cholera Pump
13 reviews
.05 km away
John Snow Saloon
11 reviews
.13 km away
The Blind Pig
316 reviews
.01 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Johnsummers84
September 7, 2020|
Answer
Response from Mark and Wils B | Reviewed this property |
I imagine both charged £45 as it says for two to share.
1
Vote
nataliaf896
January 31, 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Khaaoopedaa | Reviewed this property |
I would agree with Dizzy.
0
Votes
Or B
July 1, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Daniele F | Reviewed this property |
Cocktails are available at the tables - not sure about the specific one.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing