We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sat., 09-26
20:00

Ratings and reviews

#400 of 16,805 Restaurants in London
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
About
Judged ‘Best Steak Restaurant in London’ by the customers of Bookatable, Europe's biggest online restaurant booking service, the 150-seat Heliot Steak House serves the best value American prime steak in the capital. It also has a unique view unlike any in London…diners can look out over the magnificent Grand Casino floor of The Hippodrome, the largest and most popular casino and entertainment venue in the country. PLEASE NOTE BECAUSE OF ITS CASINO LOCATION, HELIOT STEAK HOUSE ADMITS OVER 18s ONLY (IF YOU ARE LUCKY ENOUGH TO LOOK UNDER 25 YOU MUST BRING PHOTO ID). Heliot serves only USDA prime – the USDA marque a true indication of quality - aged between 4 and 6 weeks to develop tenderness and
PRICE RANGE
US$15 - US$51
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
American, Steakhouse, British
FEATURES
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (1,851)
Filter reviews
1,671 results
Traveller rating
1,183
331
81
43
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
1,183
331
81
43
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lobster tail steak surf and turf mac cheese fries meatballs salmon salad hippodrome casino magic mike cooked to perfection roulette table glass of champagne leicester square the rib eye booked this restaurant melt in the mouth
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took over half hour to receive our drinks order whilst 3 staff preened over the single chap on the next table. Quality of steak not up to the price the list goes on. Our bill was £340 for 4 of us with a couple of...drinks, mediocre steak and the worst cheesecake ever. Go enjoy the casino but do not waste your money on the restaurantMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Salv_Russo, General Manager at Heliot Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear OnAir, We are disappointed to hear that you didnt enjoy your recent dinner with us, i wished you highlighted this to us on the night so we could make things right. However we will most definitely address this with our team . We hope...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The steak was fantastic and was very tasty. I wouldn’t hesitate in returning and the price was reasonable too! Let the pictures do the talking!

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Salv_Russo, General Manager at Heliot Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Danny, We are delighted you had such a fantastic dinner and enjoyed your amazing USDA Prime steak so much. We hope that you call in next time you are town and try another one!! Many thanks from the Heliot Steak House team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The best steak I have ever eaten. It fell apart like fish it was incredible. The burger was also very tasty and flavoursome. In addition to this, the staff where extremely helpful and the service was fantastic. There was a great atmosphere too- would definitely...recommend!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Salv_Russo, General Manager at Heliot Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Elliot, Wow what an incredible review and feedback - we will definitely share it with our amazing team We hope you call in again for some USDA Prime steak soon. Many thanks from the Heliot Steak House team.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We are members of the casino and always eat each time we visit. The Fillet steak with red wine sauce was to die for and the Mac and cheese did not disappoint. Malbec was delicious and you get 10% off as a member even though...membership is free. We also had the lamb on a bed of rosemary which was also fabulous. Best value steak in London.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Salv_Russo, General Manager at Heliot Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Darren, Thanks for coming back! We are delighted you had such a fantastic dinner and enjoyed your amazing USDA Prime steak so much. We hope that you call in next time you are town and try another one!! Many thanks from the Heliot Steak...More

Reviewed August 21, 2020 via mobile

Seriously good steak, I consider myself A bit of a steak expert in central London and I am Shocked that I’ve never been here to eat before, my fillet was perfectly cooked and delicious, everything about the meal Was as good, service was excellent ambiance...the same, if you are looking for a good steak In Central London do not hesitate, amazing food, perfect service, fab wine ??!!!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Salv_Russo, General Manager at Heliot Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Somervic, Wow what an incredible review and feedback - we will definitely share it with our amazing team We hope you call in again for some USDA Prime steak soon. Many thanks from the Heliot Steak House team.

Reviewed August 16, 2020 via mobile

I always go back if I liked it the first time so I did. I think this time the food tasted even better than before , and before it was good. I hope I got the right restaurant as the one near the Hippodrome ,...Leicester Square. The service is fab , smart and professional service . I loved everything about it. The only thing I will say ( it’s personal taste and not a criticism ) the music was to load. Just my personal choice and no way effected the meal and ambiance . Just people were shouting lol. Sorry!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Salv_Russo, General Manager at Heliot Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Enigma Mike, What incredible feedback and comments- thank you so much for taking the time to share it for us and we could not agree more. We love evreything about Heliot Steak House too! Hope you call in again soon next time you are...More

Reviewed March 18, 2020 via mobile

Well worth a visit simple honest and a pleasant experience the Malbec was absolutely bang on the money! EnjoyMore

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
701salvor, General Manager at Heliot Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2020

Dear Mike, Many thanks for taking the time to write such a great review for us on Trip Advisor and for your brilliant feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the star deal menu so much. Hopefully next time you come we can get that...More

Reviewed March 12, 2020

Helliots claims to be the best steak house in London and I do not disagree we had a great meal with excellent wine in a great atmosphere we would definitely eat there again.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
701salvor, General Manager at Heliot Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2020

Dear Claire, Wow what an incredible review and feedback - we will definitely share it with our amazing team We hope you call in again for some USDA Prime steak soon. Many thanks from the Heliot Steak House team.

Reviewed March 2, 2020

We came here to celebrate my friends birthday and being Casino lovers were impressed with the £50 gaming chip we were also given. The Steak and Lobster (£20 per person) was superbly cooked and the whole ambience of the casino if not hugely busy was...a good one. I even won the £50 back on Roulette with the free chip so that really did make my night. We would not have any hesitation in returning and are already planning another visit to London.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
701salvor, General Manager at Heliot Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2020

Dear Sam, Wow what a brilliant review and amazing feedback - we will definitely share it with the team over here.We hope you call in again soon for another of those incredible USDA Prime steaks. Many thanks from the Heliot Steak House team.

Reviewed March 1, 2020 via mobile

I booked this restaurant based on it’s Tripadvisor ranking for a special occasion meal some time ago and could not have been more disappointed. First mistake was to arrive prior to having had a (strong) drink. As this is a casino, the music is BLARING...and gives you that heart vibration you’d get by standing in front of the speakers at a techno gig. Not suitable for a 100% sober head. On receiving our menus, we ordered a bottle of wine (mid-range price, perhaps £60-70). An hour after sitting down, there was still no sign of our wine. Our waitress was apologetic in explaining that someone had gone to fetch the wine from the cellar a number of times but never stayed long enough to allow us to explain that we were happy to change our wine order if it was posing a problem, or to allow us order an alternative drink while we waited. Long story short, 75 minutes after arriving, we received our wine. I hoped the steaks would make up for things but to be honest, they were nothing to write home about! We requested medium-rare rib-eyes which arrived cold-lukewarm on the outside (granted they wouldn’t be hot on the inside). They import their steaks from the US which I found strange given the excellent pedigree of beef available in the UK but I guess this is to appeal to their clientele base. Perfectly edible steak but definitely no better than your average restaurant steak so probably not befitting the high price tag. Overall, a really disappointing experience and a bit of an embarrassment for me having picked the place and promising a special meal.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
701salvor, General Manager at Heliot Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2020

Dear Una, Thank you for taking the time to write us a feedback. I'm sorry that we did not deliver our usual high standards on this occasion. We would really love to hear more about your experience to help us make sure this does not...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Covent Garden
Whether you're headed here to check out the multitude
of shops, theaters, cafes, pubs, and restaurants, or
simply to be among the multitude of people who pass
through this pretty part of town, you'll love soaking
up the festive and historic atmosphere in and around
Covent Garden. Even if you don't have tickets to the
opera or a show at one of the many famous theaters
here, don't be surprised if find yourself captivated
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Z Hotel Holborn
40 reviews
.73 km away
The Royal Horseguards
6,077 reviews
.67 km away
Karma Sanctum Soho
937 reviews
.72 km away
ME London
4,139 reviews
.66 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
J. Sheekey
3,079 reviews
.06 km away
Curry House CoCo Ichibanya
58 reviews
.05 km away
Piazza
692 reviews
.00 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
West End Theatre District
585 reviews
.03 km away
Noel Coward Theatre
819 reviews
.05 km away
Wyndhams Theatre
492 reviews
.04 km away
The Arts Theatre
442 reviews
.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Amber K
September 2, 2020|
Answer
Response from somervic | Reviewed this property |
I think it was fries included then we added an amazing mac & cheese
0
Votes
Louisewood74
March 12, 2020|
Answer
Response from 295janiceb | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I can’t help
0
Votes
Louisewood74
March 12, 2020|
Answer
Response from travellingguysuk | Reviewed this property |
Hi I have used myVEGAS points to eat, depends what offers are available when you redeem your points on the app. I haven’t used or done the VIP experience yet.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing