We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$13 - US$26
CUISINES
Cafe

Location and contact

Islington
1.1 km from Museum of London
Improve this listing
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
114
113
49
18
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
114
113
49
18
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch smashed avocado chilli great coffee street station coffee place espresso martinis cocktail bar love this place tube
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed July 9, 2020

Love this place! I visit many times, breakfast, lunch, cocktails or just simply for their amazing coffee! They have several locations in London.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 5, 2020 via mobile

Superb coffee, great bar, lovely staff — the coffee is on the higher price range but a great caffeine fix! ??

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Vijay2143, General Manager at Shoreditch Grind, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2020

Hey, thanks for leaving us your review. It's so lovely to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our Shoreditch Grind and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! ??

Reviewed January 4, 2020

I have never been to this group of restaurants before but would definitely return. A party of 6 went for brunch just before Christmas and we were delighted to find a lovely choice of wishes- I recommend the vegetarian full English breakfast- fantastic! All of...our group enjoyed their choices as they were hot , good portion sizes and well presented. The coffee was hot and the staff at 11.30 in the morning during a busy period of the year were friendly and extremely helpful. EXCeLLENT value too! Decor is minimalist with a large central bar, I would describe it as casual dining and in daylight I may have missed part of the atmosphere of the place; however as we left the restaurant was buzzing. Well done, I look forward to visiting this restaurant for brunch again.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed November 29, 2019

While walking north from the Thames and London Bridge, I ran across this small cafe near the Old Street Metro. The place was packed but I found a seat near the window and was able to order a Cappuccino right away. The servers were busy...but attentive. Lots of people were eating breakfast and seemed to be enjoying their visit and food. There was a lot of construction going on in that immediate area to renovate the metro station, but it was easy to find the cafe. After leaving, it was interesting to walk east on Old Street and see the shops and other eateries. A fun find with good coffee!!More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed November 13, 2019 via mobile

I went to Shoreditch Grind around 5pm on a Friday. It’s a great place to go for coffee with a bar vibe – as they do lots of cocktails, drinks, the music is good and it’s quite dark with red/neon lighting. It’s right next to...Old Street station. I had a nice Chai latte, not too sweet. I was sitting next to the counter though and the woman working there kept shouting ‘service’ really loudly from time to time, making me jump. I get it, but perhaps doesn’t need to be so loud. I would definitely recommend.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 27, 2019 via mobile

Good food and good coffee.Fast service. Group of 4 - only niggle is size of table by the time food and drinks here no space. I had half the plate off the edge of the table.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Vijay2143, Manager at Shoreditch Grind, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2019

Hey Adam, thanks for leaving us your review. It's so awesome to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Shoreditch Grind recently - I'll be sure to pass on your feedback to the relevant team regarding the table space. We look forward to welcoming you...More

Reviewed August 27, 2019 via mobile

We came here for evening drinks from looking at the Instagram pictures and unfortunately didn’t live up to those expectations. Drinks were nice and service was good. However, the vibe was crap. The decor was mediocre (maybe the others are better but the Shoreditch one...looked a bit tired)More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?1  
Vijay2143, Manager at Shoreditch Grind, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you felt Shoreditch did not live up to your expectations. We have a banging playlist so its a shame to hear you felt the vibe was not great. Maybe try one of our other stores and...More

Reviewed August 20, 2019

I went to this place because it was recommended to me by my partner who usually only picks amazing places. I had an oat flat white to go so I can admit that I did not get the 'full experience' but I glimpsed enough to...know it was not for me. The place is decorated in an Instagram friendly trendy manner which may possibly account for the prices which I found to be really steep, even for Shoreditch. Service was ok but the coffee was disappointingly average. I am not above paying more for superb coffee but if I am, it needs to be superb. The roast was far too fruity, on the verge of being sour in a bad way and the milk was bubbly. I wont bother coming backMore

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?1  
Vijay2143, Manager at Shoreditch Grind, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Hi Coffeeconnoisseu, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our coffee offering. We roast our own coffee and take great pride in what we serve but understand this is not to everyones taste. We will pass your...More

Reviewed August 12, 2019

Reasonably priced, cool atmosphere and outstanding coffee. Service OK (the bare minimum you would expect). Will be back

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 10, 2019

Right on top of Old Street tube. Small interior, though a good bit of outdoor seating if weather plays along. Super friendly service, great food and coffee. My only gripe is the loud music. It adds nothing to the experience. If you need music, go...for some smooth jazz, or better still, don't bother.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?1  
Vijay2143, Manager at Shoreditch Grind, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Hi Oransome, really happy you chose grind. Come again soon.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Leonardo Royal London St. Paul's
682 reviews
1.64 km away
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
3,212 reviews
1.60 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton London Angel Kings Cross (Formerly Islington)
2,807 reviews
1.63 km away
Ibis London City - Shoreditch Hotel
4,779 reviews
1.57 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Honest Burgers Old Street
226 reviews
.14 km away
The Nightjar
639 reviews
.08 km away
Daffodil Mulligan
36 reviews
.11 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Wesley's Chapel & Museum of Methodism
129 reviews
.24 km away
Brit Movie Tours
191 reviews
.19 km away
Vegan Food Tours
59 reviews
.05 km away
ARTernative London
274 reviews
.06 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Shoreditch Grind staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing