We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Thu., 10-01
20:00

Ratings and reviews

#547 of 2,606 European in London
#1,274 of 16,828 Restaurants in London
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

  • 15 Sunday Roasts in London Worth Going Out Foreater.com

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

In the hands of owners who respect its history, this ‘progressive working class caterer’ does a fine job of championing gutsy British grub; game is bes...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
The MICHELIN Plate: Good cooking
Simple restaurant; one of our most delightful places.
About
The Quality Chop House has a long history as a provider of hospitality. Once a working men’s ‘eating house’ it offered nourishment and respite for the weary. It is in this spirit that we’d like to welcome you back through our doors. We are now offering three different dining experiences in surroundings reflecting the beauty and history of The Quality Chop House. The first is our Dining Room, For lunch the menu is simple, small and set. For dinner, we want to feed you. Give us your coat, pull up a pew (quite literally) and we’ll take care of the rest. We’ll be offering a 5 course set menu, a progressive feast of our favourite things. You can pick the bottle (but we’ll have some magnums open to
PRICE RANGE
US$8 - US$56
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
European, British
FEATURES
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
217
119
49
24
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
217
119
49
24
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews confit potatoes barnsley chop crab toast treacle tart pollock chops steak chicken wine list st john wine bar main course set menu sparkling water by the glass sunday lunch mince
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed August 9, 2020

We came here few days ago and it was so nice!We ate amazing potatoes in confit with chicken, they were so mouth-watering and delicate! I really advise you to try them if you go there! The waiter was kind and also the desserts were really...lovely!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed July 28, 2020 via mobile

Excellent robust food including game in season - their grouse is deliciously cooked with tasty sides and sauces. The staff are friendly without being in your face. There is a good choice of wines and the dark wooden and tiled decor make for a relaxed...dining experience.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 10, 2020

The menu and cooking were as expected - quality retro food in a retro setting. This is the kind of restaurant where you'd expect to see diners sucking bone marrow. The elegant presentation gives a nod to modernity. However, the food is only one of...three valued aspects in a restaurant, the others being atmosphere and service. For most of our lunch we were alone in the main part of the restaurant - perhaps a better-value lunch option is needed? And the eyewatering bill was not matched by eyewatering service - instead we had the proverbial curate's egg. Let's go back to an old-fashioned ma?tre d', not actresses manquée.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 8, 2020

Everything was above expectations. The starters were unique and flavorful. The Yorkshire puddings were huge and crisp. The waiter was very personable.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 6, 2020

Had made the special trip to the QCH for the Galway mince and confit potatoes. Prior to lunch I spent 15 minutes in the QCH speciality delicatessen, treating myself to some takeaway treats. I started lunch with two delicious croquettes, followed by a heavenly tasting...fish soup. Whilst I couldn’t resist the confit potatoes, 3 of which went home in a doggie back, I opted for the fish dish which was truly delicious. Pollock, served with a caper and breadcrumb crust. This is not the most comfortable of restaurants, but the food is truly scrumptious.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 17, 2020 via mobile

Excellent service from start to finish, knowledgeable and friendly staff. Plenty of choice on the set menu - scope to be adventurous with at least one of the courses. Portions were more generous than typical set menus for the same price. We'll definitely return .

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 8, 2020

Six retired professional men, who meet annually to catch up. This was just about right for us, with a small but well chosen seasonal menu, and a good wine list. The waiter was attentive, and helpful, the food was of good quality, if perhaps a...little overpriced for one or two of the items, but I didn't see anything left on any of the 6 plates! No room for desserts. If I have any complaint some of the Confit Potatoes were hard, and lacked seasoning.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 3, 2020

I had the Mangalitza black pudding and the Game Tea to start, followed by brill as a main course (nice but bony). The food was tasty, the quantities good and the house wine perfectly adequate (a nice touch was that it came by the glass,...1/2 litre carafe or bottle). It was obvious that care and skill had been taken to prepare the meal. The waitresses were friendly and very knowledgeable about the preparation of the food. The only negative was the narrow benches which weren't very comfortable, but that didn't spoil my enjoyment of the food.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 28, 2020

Wonderful traditional and cosy on a cold Friday winter evening. Carnivorousness heaven with good quality steaks and the best chips ( confit potatoes) in town. Small and seasonal menu. Game and fish also on the menu. Excellent red wine choice by very friendly and helpful...waiting staff. Defiantly deserves a return visit.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 23, 2020

We couldn't fault this lovely old restaurant. The food was just divine although the portions were huge. Have at least one big eater with you when you visit. The staff could not have been warmer, friendlier and just delightful people. A joy!

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Pickwick Hall
174 reviews
1.09 km away
Albany Hotel London
27 reviews
1.09 km away
Grange Lancaster Hotel
396 reviews
1.08 km away
Hotel nhow London
57 reviews
1.04 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Wilmington
776 reviews
.14 km away
Cafe Maya
194 reviews
.07 km away
La Petite Ferme
160 reviews
.03 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Postal Museum
1,098 reviews
.26 km away
Exmouth Market
72 reviews
.20 km away
Saint Peter's Italian Church
13 reviews
.27 km away
London Metropolitan Archives
5 reviews
.25 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Michelle H
September 6, 2020|
Answer
Response from JonathanR2237 | Reviewed this property |
I don’t know for sure, but my guess would be no. Probably better to check directly with the restaurant directly on this.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing