We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sun., 09-20
20:00
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

#620 of 2,444 Asian in London
#3,733 of 16,830 Restaurants in London
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$19 - US$39
CUISINES
Asian, Vietnamese, Soups

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

Bustling Vietnamese restaurant offering specialities from all parts of the country. Dishes are generously sized and appealingly priced; their various v...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
The MICHELIN Plate: Good cooking
Simple restaurant
Sponsored by: Cay Tre

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Original Vietnamese Cooking
1. Original Vietnamese Cooking
"As authentic as can be."
WasPY6
See reviews that mention authentic
2. Fresh Ingredients
2. Fresh Ingredients
"The food is great quality and very fresh ."
DeepikaThapliyal
See reviews that mention Fresh
3. Unbeatable Price
3. Unbeatable Price
"taste was amazing and the price was reasonable"
Marg93d
See reviews that mention price
Reviews (646)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveller rating
150
221
119
54
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
150
221
119
54
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pho noodles spring rolls bbq pork bean sprouts chicken pie salad fries vietnamese restaurant clay pot soho lemongrass aubergine chillies pounds
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is definitely My favourite Vietnamese restaurant in Soho, with wide variety of choices and and speedy service.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This restaurant has been on our list for a long time, and we managed to visit there for lunch twice. We ordered Camp Fire Steak with Rice (2.5 star) and Saigon Hawker Rice (5 star). The latter was simply flawless, flavoursome and very tasty. The...char-grilled pork chop in Hawker Rice was lean, tender, smoky and very tasty, and I can eat it every day. The rice was well cooked and the salad was refreshing. Camp Fire Steak had too much onion and the meat was like a stew rather than a steak. The service was friendly and polite, and the setting was clean, modern and relaxing. On our second visit, we tried Beef Pho (3.5 star), which had delicate flavour and had nice amount of beef; Green Papaya Salad (3.5 star) - very refreshing and tasty but small portion was very small; and Imperial Spring Roll (2 star) which was mushy and lacked crunchiness and the salad which came with it was limp and had brown edge. We were disappointed with our second visit as the service wasn't as friendly and the food was mediocre. I'm afraid their price did not justify the quality.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not authentic, nor tasty! I used to come here a lot & really enjoyed their authentic & delicious food but it seems things have changed. I took my mum there for her birthday & the food was awful- it was bland slop. Nothing even remotely...tasted Vietnamese. Even the cocktail I had tasted like toilet cleaner. Waste of money & time. If I had planned it better, I could’ve had a real Vietnamese meal on Kingsland Road. Don’t bother!!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 27, 2020 via mobile

The food was average at best the beef in the pho looked like it came out of a pre sliced supermarket packet, the rice was hard and tasted like it was stale. Complained and got 10% off my bill or 15% off my next visit...I told the manager I would not be returning. If its authentic you want do not go here.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 8, 2020

Was torn between 3 and 4 for this. 3 is no reflection on the great staff. Food was good and prices were ok too, but we were packed in like sardines and the noise levels made conversation difficult. One could not help but look at...the hard surfaces everyone and not wonder if it was not a strategy!More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 29, 2020 via mobile

Went in here by chance, was just passing & I love Vietnamese food, the menu looked great & I could’ve ordered also anything. Nice decor, friendly attentive staff & I must say the food delicious. The best I’ve had outside of Shoreditch which is always...my go to place in London. Will definitely visit againMore

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 26, 2020

We stopped by on a Wednesday night and did not expect it to be so busy! The restaurant is definitely a hot spot, but we were able to squeeze ourselves in there for the 20 minutes quoted wait. What I noticed, however, was the lack...of a waiting system. The server asked how many we had in our party and then just left. After waiting for around 20 minutes, the server took people who came in AFTER us and seated them first. I was pretty annoyed, but he came back and told us we would have to wait one more minute...but it was more than that (shame on me for being fooled!) When we finally got seated and ordered, the server came back from the kitchen told me that they were out of their special (the satay pho) which I thought was strange because it is labeled on their menu as the "Cay Tre Special". It wasn't a problem though because they have a lot of different options on their menu so I opted for the garlic pho, even though I was pretty bummed because I spent 20 minutes and some extra minutes imagining myself eating some satay pho special. Service was extremely quick, however when I got my pho it had absolutely no garlic taste in it--and I wouldn't say my taste buds are burnt out or anything! Luckily, they had some garlic and peppers at the table to spice up my meal which really saved the dish. I can't really say, because I haven't had other Vietnamese places in London, and especially since I am from the states, but I was really bummed out about the restaurant. Overall, terrible service for the night we visited (I do forgive them a little because it seemed like they were a little understaffed) and average food.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 22, 2020 via mobile

The menu can be overwhelming but is organized to help. It was easy to over order since there were several interesting dishes but we did eat it all! Service is very quick so it is not a place to linger!

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 21, 2020 via mobile

First time to visit it here. Interior was comfortable & quite spacious. Abundant variety of food choices on menu & rather value for money especially for set lunch. Portions were quite big. Unfortunately I wouldn’t say the tastes were that authentic but ok. For the...classic beef pho, the soup was a bit light in flavours, but overall it tasted alright while the beef was quite tender. Fresh lime soda was a bit weird as I could hardly taste the lime but brown sugar. Services were quite good.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 13, 2020 via mobile

Great food and friendly service. Bustling restaurant with fresh ingredients and reasonable prices. You can share dishes. Quite noisy.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Soho
The go-to district for a good time in London, Soho
hosts a wealth of world-class theatres and a
compelling lineup of cafes, restaurants, pubs, bars,
and clubs. At Soho's core is London's original Red
Light District and the epicenter of the LGBT scene –
and thus the city's hottest nightlife. For shopping
enthusiasts, Soho is not only the home of London's
greatest concentration of boutique shops, but also the
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Royal Adelphi Hotel
41 reviews
.79 km away
Thistle Holborn Hotel
2,922 reviews
.72 km away
The Westbury Mayfair, A Luxury Collection Hotel, London
1,782 reviews
.76 km away
Sofitel London St James
4,889 reviews
.65 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Honest Burgers Meard St - Soho
2,313 reviews
.05 km away
Robata
248 reviews
.05 km away
Algerian Coffee Stores
173 reviews
.05 km away
Old Compton Brasserie
539 reviews
.05 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Prince Edward Theatre
1,107 reviews
.11 km away
Soho
1,541 reviews
.08 km away
Old Compton Street
77 reviews
.07 km away
Wardour Street
51 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
14taraf
March 24, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Vietnamesekitchen2 | Property representative |
Hi, we are wheelchair accessible but our toilets are unfortunatley down a flight of stairs.
0
Votes
Angeliki263
November 14, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Vietnamesekitchen2 | Property representative |
Hi, yes we have some great set menus perfect for big groups and always cater to large parties.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing