We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
Bookatable

Ratings and reviews

#161 of 517 French in London
#2,668 of 16,824 Restaurants in London
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

The striking 'Gallery' has a smart look from India Mahdavi and artwork from David Shrigley. At dinner the room transmogrifies from art gallery to fashi...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
The MICHELIN Plate: Good cooking
Comfortable restaurant; one of our most delightful places.
About
sketch Gallery, a vibrant gastro-brasserie, is sketch's artist-conceived restaurant. Celebrated British artist, David Shrigley, has transformed the Gallery at sketch as part of a long-term programme of artist-conceived restaurants. 239 New works line the restaurant's walls, forming the largest collection of original drawings Shrigley has ever exhibited. The Gallery is open seven days a week for afternoon tea and dinner.
PRICE RANGE
US$57 - US$83
Special Diets
Vegan Options
Meals
Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
European, French, British, Fusion
FEATURES
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (2,923)
Filter reviews
2,265 results
Traveller rating
1,028
565
296
198
178
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
1,028
565
296
198
178
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sandwiches caviar cake macaroons duck fish and chips risotto afternoon tea pink room david shrigley pod toilets special occasion birthday treat glade egg loos champagne
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

A great afternoon experience with funky decor, 4 courses, fantastic service and amazing food. A trip to the bathroom is a must for a surprise!

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Not sure how Michelin came to arrive at and let Sketch retain its Michelin status. Visited with our 1.5 year old - naturally was enquired if we'd like to have a baby chair and duly promised one on entry to the Parlour....again when presented with...menus....and we have to remind the waitress when our mains arrived only to responded with 'Yes I've got to get it from another room'. Definitely under staffed for a Saturday afternoon crowd and showed with the waitresses truly overwhelmed. There is cost management but there is also quality management. Food was average and pricing wasn't extortionate. But how are they worthy of their stars is highly questionable.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 days ago

We just had amazing lunch today. Food was delicious though slightly small. But the service was first class. So friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Wonderful atmosphere and relaxing.In fact all the staff were lovely. They even noticed it was my birthday and bought...an extra dessert for free. I would recommend a visit thereMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 days ago

I came for dinner with my partner to celebrate his birthday and we left disappointed. My vegan ravioli was so simple and tasteless but my partner enjoyed his truffle spaghetti. We ordered some fries that never arrived. The waiter just gave us the menu and...took the order, he did not even check once if everything was ok. We ordered a dessert as I was still hungry and we understood that complaining about the fries was useless at that point as we did not want them anymore. We told the waiter about the fries and he just give us a vague apology and brought the bill. We both work in hospitality and everybody can make a mistake but it was so disappointing that nothing was done after speaking with the waiter about what happened as it is not a cheap restaurant and the service was so poor. The place is beautiful but we left disappointed and it was a very special occasion for us.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

After having our original booking cancelled due to Covid-19 in April, we were excited to hear Sketch had reopened. Our booking for 12th September 2020 in the Lecture Room and Library was confirmed. Prior to dinner, we had a few drinks in the Glade -...a great start to our evening! When our table was ready the maitre d' took us up to the Lecture Room and Library and showed us to our table. The dining room and ambience was lovely. We both chose the Esprit menu. The amuse bouche was pleasant, but not overwhelming. The first two dishes of our six course taster menu was very disappointing. The third course was delicious! The langoustine was amazing with the well balanced flavours and textures within the elements of the dish. The tide had turned - or so we thought! Courses four, five and six were equally disappointing as the first two courses. The lack of balance of flavours and textures in all but one of the courses was completely missed. The presentation of the dishes did not "wow" either. We have eaten at 1*, 2* and countless starless restaurants and experienced the "wow factor". This was completely missed here. On a positive note, the staff were all fantastic and very attentive. We left Sketch feeling very disappointed with our dining experience.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Overall, I had a fantastic time at Sketch. The interiors are quirky and fun, the famous toilets have novelty value and the staff are brilliant. All staff deliver truly five-star service while remaining down to earth and injecting personality and humour. It pains me to...say the food lets things down a little. When I hear Michelin stars, my expectations are sky high. I may have made a bad choice with my main as my friends ordered meat and were happy with their dishes. However my vegetable ravioli was flimsy and contained very little filling. The sauce, while spot on flavour wise, was very watery and turned the whole thing into a brown soup. If we hadn’t ordered sides, I would have been very hungry. The dessert on the other hand... five stars! The chocolate mousse came recommended and I’m very glad I listened. We dined during eat out to help out, which meant the bill was bearable. However, the prices are sky high and it may be worth reconsidering some of the items on the menu to make sure everything truly is worth the money.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked a table for me and my wife in order to celebrate our 2years marriage anniversary. Everything was perfect!!! Super romantic and nice inside and the staff was literally high class ! I would highly recommend! The food is not cheap but it deserved...all the money!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fast funky and fun Just voice this place for amazing food in a vibrant atmosphere. Girls night here we come!

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I came here looking for an afternoon snack and was recommended the parlour. I decided to go to the bathroom which features futuristic pods. It is a pity however that the toilets In the pods i tried to use were filthy. Upon returning to the...parlour I enquired about obtaining a table and was told abruptly by the bartender that I need to scan my temperature before entering the room. I told him I have done the necessary check in and just needed a table. The sandwiches I ordered were not bad and the set came with coffee. Service was not attentive and I had to ask a few times for water.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For a 3 star Michelin restaurant the food was disappointing (Ive been to several others so know) the decor / ambiance was bland. The service though excellent was incredibly slow (we arrived 6.30 and left around 11pm) The musac was painful to listen to. The...restaurant shares the building with other loud and uncomfortable spaces - Bar etc - not pleasant! The forced champagne on arrival is a rip off. The wine pairing menu (not advertised, is well overpriced as the wine can be bought in the supermarket at a fraction of the price - shocking and not special!) and worst of all is the surprising service charge added to the bill at the end with absolutely no forewarning - this Americanisation should be banned. We had a pleasant time but definitely NOT 3 star worthy ! I will write to Michelin about this. I certainly wouldn't recommend this place.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Mayfair
Set beside some of London's best parks and home to
world-class galleries, luxurious hotels, and famed
thoroughfares, the ultra upscale Mayfair is one of
London's most exclusive haunts. Here the shopping is
haute, the dining is exquisite, and the nightlife is
vibrant. A casual stroll through the area’s chic
streets will reveal that Michelin stars and
chauffeured cars are practically the norm here. Even
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Astor Court Hotel
863 reviews
.79 km away
The Mandeville Hotel
2,614 reviews
.79 km away
Mayfair Guesthouse
15 reviews
.79 km away
Rathbone Hotel
1,406 reviews
.78 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Kanishka by Atul Kochhar
277 reviews
.05 km away
Goodman
2,283 reviews
.06 km away
Pollen Street Social
2,819 reviews
.10 km away
Sketch Lecture Room and Library
965 reviews
.01 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Great Marlborough Street
5 reviews
.08 km away
St. George's Church
24 reviews
.11 km away
The East India Company
61 reviews
.01 km away
Maskontravel
5 reviews
.06 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
annecT4029DD
August 12, 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from John T | Reviewed this property |
Not sure, Just go on-line and look at the different menu offerings. One thing is for sure the food was great and if in any doubt just ask the waiter. The staff were amazing when we went there in June during lock down
0
Votes
Lauren B
November 24, 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from shiranyaa | Reviewed this property |
I would recommend to book a table also for drinks because the place can be very busy at night, especially at weekends. You can try walk in if you don't mind going to another place if the place is too busy.
0
Votes
talia b
November 23, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Anabon | Reviewed this property |
I have no idea about their breakfast but, I would book the pink room. It’s just more unique. Enjoy
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing