We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor: This business is temporarily closed until 2021-03-07

Wright Brothers Soho

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 Update: Local restaurants need your support! Purchase a gift card directly from them and make a difference. Purchase a Gift Card
Reserve a table
2
Sat., 09-26
20:00

Ratings and reviews

#1,301 of 16,827 Restaurants in London
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
About
Wright Brothers is a name synonymous with high quality seafood restaurants. Situated on Kingly Street, between Carnaby and Regent Street, Wright Brothers Soho is an intimate and stylish space with dark green walls, velvet chairs, marble accents and a huge octopus mural on the ceiling. The seafood comes from their very own wholesale company as well as from fisheries around the UK ensuring that only the freshest produce makes the menu. Small plates are the name of the game here, order a few to share or alongside one of their famous shellfish platters. A drinks list includes a comprehensive range of wines, seasonal cocktails and craft beers. In summer guests can dine alfresco in the vibrant Kingly
PRICE RANGE
US$15 - US$32
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Seafood, European
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (770)
Filter reviews
661 results
Traveller rating
303
227
67
40
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
303
227
67
40
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oysters crab whelks razor clams tuna tartare plaice sea bream fries kingly court carnaby street great seafood fish restaurant borough market bloody mary small plates white wine wine list
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

Tastebuds were tantalised. Nothing short of delightful. Highlight on the menu for me was the Galician Octopus because unlike other places I’ve visited and ordered Octopus, Wright Brothers not only had the most flavorsome but they were the most generous with the portion. Our order...read like a feast of sides because it actually was, it’s our new strategy when dining out because it allows you to get a taste of everything whereas with mains you’re boxed in.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 18, 2020 via mobile

This is a fish restaurant. The waitress was very knowledgable and recommended which oysters to have. She also explained in details the various types of oysters and how they vary in taste. Loved the whole experience. I had a lovely fish dish with clams which...was amazing. My husband said he had the best mussels ever.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 22, 2020 via mobile

I have been here with my daughter and enjoyed it so much I wanted to share it with my husband. We booked to go before the theatre. Had a platter of oysters for the special price of £1 each followed by whelks for hubby and...I had king prawn, which were amazing. Then we both had a pot of the largest mussels I’ve have ever seen. All really enjoyed with a nice bottle of Chardonnay. Staff were really attentive and couldn’t do enough for us. Three hours later at the theatre my stomach started churning. The interval couldn’t come quick enough. I spent the next 15 mins on the loo and being sick. I made it back to watch the second half but really struggled with cramps and fear of needing to go to the loo again. The journey home wasn’t much better ??. I was so gutted because I love oysters and really enjoyed the seafood. Not sure if they were opened too soon or were on the turn. I wii go back not sure I’d have the £1 oysters though ??More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
wrightb2015, General Manager at Wright Brothers Soho, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2020

Dear Barney0861 we are very sorry to hear that you were unwell. We do have a strict oyster policy in place and take matters like this incredibly seriously. We would appreciate if we could get in touch to find out more information about your visit....More

Reviewed January 29, 2020 via mobile

More like a drop in social club for the staff than a restaurant. Grandstanding staff chatting looking at mobile phones just generally behaving like they didn't care spoiled our evening!

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 25, 2020 via mobile

Located on a popular Soho street the decor and layout of the restaurant is excellent. The food is great - grilled squid and monkfish tails. The service is very good.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 24, 2020 via mobile

Visited for an early dinner to take advantage of the £1 oyster, unbeatable value especially when you know they are going to be fresh. We opted for the specials, Dover sole and monkfish tails, both outstanding. My only gripe would be the bottle of wine...which we ordered was taken away from our table, which I presume was due to lack of table space, twice we were waiting for our glasses to be filled. I’ll definitely be visiting one of Wright Bros establishments when next in the capital, even if only for the £1 oysters!More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 22, 2020

Went here for a company Christmas dinner with around 15 people. We had a private area downstairs next to the kitchen. Despite pre-ordering food before arrival it was one hour before starters arrived and a further hour before the mains. Even then one order was...incorrect, leaving one person waiting ten minutes while everyone else ate and one order was returned because they received the equivalent of a child′s portion. After 2.5 hours the deserts had not been delivered and I lost patience and left. Food was ok - nothing special - but service was appalling.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

Went back for 2 dozens of the pop oysters - £1 an oyster from 3-6pm - still the best deal in London if you love these molluscs. Perfectly paired with their albari?o wine. The Dover sole was also yummy!

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed January 17, 2020

Booked this as the Borough Market restaurant was fully booked. On arrival shown to table right by the door, which meant every time the door closed our table jumped. Whilst waiting for my brother, more than 10mins passed before I managed to get someones attention...for the menu, then ordering a pint was equally problematic. The food was ok, not as good as Borough Market & the service eventually ok. But felt disappointed. Would not return to this branch.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed January 15, 2020 via mobile

We had a group booking downstairs with a fixed menu, the star of the show was the starters, particularly the razor clam dish which was EXCEPTIONAL. But in general, the service, the food and wine was great. Definitely recommend for a large party

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Soho
The go-to district for a good time in London, Soho
hosts a wealth of world-class theatres and a
compelling lineup of cafes, restaurants, pubs, bars,
and clubs. At Soho's core is London's original Red
Light District and the epicenter of the LGBT scene –
and thus the city's hottest nightlife. For shopping
enthusiasts, Soho is not only the home of London's
greatest concentration of boutique shops, but also the
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
No. 13 Half Moon Street
10 reviews
.81 km away
Flemings Mayfair
2,716 reviews
.81 km away
The Chesterfield Mayfair
4,454 reviews
.79 km away
Hallam Hotel
394 reviews
.81 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Cahoots Underground
2,223 reviews
.03 km away
Le Bab
536 reviews
.01 km away
Senor Ceviche Carnaby
1,144 reviews
.02 km away
Oka Restaurant
880 reviews
.01 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Carnaby Street
1,594 reviews
.06 km away
Be At One Regent Street
5 reviews
.09 km away
Great Marlborough Street
5 reviews
.09 km away
Triyoga
7 reviews
.01 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mrs_ilona
March 3, 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from WrightBrosLtd | Property representative |
Hey Ilona, Our Soho restaurant offers £1 oysters daily from 12pm to 6pm. Our restaurants at Spitalfields, South Kensington and Battersea offer £1 oysters from 3pm - 6pm. The oysters are No.4s which are slightly than our... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing