We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#39 of 1,175 Indian in London
#434 of 16,828 Restaurants in London
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

Expect long queues at this group’s original branch. It’s based on a Bombay café, of the sort opened by Iranian immigrants in the early 20C. Try vada pa...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
The MICHELIN Plate: Good cooking
Simple restaurant
About
TEMPORARILY CLOSED FOR REFURBISHMENT - RE-OPENING SUMMER 2020. The original Bombay cafes have almost all disappeared. Their faded elegance welcomed all: rich businessmen, sweaty taxi-wallas and courting couples. Fans turned slowly. Bentwood chairs were reflected in stained mirrors, next to sepia family portraits. Students had breakfast. Families dined. Lawyers read briefs. Writers found their characters. Opened early last century by Zoroastrian immigrants from Iran, there were almost four hundred cafes at their peak in the 1960s. Now, fewer than thirty remain. Their loss is much mourned by Bombayites.
PRICE RANGE
US$19 - US$32
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Halal, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (6,060)
Filter reviews
5,524 results
Traveller rating
3,269
1,509
441
168
137
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
3,269
1,509
441
168
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chicken ruby naan black daal gunpowder potatoes bhel spicy lamb chops biryani okra calamari mango indian food chai tea worth the wait bombay cafe house chai covent garden long wait
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

33 pound for 10 naan. I love this place but sadly they have hugely increased prices in the last few months . Very very sad .

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 days ago

All I can say is myself and my partner were absolutely silent whilst eating because the food was so tasty! The chef's special is to die for! The staff were great and friendly and made some great recommendations! Whilst we were there a gentleman was...going round disinfecting all the surfaces - handrails, handles etc and our table was disinfected between courses. I hope this place survives COVID, I am sure it will because it was hard to get a table booked! I would recommend eating here and cannot wait to return.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Bacon Naan is the best! The best twist on a British breakfast - Indian spices, flavours and naan bread. I found Dishoom on Time Out as the best breakfast in London and I’d have to agree!

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited ages ago, but thought to write some reviews as I know hospitality is one of the areas that has been impacted with covid-19 and I would hate to see business have to close because of it. But incredible food here, so much flavour...in every dish. Can't wait to go back again.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Outstanding food and service. Went for the first time to the Shoreditch branch for a birthday lunch and ended up going back for dinner! Staff were fantastic without exception, as was each dish.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a;ways my go to for London. It is truly the best spot. I have sampled so many things on the many and have never found anything I did not like.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

In town and saw the queue so joined it. No knowledge of this restaurant before but it’s busy and appeared part of a chain. Service excellent (default charge applied). Sat outside, menu rather limited. Selected a few dishes - biryani very dry, not particularly tasty,...chicken ruby was average as was another dish (can’t remember). Alcohol Drinks grossly overpriced, refused to pay £7.50 for a large bottle of beer! Meal was enjoyable but not ‘blown away’ or ‘wowed’. I won’t return in a hurry, not that it matters them as the demand and hype appears to be well in their favour at the moment.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Dishoom. The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere and the decor is quirky and cool. The waitress was fantastic, offering us suggestions of what to pick. All of her suggestions were very tasty, large portions, and good value for money. Really...enjoyed the lentil Dahl and the prawn starter in particular. The food and drinks arrived quickly, and we enjoyed the cocktails very much. The puddings were interesting, the cinammon ice cream was particularly nice.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Absolutely loved every dish we ordered, absolutely sensational. Tom our waiter was also fantastic and made our experience very enjoyable. Would highly recommend! One of the best Indiana’s!

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 25, 2020

The Kensington establishment has a beautiful Art Deco interior. The whisky sour that I had was delicious. The staff were attentive, kind and understanding, even though my two kids were playful and a little messy. Finally, the food was fantastic particularly the lamb biryani, cooked...in a pie, the okra chips and the kolfi desert. Well worth a visit.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Covent Garden
Whether you're headed here to check out the multitude
of shops, theaters, cafes, pubs, and restaurants, or
simply to be among the multitude of people who pass
through this pretty part of town, you'll love soaking
up the festive and historic atmosphere in and around
Covent Garden. Even if you don't have tickets to the
opera or a show at one of the many famous theaters
here, don't be surprised if find yourself captivated
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Great Scotland Yard
80 reviews
.69 km away
Corinthia London
3,470 reviews
.68 km away
Hotel Cafe Royal
2,059 reviews
.67 km away
Gresham Hotel
596 reviews
.66 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Steak & Co St Martins Ln
2,475 reviews
.08 km away
28-50 Wine Bar & Kitchen Covent Garden
90 reviews
.02 km away
Curry House CoCo Ichibanya
58 reviews
.07 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
St. Martins Theatre
365 reviews
.06 km away
The Arts Theatre
442 reviews
.05 km away
Ambassadors Theatre
148 reviews
.07 km away
Grosvenor Prints
6 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ljohnson10655
January 17, 2020|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from meeshleboeuf | Reviewed this property |
I believe they can, they made a point to ask what our allergies were at the beginning of the meal
0
Votes
emmabC1883QQ
January 25, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Deina2015 | Reviewed this property |
Not quite sure.
0
Votes
wineguy76
December 26, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from kimberly_biglife | Reviewed this property |
Probably not. They pride themselves on their bar!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing