We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
Bookatable

Ratings and reviews

#22 of 517 French in London
#280 of 16,824 Restaurants in London
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

The kitchen at Gordon Ramsay’s sophisticated Belgravia restaurant clearly has a deep appreciation for classic French cuisine but isn’t afraid of adding...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
One MICHELIN Star: High quality cooking, worth a stop!
Very comfortable restaurant; one of our most delightful places.
About
Set between Belgravia and Knightsbridge, Petrus by Gordon Ramsay is a Michelin starred restaurant serving exceptional modern French cuisine. With a spectacular circular dining room boasting a floor-to-ceiling wine cellar at it's heart, Petrus by Gordon Ramsay offers exquisite wines from across the world, including vintages from its namesake Chateau Petrus. Open from Wednesday to Sunday, explore the restaurant's seasonal menus including A La Carte, Lunch, Kitchen Table and Prestige Menu.
PRICE RANGE
US$70 - US$153
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
French, European
FEATURES
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Wine and Beer
Reviews (4,030)
Filter reviews
3,524 results
Traveller rating
2,728
460
215
72
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
2,728
460
215
72
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amuse bouche tasting menu foie gras parfait petit fours beef wellington pork lobster bread ice cream filet chef's table pre dessert the set lunch menu special occasion michelin star between courses
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago

On the recommendation of a friend, we came here for a special meal and had a wonderful experience! The tasting menu was absolutely delicious, and the selection of wines was perfect. We also were invited to see the kitchen which we thought was a nice...touch. As it was my husband's birthday, the restaurant hand signed a card for him too which was really thoughtful, the service is excellent. The only recommendation I would give, is to book a late table - we were booked in for 8pm, but when we were seated we were surprised to see young children on several of the tables / adults that weren't in the dress code - i.e. trainers, more casual clothes. Michelin meals are an extra special treat for us, so this slightly changed the atmosphere at the start of the meal, but this didn't detract from the great experience we had as those tables cleared within around 45 mins.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Excellent Michelin star restaurant with stunning dishes & great wines, obviously fine dining does not come cheap but if you like top quality food with top produce you will love Petrus. The decor is a little neutral & maybe the ambiance could be a little...more relaxing with better lighting.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

Came here for an anniversary, was exceptional service and outstanding food. We had a few tasters along with the meal which made the experience even better. Each course was 100% and staff were so kind and attentive. Will definitely be going back.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There are very few dining occasions in life that are truly out of this world - Petrus is one of them. Utterly exquisite food, perfect setting and fabulous service. The best dining experience of our life- 1000%. Go on: treat yourself

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Probably the most attentive service I have ever experienced, and possibly the best food ever experienced. Really amazing 'artwork' by the chefs.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came here for our dinner on a Friday night and had come here for lunch a few years back so we didn’t know what to expect for dinner but we knew it wouldn’t disappoint. We had arrived early and thought we’d perhaps wait and...just soak up the atmosphere but to our surprise, our table was ready early so we sat down and as we were celebrating, we had a couple of glasses of champagne. This started our meal off nicely. We both went for the prestige menu; my husband started off with gazpacho, foie gras, scallops, cod then beef for the main and for myself as I’m vegetarian; gazpacho, heirloom tomatoes with chickpea fritter, confit organic egg with veloute, brassicas and spelt and mushroom ragout for main. We were both extremely happy with each of our dishes, with the beef being my husband’s favourite and mine the egg and mushroom ragout. We wanted a wine pairing with our menu and the sommelier was absolutely incredible. I’ve forgotten his name, however, but was very knowledgeable and recommended great wines. We spent a good 5 hours here and really loved the atmosphere. Dessert was amazing and we both had a honey and lemon parfait. If you have the time and want to splurge a little to have great wines with your dinner, I do recommend leaving it to the sommelier and just trusting their choices. A couple were out of our price range but the sommelier had no problem with this and recommended the appropriate wines and were given plenty of choice. A lovely and incredible dinner! Thank you to the team that served us that evening!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great food, in odd coronavirus times. He knows how to charge though, and even though the staff were hard done by in lockdown, they were super professional. I do hate paying 15% service though. I might well have left extra because of recent times, but...not that as standard.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As always I rate this as one of the best fine dining restaurants in London. This was my first visit post-lockdown and on balance probably the best lunch I’ve ever had there, so I think they’ve raised the bar. I went for the three course...à la carte with wine. Amazing service, excellent attention to detail and still one of the loveliest restaurant interiors in London. Petrus is always a pleasurable experience. The lobster that I had for starter was divine - better than the lobster I’d had a few weeks before in Normandy! The staff are charming and on the top of their game, so just about everything here is top-notch. It’s not cheap but then I’m recommending it for the gastronomic experience not for saving money - this is one of the best restaurants in London after all...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our second visit to this spectacular restaurant. From the minute you walk through the door until the minute you leave you are treated by all the stuff here like royalty. The standard of the food and service was faultless. We ordered off the taster menu...which was so good and then finished with wine and coffee outside. The stuff were so friendly. We will definitely be coming back in the near future! Thanks to all the staff at Petrus for making our lunch an unforgettable one!!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 15, 2020 via mobile

Fantastic venue. Exquisite food served from a tantalising menu. The ambience was aimed at being relaxed but spoiled a bit by slightly too invasive staff for my liking. We booked our table for 7pm, so quite early. There was only 3 other occupied tables when...we arrived so all the staff didn't have much to do, this, along with it being very quiet, put us on edge slightly as it felt as though the staff were watching us eating. I'm sure they weren't but it can be unnerving and it detracted slightly from an otherwise perfect anniversary dinner. As the evening moved on and the restaurant was filled then the problem disappeared as staff were much busier. We ordered from the a la carte menu which although was 3 courses, when you add the canapés, gazpacho soup, amuse bouche and the hand made chocolates, that totals 7 courses. I have a large appetite and was pleasantly satisfied. The reason we didn't order from the six course "prestige menu" was because it had frois gras as one of the courses that could not be changed and my wife and I do not (knowingly) encourage animal cruelty. With 2 bottles of water, 1 small glass of house red and a digestif each and with the already added 15% service charge (which I think is a bit cheeky as tips should be at the discretion of the customer and not for a restaurant to dictate the amount), the bill came to approximately £350. To summarise, a lovely venue and fantastic food as you would expect from a Michelin starred restaurant. I fully recommend it and will return.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Belgravia
Home to the vast majority of embassies and diplomatic
residences in London, sophisticated and upscale
Belgravia also boasts a wealth of luxury hotels, fine
dining restaurants, and some of the city’s most stroll
worthy lanes. While the prices here are high, taking a
leisurely stroll through the streets of picturesque
and elegant white stucco houses is free. Hyde Park and
the Buckingham Palace Gardens are only a stone's throw
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
316 reviews
1.07 km away
Grosvenor House Suites by Jumeirah Living
543 reviews
1.06 km away
47 Prince's Gardens Guest Rooms & Apartments
59 reviews
1.05 km away
The Rembrandt
3,463 reviews
1.02 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Rib Room Bar & Restaurant
490 reviews
.20 km away
Mosimann's Club
185 reviews
.07 km away
Amaya
1,563 reviews
.04 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Harvey Nichols
401 reviews
.33 km away
Chelsea
170 reviews
.25 km away
Sloane Street
73 reviews
.28 km away
Belgrave Square Garden
13 reviews
.34 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
N7670WBkatiec
August 5, 2020|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from PaulNCKent | Reviewed this property |
You won’t fine much at £30. The Sommelier is honest, just tell them your budget and ask them to recommend something to match your food. You might find that, on this occasion, one glass of something good is better than... More
0
Votes
Judith F
March 10, 2020|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from leisurelover777 | Reviewed this property |
I think that we had the set menu on a Thursday afternoon. Don't know if it's available at the weekend.
1
Vote
rubiesandthorns
March 7, 2020|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from gwhitegeog | Reviewed this property |
Yes, smart jeans
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing