We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sat., 09-26
20:00

Ratings and reviews

#569 of 2,421 Bar in London
#3,093 of 16,827 Restaurants in London
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Location and contact

Covent Garden
0.4 km from Trafalgar Square
Improve this listing
About
Fishworks – Covent Garden is an absolute essential for seafood lovers. The restaurant offers a traditional wet fish counter where you can buy fish to take home or to dine in our stylish interiors. Enjoy oysters and Champagne at our open Oyster bar or chose from our tasty a la carte menu. From deliciously simple Dover sole to a traditional Fish and Chips, there is something for everyone to enjoy.
PRICE RANGE
US$38 - US$64
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, Mediterranean, European
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Table Service, Wine and Beer
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
74
27
19
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
74
27
19
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scallops seafood bouillabaisse fresh fish lemon tart dover sole sea bass soup side salad bread chilli potatoes ice cream loch fyne pre theatre theatre land nice fish restaurant
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed March 15, 2020

This place will always get trade as it is in theatreland. But at these prices, it is poor. A half full restaurant should not be serving food that is not hot. That said the service was otherwise very good. But the fish soup was tepid...and lacked depth and seasoning, the seafood in the linguine was mostly overcooked and bland, the apple crumble was average. If you want a good meal avoid this place.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 13, 2020 via mobile

This is my favourite branch of Fishworks. It’s lovely and bright and in a prime position in the heart of Covent Garden theatre land. I had bought a TimeOut voucher for a seafood platter and 2 glasses of prosecco for £29 which seemed like tremendous...value. It was! I was in the area for a meeting today and decided to polish the lot off myself. Well, we do live in worrying times and it is Friday 13th ..... so I thought I’d live a little. Lovely, friendly service as usual.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed March 11, 2020 via mobile

We were going to watch Les Miserables and decided to book a restaurant in Covent Garden before the show. I saw the fish works advertised in a London booklet as a pre theatre restaurant. I booked on line and the set cost was 2 courses...£16.50 and 3 courses £20.50. There was a small but set menu my husband had fish soup starter and we had black bream main course. I had the panna cotta and my husband had the lemon tart. The food and service were excellent and it was a great start to a lovely evening.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 11, 2020

Went to Fishworks for lunch having had a really good meal there before. Hardly anyone in there but not only was the service very slow but two arrogant young women who were clearly management sat very close by us glued to surfing on their laptops...throughout our time there ignoring eye contact even when all we were trying desperately to achieve was delivery of the bowl of olives we had ordered. We might be a bit older than their target customer but we have spending power which they should not forget. Will not return.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 10, 2020

Good value set menu. We had a tasty scallop starter but we found the tuna main was terribly salty. Zingy lemon tart and delicious raspberry sorbet rounded it off nicely. We had a very acceptable;e muscadel wine. However I subsequently got a message from Open...table suggesting I had 'not honoured the booking' which was annoying.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 6, 2020 via mobile

Great atmosphere, good service ... but a place like this should offer the best seafood in town which clearly was not the case with us. Platter for 2 was a bit small portioned and all the mussels / Vongole and crab / scampi were so...cold they all tasted of ... very little. We made the remark but the restaurant seemed to disagree. We will look for other places for our favourite seafood !More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 5, 2020 via mobile

We hadn’t booked but we were lucky enough to get a table. I recommend you book especially at the weekend. The service was excellent and the food tasty. Tables a bit small but it’s a very busy place. Many guests had the fish and chips...which looked really nice but we opted for the seafood platter and it was very good and I recommend the fresh oysters.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
FishworksManagement, Marketing at Fishworks - Covent Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2020

Hi Phi W, Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you had a great time with us at Fishworks and enjoyed your meal ! We do tend to get quiet busy on Saturdays so I definitely suggest booking a table next time or...More

Reviewed March 2, 2020

After having a very good meal at Fishworks in Swallow Street, we were very disappointed with our visit to this Fishworks after our visit to the theatre. The 'manager' was very off-hand and told us as we were being seated, that there were no mussels,...oysters or crab unless we had the Fruit de Mers. This was apparently because they were busy on the previous Saturday night. The 'manager' couldn't have cared less and so we left, not to return (to this one).More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 1, 2020

We have eaten here before as far back as when this was called Loche Fynne. The atmosphere is good and the food is excellent. They could do with fixing the air venting which intermittently blasts some customers with a blast of cold air depending a...bit on where you are sitting in the restaurant.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
FishworksManagement, Manager at Fishworks - Covent Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2020

Hi 722Jon, Thank you for your kind review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us at Fishworks and we can certainly re-sit you to a different table next time if you feel too cold-I suppose you were sitting closer to the...More

Reviewed February 24, 2020

This was a pre-theatre meal and my partner and I couldn't fault the food, service or location. Eleanora, our waitress was excellent. She was very friendly and attentive and professional. We both had prawns for starters, which were delicious, followed by fish and chips for...the main course. For dessert lemon tart and my partner had espresso panna cotta. Both were excellent. Would certainly recommend Fishworks and go back if we were in the area again.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
FishworksManagement, Manager at Fishworks - Covent Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2020

Hi Ruth G, Thank you for your kind review, great to hear you had a good time in here ! We're looking forward to see you back with us soon! Have a fantastic day, Kind Regards, Rea

View more reviews
Best nearby
Covent Garden
Whether you're headed here to check out the multitude
of shops, theaters, cafes, pubs, and restaurants, or
simply to be among the multitude of people who pass
through this pretty part of town, you'll love soaking
up the festive and historic atmosphere in and around
Covent Garden. Even if you don't have tickets to the
opera or a show at one of the many famous theaters
here, don't be surprised if find yourself captivated
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
3,931 reviews
.86 km away
Gresham Hotel
596 reviews
.86 km away
The Trafalgar St. James
844 reviews
.86 km away
The Bloomsbury
4,408 reviews
.83 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Champagne+Fromage - Covent Garden
674 reviews
.06 km away
Grays and Feather Wine Parlour
99 reviews
.06 km away
Cote Brasserie
2,996 reviews
.03 km away
Bella Italia
1,069 reviews
.05 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Novello Theatre
856 reviews
.04 km away
Theatre Royal Drury Lane
1,077 reviews
.07 km away
Duchess Theatre
759 reviews
.03 km away
Lyceum Theatre
1,120 reviews
.09 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Departure06451278101
December 13, 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Shawn S | Reviewed this property |
from their website open 10.00 am to 10.pm weekdays
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing