We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sun., 09-20
20:00
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

#4,434 of 16,830 Restaurants in London
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Chinese, Asian, Taiwanese
Meals
Lunch, Dinner

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

A fun, canteen-style dim sum restaurant with a bustling atmosphere and a no-bookings system; the first London branch of this successful Taiwanese expor...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
The MICHELIN Plate: Good cooking
Simple restaurant
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveller rating
118
95
103
62
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
118
95
103
62
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dumplings xiao long bao chilli crab won ton pork chop pancakes covent garden dim sum restaurant asian food wait for a table pounds
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago

This place served me the best food I’ve ever had in the UK! I felt so looked after by the lovely staff before I even sat down. I would 100% recommend to anyone! Whilst the prices may look disproportionate to the size of the servings,...I ate two of the small dishes and was full up despite being a young guy who usually eats his body weight in food. Best food I’ve had in a very long time definitely recommend it!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

I have been a fan of Din Tai Fung since 2015. I usually went to its restaurants in Bangkok. Its sweet and sour soup is uniquely delicious but when I had it in London this time, the taste was too bland and even not as...good as takeaway ones. I was very disappointed. Wanton noodle soup was not tasty either. Xiao Long Bao is okay-ish. Because it is a chain restaurant, my expectation of the taste would be the same around the world but it failed me. I really hope they improve on this issue, or elseI won't visit to London DTF again.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 days ago

The authenticity and quality of the Chinese food was good but for what we had it was expensive. The inside of the restaurant is nicely done and is spacious and bright. Worth a visit but recognise that you're paying over the odds because of the...location of this restaurant.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I love this place and I’m glad Covid hasn’t changed it. Yes you have to order via your phone and yes you have to pay upfront but the service is the same, if not better and the food is still hot & delicious. Yes some...dishes have been removed from the menu to make it simple for the staff but that it. I’m not sure about the other reviews about rude staff because today ours were amazing. We will always go back. Time & time again.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

AMAZING FOOD NEED TO GO HERE. Julia was amazing and gave amazing service. Many thanks and we’ll be back soon!

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great Chinese dinner in the heart of London! The food is great and the staff is kind, the restaurant is very nice and clean. Prices in line with the quality and type of cuisine. Highly recommended

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

No flavour. Bland. Small portions. Felt like ordering a takeaway and eating it outside.... at least then I could choose a decent takeaway. Typical tourist trap. Annoyed we fell for it.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We discovered this Taiwanese restaurant chain in Hong Kong last November. There they proudly display their Michelin * award for their steamed dumplings with pork and gravy inside. So we were delighted to find they have a restaurant in Covent Garden, their first in Europe....We enjoyed an excellent meal. We started with wood ear mushrooms, and green beans with tiny bacon bits - both delicious and not filling. For our main courses we picked their signature dish pork xiau long bao (a delectable triumph),a chilli crab bun, and crispy gold prawn pancake (another delight). The pork xiau long bao was so good we ordered more. For dessert we had mango and pomelo whipped together into a perfect tangy finish. We drank a merlot from Pays d’oc which was surprisingly good, and at £25, fair value in today’s London. Bill for 2 was £92.59, including 12.5% service. And service was excellent too.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

Solicitous and helpful staff. Airy, large restaurant. Excellent dumplings of all kinds and various other kinds of tasty and well presented Taiwanese food. Had a really enjoyable meal in pleasant surroundings. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Didn’t put any pressure on us...to leave, although we outstayed allotted time. Will definitely return to this restaurant.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this place as the daughter had been recommended it by friends. Ordering and paying was simple via the app, and although it was difficult to decide on the amount of food to order we got it about right. We had a Prawn toast style...dish (which was delicious), some crab dim sum, some soup dumplings, some noodles in a satay style sauce, and some other dim sum. It was the first time I'd had soup dumplings, and was impressed with the texture and flavour. Very enjoyable meal, and even with a couple of drinks each was very good value for central London.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Covent Garden
Whether you're headed here to check out the multitude
of shops, theaters, cafes, pubs, and restaurants, or
simply to be among the multitude of people who pass
through this pretty part of town, you'll love soaking
up the festive and historic atmosphere in and around
Covent Garden. Even if you don't have tickets to the
opera or a show at one of the many famous theaters
here, don't be surprised if find yourself captivated
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
1,670 reviews
.81 km away
Ham Yard Hotel
1,271 reviews
.81 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
3,826 reviews
.81 km away
Sofitel London St James
4,889 reviews
.78 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Oystermen Seafood Bar & Kitchen
1,235 reviews
.03 km away
Chez Antoinette
897 reviews
.05 km away
Sticks'N'Sushi Covent Garden
2,399 reviews
.04 km away
Whittard of Chelsea Covent Garden Tea Bar
316 reviews
.05 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Covent Garden
24,730 reviews
.08 km away
Kinky Boots at Adelphi Theatre
2,686 reviews
.12 km away
Adelphi Theatre
257 reviews
.10 km away
St. Paul's Church (The Actors' Church)
166 reviews
.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
MancMongoose
December 13, 2019|
Answer
Response from TopmaninHongKong | Reviewed this property |
No it’s not legal
0
Votes
barbarajillo
October 9, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from chenwaic2015 | Reviewed this property |
I only been to 2 of them , one in China point branch the other was marina bay. I’d prefer the one in China point .
1
Vote
NoBSNoFilter
October 6, 2019|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from barbarajillo | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I can’t help as I haven’t been to the others , I will be in Singapore later this year so if I go I’ll let you know which I like best .
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing