We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor: This business is temporarily closed until 2021-01-05

Kutir

Claimed
Save
Share
MICHELIN 2020
COVID-19 Update: Local restaurants need your support! Purchase a gift card directly from them and make a difference. Purchase a Gift Card
Reserve a table
2
Mon., 09-21
20:00

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

A pretty end-of-terrace townhouse in an elegant Chelsea street; there’s a lively buzz throughout the various smart yet cosy rooms – if you’re on a date...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
The MICHELIN Plate: Good cooking
Comfortable restaurant
About
KUTIR, meaning 'COTTAGE' in Sanskrit, draws inspiration from the royal tradition of hunting expedition in the luscious forests and jungles if the Indian countryside. The food is representative o the feasting-style, convivial and celebratory dining the occurs on these retreats. Kutir pays homage to India's rich heritage and wildlife - with a modern menu inspired by the history and splendour of this magnificent part of the world. Kutir’s story is taken from a time when innovation with ingredients was paramount. Chefs were expected to craft unique dishes on a daily basis to keep the cottage’s guests happy. Step into Kutir and we will transport you to a time of magnificent wildlife, abundant forestry
PRICE RANGE
US$26 - US$84
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Indian
FEATURES
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Wine and Beer, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
91
15
9
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
91
15
9
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews naan truffle quail tasting menu aloo tikki guinea fowl dhokla lamb shank curry morels soft shell crab rosé sea bass valrhona chocolate mango starters and mains rice curries
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed March 20, 2020

We chose to celebrate our wedding anniversary here, not knowing that it was about to close for Covid-19. In fact we were there on the final evening, Very sad to see just two other tabls occupied, but that was just a sign of the times....The food was excellent as before. Imaginative reworkings of old favourites like aloo tikki; salmon tandoori tikka; slow-cooked venison; and guinea fowl biryani. All delicious. I so look forward to the reopening of this wonderful restaurant.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 19, 2020

Had the set lunch which has a good range of choice and reasonable value at £27 for 3 courses. Started with a very nicely cooked piece of salmon followed by the chicken tikka masala with breads and dhal and a very nicely presented chocolate and...banana rich mousse. Restaurant itself is in a beautiful Chelsea townhouse with both lovely decor and crockeryMore

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 4, 2020 via mobile

Average food and expensive good service I have had better Indian food for less money but then it is just off kings roadMore

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
kutirchelsea, General Manager at Kutir, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2020

Dear Smilernige, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. It's very disappointing that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. I would request you to contact me directly on prem@kutir.co.uk to investigate the details further. We look forward to welcoming you back...More

Reviewed January 25, 2020 via mobile

Had an amazing meal here for my 25th birthday with my boyfriend. Decor is so beautiful and the food absolutely amazing too. Good portions and value for money - lots of seafood and veggie options too! Definitely a special place.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
kutirchelsea, General Manager at Kutir, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2020

Dear Nicolepd95, Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience at Kutir. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests soon. Yours in service,

Reviewed January 22, 2020

Kutir is expensive, but it is worth every penny. We had an exceptional lunch. We have eaten at many Indian restaurants, but the menu at Kutir was almost entirely unfamiliar to us. Dishes come from many different parts of the Subcontinent, and vary considerably in...taste and texture. Our starters were lamb chops marinated in yogurt and cumin, with an onion salad, and tandoori salmon. Both dishes were subtly flavored, and slightly piquant. They were also slightly more done than we would have preferred them, and it would have been nice if the server had asked us about our preference. Both entrees were wonderful. A bass fillet came in a rich, thick pumpkin-colored sauce with a hint of pepper. Wild duck came in a generous portion, and was a lot less fatty than farm-raised ones. The sauce was complex and memorable, somewhat reminiscent of a Mexican mole. The downside of the duck was a few bits of buckshot here and there. Service is friendly enough, though not very helpful in navigating this unfamiliar menu. The small dessert menu did not entice us. Anyway, this is a worthy place to dine on a special occasion.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
kutirchelsea, General Manager at Kutir, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2020

Dear WMSME, Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience at Kutir. Your highly valuable feedback would encourage us to improve our services standards consistently. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests soon. Yours in service,

Reviewed January 22, 2020

I recently visited Kutir with my parents for dinner to celebrate a personal milestone. I can say that it was the right decision to make as me and my family really enjoyed the quality of the food and the care put into it. The environment...was very pleasant and welcoming and so were the staff. Overall I had a fantastic evening and will definitely be visiting again.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
kutirchelsea, General Manager at Kutir, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2020

Dear sonika r, Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience at Kutir. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests soon. Yours in service,

Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

A great setting, great service and very tasty food. In particular we enjoyed the take on the menu. It was quite different, with interesting takes on classic dishes. Lovely atmosphere. The cocktails were ok, not amazing, but still a fantastic meal!

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
kutirchelsea, General Manager at Kutir, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2020

Dear ltuts Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience at Kutir. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests soon. Yours in service,

Reviewed January 13, 2020

The best Indian restaurant in London at the moment. Having dined here several times, I can say that the quality of the expedition menus served is definitely on Michelin-level. Only the guide doesn't seem to realise this yet.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?2  
kutirchelsea, General Manager at Kutir, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2020

Dear Jens_Olesen, Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience at Kutir. It's always a great pleasure to welcoming and serving your and your guests, We look forward to seeing you soon. Yours in service,

Reviewed January 11, 2020 via mobile

Set in a Victorian house, Kutir has a cosy but classy balance that makes it perfect for a special meal. We were sat on the first floor in a small room with two other couples in a room with a beautiful fireplace and a large...window opening out to a courtyard. The service was friendly and polite without being overbearing - a balance many fine dinning restaurants do not manage to get right. We ordered quickly, as this is a place we had been wanting to try for a while, I had nosed around the website beforehamd to review their food and wine options. The food arrived quickly and was presented beautifully in generous portions. As vegetarians, there was ample for us to choose from. My favourite starter was the Dhokla with apple - the texture of the Dhokla was unreal and its soft and fluffy texture and spicy taste was complemented so well with the crunchy apples and sour tamarind combination. The Aloo tikki was another favourite, and the cauliflower khastas were unusual with a delicious but unexpected taste. Kutir has a lovely wine selection. We opted for a Gruner from New Zealand to start, followed by a spectacular 2015 blend Dr Bordeaux with our mains. Both were reasonably priced for this kind of restaurant and available by the glass, carafe or bottle. For the mains, we opted for two to share with a selection of breads and some raita. The two curries had a beautiful flavour and balance though I was a little unusual about the texture of the paneer. The second one, was a stunning combination of lotus root, Kale and dumplings that I thoroughly enjoyed. The selection of breads was delicious and the onion flavoured raita combined the entire meal into something quite beautiful! While we bursting at the seams by this point (portiom sizes were generous across all we had eaten so far), we persisted and opted for two decadent desserts! We were not disappointed. The Falooda was exceptional in both taste and appearance, and the Cassata was like nothing I have ever eaten before - the rose and mango flavours were so clever and a lovely way to add an Indian twist on this Italian classic. And that marked the end to a wonderful birthday meal for me! We walked back to the station in silence, still reveling in the wonderful culinary experience we had just had... When we did manage to speak, it wD only to agree that this is a place we would love to visit again. Thank you, Kutir! And see you soon.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
kutirchelsea, Owner at Kutir, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2020

Dear Urvi S, Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with incredible details. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests soon. Yours in service, Kutir Team

Reviewed January 10, 2020

I made a reservation for dinner based on the excellent reviews I've seen here. We rang the bell to be let in and were greeted by a friendly host who offered to take our jackets. We had been travelling all day and perhaps weren't dressed...to our dinnertime best, but were not made to feel out of place. The place is well-decorated in blue tones and lovely floral prints on the wall. One of the dining rooms has a large skylight that I imagine is great during the day though it was dark at the time we went. The service is professional and friendly without being pretentious, though I'd recommend they offer to explain the menu first rather than us realizing we had a lot of questions on the dishes. I found the small dishes/starters to be the highlight of the menu and demonstrated the thought and quality that goes into the dishes. We loved the quail egg and truffle naan as well as the morels. Another table ordered the lamb chops which looked fantastic. (As a side note, I found the tables too close together, which made it awkward in terms of being able to hear every word of our neighbors' conversations and to get in and out of my seat). I think the next time I visit, I'll focus primarily on these and get a taste of all of them. The mains were fine, but I enjoyed the appetizers much more. The dessert was the weakest link - we had the Christmas pudding samosas and did not enjoy it much though the presentation was nice. Overall, we had a lovely time here and found ourselves wanting to return!More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
kutirchelsea, Owner at Kutir, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2020

Dear eltravelnotes, Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with incredible details. Your feedback is shared with the team and we look forward to welcoming you and your guests soon. Yours in service, Kutir Team

View more reviews
Best nearby
Chelsea
Wealth courses through The King's Road, Chelsea's
upmarket artery of West London life packed with shops,
eateries and glitzy nightspots. For people-watching at
its best and luxury retail therapy that's largely
unrivalled, this area cannot be missed. But if this
showy street starts to overwhelm or a moment of price
tag shock sends you reeling, a quick detour down
pretty much any of many King's Road veins will reveal
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Artist Residence London
306 reviews
1.16 km away
The Gainsborough Hotel
587 reviews
1.17 km away
Eccleston Square Hotel
831 reviews
1.15 km away
Cherry Court Hotel
586 reviews
1.15 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Five Fields
1,298 reviews
.01 km away
The Black Penny - Sloane Square
54 reviews
.24 km away
Manicomio
588 reviews
.15 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Saatchi Gallery
1,788 reviews
.22 km away
Sloane Square
154 reviews
.27 km away
Royal Court Theatre
97 reviews
.35 km away
Tutankhamun Exhibition
923 reviews
.22 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
bthakker
January 31, 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Kutir R | Property representative |
We can accommodate max 16 guests in a private dining room.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing