We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sun., 09-20
20:00

Ratings and reviews

#1,826 of 2,609 European in London
#6,183 of 16,830 Restaurants in London
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
European
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
30
20
12
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
30
20
12
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones chocolate mousse scallops bread set menu kensington
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 23, 2019

Peridot is the restaurant at the very grand Bentley's Hotel in Kensington. You don't encounter many hotels like this one nowadays, for it takes you back to an earlier era when traditional décor was at its height. The restaurant is as equally grand as the...hotel itself - a green room with ornate chairs and fixtures, formal perhaps but also very comfortable. There is a very good set menu at £25 for two courses and £30 for three which may be ordered at lunch or early evening. We began with some tasty canapes of Beef ragu & saffron arancini, and Tomato bruschetta. Starters offered a Goat's cheese tortellini soup, Loch Fyne scallops or Super Food Salad. The scallops were deliciously served with celeriac, apple and hazelnuts and the Salad comprised quinoa, beetroot, feta cheese and broccoli etc. Both dishes were heartily enjoyed and made a good start to our lunch. For the main course my guest chose Stuffed chicken breast with tomatoes, potatoes, spinach and a good tomato jus. My Salmon fillet was just perfect, meaty and dense and full of flavour with leeks, new potatoes and spinach. The other option was Mushroom ravioli. Our desserts of Chocolate mousse with salted caramel ice cream, and the Apple tart with strawberries, ice cream and shortbread both hit the spot at the end of a very delectable lunch. The fine food, the gentle ambience and the willing service were all quite exceptional.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 4, 2019

We were so disappointed by tea at the orangery I went looking for another near where we staying and discovered this place. I didn't read reviews ahead of time just gambled that a hotel like the Bentley would have good food and I was so...delighted. The day and time we went the place was virtually empty so we were able to take tea on a comfortable couch table. The place was quiet and they had some jazz playing softly in background. The service was exquisite and the food very tasty. The sandwiches had the perfect bread to ingredient ratio so could taste everything and not be dry. The scones were served warm and the desserts had a lot of variety. I'm sure its tough to compete with places that market themselves as just for tea so maybe this place gets overlooked but I thought it was perfectMore

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed March 9, 2019

The place is just wonderful, the food is as expected and the staff is very professional. The only negative side is that there were no other customers in the restaurant at the time we were eating. But, to be true, we didn't miss them... we...went around to do photos because of the wonderful surroundings.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed February 16, 2019

The place was quiet but there was a nice little atmosphere. We were greeted by Ahmed who took great care of us and really made the experience a pleasant one. I would say though one thing that made the evening feel a little less 5*...was the menu. It was laminated and just felt a bit tacky. Should be on a good quality style paper. Apart from that the menu was nice, the food was lovely and the portion sizes were really good. Overall would come back but invest in a better looking menu.More

Date of visit: February 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 19, 2018 via mobile

We booked with our Groupon voucher which included canapés a glass of Prosecco each, starters mains and a dessert. We arrived at the time for which we booked @ 7:15 and was both seated soon after, we had our canepés served at 8pm, which was...strange as these should be on arrival or very soon after. That said they were very nice. We both went for the Scallops for starters, the chicken for the main and the trio of Chocolate for dessert. We couldn't fault the food at all and the service from our waiter Andreas was good. The only negative would be that we were pretty much the only table in the restaurant so our evening was lacking a little surrounding ambience. Other than that we had great food and service. I would give this a strong 7 out of 10.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed October 10, 2018

The hotel reeks of neglect. The restaurant could be great but the music which is played from an iphone the beaten and worn chairs and i could carry on ... makes this place just meh the food is not very good either. definitely not worth...the price.More

Date of visit: May 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed August 19, 2018

I had a Virgin Experience Voucher to have afternoon tea at the Peridot restaurant at the Bentley Hotel. When we arrived we were asked where would like to sit in the restaurant and we chose one of the sofas at the edge of the room...- this was a good choice as it was very comfortable and we had a good view of the restaurant (good for people watching!). The restaurant looks quite dated but I think it is more to match the decor of the hotel - it looked OK just not to my taste. We started off with a large glass of champagne which was very nice, and was then offered a menu with different types of teas we could chose from. They then brought out the food - some dainty sandwiches, a lovely selection of mini cakes and finally the scones. All the food was very nice and we were pleasantly full at the end! Service was a little slow at the start (I think they had forgotten about us once we had been seated) but this was soon rectified and from then on service was good.More

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed July 18, 2018

The service on a whole was good the server was attentive the restaurant was quiet considering it was Friday 13th July at 7.00pm the food was good however on paying part of the bill by cash I was presented with two OLD TEN POUND NOTES!...to my astonishment the manager apologise and went away to change them this is a 5 star hotel how can they not know that the ten pound note I believe these went out of circulation around the 1st March 2018 4 months ago perhaps they may have thought we were on vacation but that is not the case however if you were you may or may not know that you would have to take them to the bankMore

Date of visit: July 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed September 13, 2017

A roomy and spacious restaurant, with great ambience and efficient friendly service. Eat the very best of Indian cuisine in a choice of indoor restaurant or conservatory. The chef's recommendation of crispy spinach and pomergranate stir fry style dish was exquisite, halibut curry, prawn curry,...okra, tarka dhal and roasted lamb with gravy all retained their distinctive flavours. The strawberry lassi was delicious and the Indian cake and cardamom ice cream for dessert was such a treat. One enters pass a bar with a huge collection of bottles, every known drink was available.More

Date of visit: September 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed August 20, 2017

I have been to Peridot at the Bentley on multiple occasions (and indeed often choose it for important events because I know that I will get exemplary service). The staff are always accommodating and friendly. When my friend from abroad told me that she had...never had an afternoon tea, there was no doubt about where I was going to take her. We were not disappointed! There was more than enough food for us and we were constantly being offered more... The presentation was great and the quality was brilliant. I can tell you one thing for certain - if you choose Peridot you will get the best customer service around! (on this occasion I would like to thank Indre for her excellent hospitality)More

Date of visit: October 2016
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque
white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's
easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with
superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and
Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely
child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to
mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall)
such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Woodley Hotel
3 reviews
.54 km away
Park Grand London Kensington
4,859 reviews
.54 km away
Dreamtel Hotel Kensington
553 reviews
.53 km away
The Gallery Hotel
234 reviews
.51 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Steak & Co. Gloucester Road Kensington
2,297 reviews
.16 km away
The Hereford Arms, South Kensington
1,218 reviews
.20 km away
The Bombay Brasserie
1,316 reviews
.16 km away
Olives Restaurant and Bar - Italian Kitchen
979 reviews
.19 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
South Kensington
357 reviews
.52 km away
Genting Casino Cromwell Mint
20 reviews
.52 km away
The Drayton Arms Theatre
12 reviews
.25 km away
Grosvenor Casino Gloucester Road London
25 reviews
.10 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
rawio
September 17, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Gimier | Reviewed this property |
This is a place like Buckingham Palace so....
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing