We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sun., 09-27
20:00
OR
Get food delivered
Sponsored by: temper Covent Garden

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. £35 Bottomless Barbecue Brunch
1. £35 Bottomless Barbecue Brunch
"Service very attentive. Great atmosphere and the cocktail were spot on"
okley9
See reviews that mention £35 Bottomless Barbecue Brunch
2. Beef Fat Potatoes
2. Beef Fat Potatoes
"e beef fat potatoes are TO DIE FOR. A"
bites_with_b
See reviews that mention taco
3. In-house butchered steak
3. In-house butchered steak
"If you want a tasty steak , I can’t recommend this restaurant enough"
jamessS8835NQ
See reviews that mention steak
About
temper Covent Garden is in-house butchered steak, barbecued meats and traditional corn tacos. Sit around the open kitchen and watch the chefs making your food. For £29pp, enjoy 300g rare-breed British rump steak, fries, a sauce of your choosing and 90-minutes of unlimited wine! Situated on Mercer Walk, temper Covent Garden it is a great lunch and pre-theatre location, with dedicated menus for both and a spacious outdoor terrace to enjoy them on Larger parties of up to 24 can make use of the Restaurant Feasting Table or for something more exclusive, private hire is available in The Den on the lower level for up to 55 guests
PRICE RANGE
US$25 - US$51
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Barbecue, International
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Private Dining, Highchairs Available, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
107
43
26
23
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
107
43
26
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch flatbread tacos cheeseburger goat ragu deep pan pizza aged beef soft shell crab rump steak potatoes pork skewers sunday roast covent garden hispi cabbage open kitchen a late lunch
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Visited temper for our one year wedding anniversary and it was delicious. We chose seats right in front of the wood oven to see all our food being prepared and cooked. Wine recommended by our waiter was spot on. Tacos to start were scrumptious and...steaks for main were beautifully cooked and sliced. Finally with desserts, these were hit and miss. By the end of the night, trying to get the bill to pay took asking three different waiters to locate it. Look forward to returning again.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
MarkTemper88, General Manager at temper Covent Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Hannah, Thank you for your feedback! Our steak and wine choices here at Temper are second to none.. I will pass this feedback onto the team regarding desserts and bill payments. Looking forward to seeing you again soon - Mark Girdlestone General Manager

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Me and 3 friends went for the BBQ bottomless brunch and we were not disappointed. Honestly one of the best burgers I've ever had, and the rest was just as good. We were accidently 15mins late (our own fault) but they were accomodating and still...let us have the table and our full 90mins. Only thing that let it down slightly was I felt like we had to keep asking for drinks. It was a bottomless brunch after all so you want to get your money's worth!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
MarkTemper88, General Manager at temper Covent Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Jen, Thanks for the great feedback! Our burger is infamous around Covent Garden and Soho so definitely glad you enjoyed. Hopefully we will see you again soon - Mark Girdlestone General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited as a group of friends for afternoon tea and it was lovely. The lady that took our order, Jemima, was so kind, helpful and friendly. She made us feel comfortable and let us know what to expect. The food was amazing and the drinks...came quickly and were flowing. The toilets were also clean with lovely smelling products. We also received very good service from Benedict. The whole experience was lovely and I would definitely recommend and happy to go againMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
MarkTemper88, General Manager at temper Covent Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Raj, Thanks for the great feedback! Both Jemima and Ben will be delighted with your feedback. We ensure our venue is clean, tidy and smelling great at all times as this all goes hand in hand with the Temper experience. Hopefully we will see...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went with a group of 4 friends for a birthday and absolutely loved temper! Great vibe, atmosphere, cocktails and food! We shared cheeseburger tacos, goat cheese tacos, chicken wings, pork, chicken, goat and sides - potatoes cabbage and burrata. Everything was perfect, yummy and a...great mix of flavours. Great service too. The only reason I have given 4* and not 5 is because one of our friends is pregnant so needed the burger taco well done which the waitress kindly put through and it came medium rare, it was sent back and came again medium rare. If the chef isn’t comfortable cooking meat well done (which I know some aren’t!) best to advise to order something else.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went with the other half, off a review on London’s top 10 steak restaurants. From minute go the staff ‘assigned’ to us (Ben) was impressing. Friendly, explaining the menu thoroughly whilst we explained my girlfriend was gluten free - something they cater for. I mentioned...off hand I was allergic to shellfish and he checked every item on the menu, showing me the list to. They were super hot on allergies. All the food was fantastic, Ben was constantly checking up. He’d made sure we hadn’t over ordered and we gauged his opinion through everything. The bill was even less than I’d aimed off for and I was more than happy with the included 12.5%. Would return in a heart beat. * I’d mentioned on the booking it was our anniversary and as we sat down to the bar 20 minutes before our booking - Ben surprised us with two glasses fizz. A lovely touch.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
MarkTemper88, General Manager at temper Covent Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Ben, Thank you for the excellent feedback! We follow a strict allergy procedure across all our venues to ensure the safety of our guests are of top priority - and we do love some fizz for special occasions. I will pass all feedback onto...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my wife visited last night. The food was tasty, the service was excellent. The prices are not overly expensive for central London, the only thing I personally felt was that the added 12.5% gratuity is a little greedy. Tips should be left at...the customer’s discretion, this isn’t the US. ??More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
MarkTemper88, General Manager at temper Covent Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Pierre, Thank you for your feedback! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your meal with us. We do add a discretionary gratuity to our bills like most restaurants across London - however this is always optional and can we removed or adjusted should you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was the first brunch that a group of us had been to post lockdown and it was great. We had booked the bottomless barbecue brunch. The staff were friendly and did not start our slot time until a late comer arrived, which was very...understanding of them! The food was delicious, one of the tastiest burgers I have had in a while, they had unfortunately run out of the chicken wings however had a shredded chicken alternative which I would of eaten over chicken wings as it was so good. Nice concept of bringing the food out all at once on platters so groups can eat and socialise, pick at and chat to eachother creating an uplifting atmosphere. Staff were very vigilant when it came to keeping the flow of drinks to our table, the mojito and cosmopolitan cocktails were lovely, only thing is they could of of been larger as the glasses were very small!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
MarkTemper88, General Manager at temper Covent Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Isabelle, Thanks for the great feedback on brunch! Its a busy day for us but fun none the less - hopefully we will see you again soon. Kind Regards, Mark Girdlestone General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a table for 5pm today at Temper in Covent Garden. We had seen it on Masterchef and since this was our first outing since the beginning of lockdown we were very much looking forward to it. We were allocated 1.5 hours for our...table duration. We had to wait for what felt like ages for the waiter, after 15 minutes I had to attract his attention before he finally arrived. The menu had a very limited wine selection but stated on it to ask the waiter for the wider selection of wines. I asked the waiter for this, but he explained that the restaurant does not have this menu as its only opened..... I find it rather odd, they will not open the restaurant if they had no food! I asked the waiter various questions regarding the food, his explanation was rather limited and he certainly was not informative in any way. I ordered white wine and my wife ordered Cuban Castro. My wine was tasteless, my wife left half her drink. I ordered Carnitas Beef Tajin and the grilled Hispi Cabbage, my wife ordered Temper Cheeseburger and fries. The dishes arrived after a relatively short while. My Cuban Castro was stone cold, I asked the waiter if it should be like that, he replied no. He took it away and after 2 minutes returned with a new plate. The paratha bread was soaked in oil, the meat was warm. The overwhelming taste was of oil or fat. I could not taste any sauce. The cabbage was utterly tasteless. My wifes cheeseburger arrived without cheese and was lukewarm the bun was not toasted and the plate was cold. I must say this was the most disappointing experience for a long time. We visit restaurants across the world but have not had such a terrible experience. One more important aspect of this restaurant was extremely loud music. We could not hear the waiter nor he could hear us. He had to speak louder than the music so we could hear what he said. We are in a world pandemic situation, every guideline clearly suggests not to have loud music in restaurants, etc as people will have to shout and consequently droplets will inevitably come from talking loudly. I very much wonder where is the logic of having such loud music. We most certainly will not return to this restaurant or any of the other Temper restaurants. To be honest we've had better food at our local pub. Very disappointed indeed.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
MarkTemper88, General Manager at temper Covent Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Yaron, Thanks for the review. With regards to a limited menu, we are offering a full food menu however our wine list is slightly reduced due to supplier issues and stocking. This will be rectified in due course i can assure you. At temper...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lunch. Bit slow, and I only say that because getting coffee at the end was frankly painful, but otherwise quite nice. Menu is vague, so had to ask about every dish. Quality of food was great.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
MarkTemper88, General Manager at temper Covent Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi David, Thanks for the feedback! I will take the above into consideration with regards to our hot drink service - an area of the business we have not had an issue with before. Our menu leaves a lot to imagination i agree, however our...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A friend and I came for your steak supper club last night (6pm, 25th August 2020) and we were beyond impressed with the food, service and overall experience! The staff in particular were marvellous, and offered recommendations galore as to how we could make the...best of our dinner. Right down to convincing me to try a ‘medium rare’ steak, as opposed to my regular ‘well done’- which was such a good call, and I enjoyed it thoroughly! Unfortunately we didn’t think to ask for the names of the host and waiter that were serving us, but both were especially attentive, and hope that the specificity of when we visited can lead to them being thanked! We look forward to coming back, thanks for a great evening guys! ?????More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Covent Garden
Whether you're headed here to check out the multitude
of shops, theaters, cafes, pubs, and restaurants, or
simply to be among the multitude of people who pass
through this pretty part of town, you'll love soaking
up the festive and historic atmosphere in and around
Covent Garden. Even if you don't have tickets to the
opera or a show at one of the many famous theaters
here, don't be surprised if find yourself captivated
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
279 reviews
.74 km away
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
1,979 reviews
.66 km away
Corinthia London
3,466 reviews
.73 km away
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
3,296 reviews
.65 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
28-50 Wine Bar & Kitchen Covent Garden
87 reviews
.10 km away
Maison Bab
246 reviews
.00 km away
Hawksmoor Seven Dials
4,322 reviews
.05 km away
Cafe Pacifico
1,169 reviews
.06 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Pineapple Dance Studios
175 reviews
.06 km away
Cambridge Theatre
404 reviews
.08 km away
Donmar Warehouse
126 reviews
.11 km away
Neal Street
50 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from temper Covent Garden staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing