We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$3 - US$7
CUISINES
Cafe
FEATURES
Wheelchair Accessible, Live Music

Location and contact

Spitalfields
0.0 km from Brick Lane
Improve this listing
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
22
21
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
22
21
2
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed March 7, 2020 via mobile

Record store with copious levels of vinyl, CDs and associated reading material with a smallish cafe as you enter. Appears to be a live music stage too

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 22, 2020 via mobile

This is a ‘cool’ place. If you love vinyl, you’ll be in heaven. I worked a stones throw from this shop for 6 years, and only ever went in a handful of times. They sell an amazing selection of music, and some books. Their cheese...toasties are great, but coffee not so good. The staff are friendly. They hold signings here, and bands play, which always causes a stir and people queue up the street to get in.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed December 30, 2019

This is a Rough Trade record store with a bar at the front. I remember the record label from years back (they signed Stiff Little Fingers, The Smiths, Cornershop, etc) so was somewhat nostalgic to go perusing through their vinyl collection. Most of the shop...was deserted at that time at night, but over at the far end near the stage was an interview being conducted, so I kept away to avoid background noise. Worth a visit for a pint or two, mainly for memories' sake.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed December 12, 2019

This is a large record store, just off trendy Brick Lane, which is well stocked with all sorts of quality LPs, CDs, books, posters and other such treats. I recently visited for an in-store show and signing session, which was an interesting experience. They have...a low stage to the rear of the room which is partly obscured by a large pillar to the right, making it tricky to see much if you find yourself in the wrong spot. The venue does however, create an intimate environment from which to watch some top quality rising acts, with capacity at a couple of hundred or so. They have a small bar and they're clearly very well organised at hosting such events, with everything set up for the signing before the band had even left the stage. I'd definitely recommend this place if you want to catch an intimate show or just for some good, old-fashioned record store browsing.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed September 18, 2019 via mobile

I rang rough trade to speak about tickets i had perchaced on line!! The guy i spoke to was sooooo very rude!!! He made me feel so smalm and stupid! Like i was not possibly cool enough to even speak to the kool dude that...he thought he was??? I was so shocked at his attitude, i have never been spoken to like that!!!! I felt like i was at school again?? I rang the Bristol shop and they were so kind snd helpful i cant say enough great things about the patience and un-judgemental way i was helped!!!! I hope the guy i spoke too in Bristol called Paul gets recognition for his kindness!! Also the RUDE American guy is told off for makkng me feel like a pile of cr*p? Thanks,More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

Amazing record store with great staff. Had a great time seeing our favourite band Asylums. Staff were great fun. Really enjoyable and will hopefully make a trip back down soon.

Date of visit: July 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed August 17, 2018

Was really looking forward to the chance to visit a shop I had heard so much about. Had a list of vinyl I wanted and when I arrived I was ready to start browsing. I had my wife with me so we stopped to get...her a coffee at the cafe area. After waiting ten minutes for the guy at the cafe to finish chatting to his mate about he asked me what I wanted. Eventually got the coffee and went to explore. I found one the records I wanted but not some others so I went to ask at the counter. The assistant searched the computer and said some of what I wanted was not in but others were in different sections in the shop. I went to look again but couldn't find them. I went back and said they weren't there. The shop was not busy and they were other staff behind the counter so I did hope that he might help to find them. He just said "oh we might not have them then". I went back to look again but couldn't find them so decided to buy the one record I had found. I was served by the same staf member. As he served me a band were setting up at the back of the shop. I asked if what they were like as I thought we might stop and listen. He use said he didn't know as he'd never heard them. Overall the service was pathetic. Uninterested, unhelpful staff lacking knowledge or any sort of customer service skills. I can't say how disappointed I was. I visited other vinyl shops whilst in London and most of them were good. Rough Trade will not get my trade again.More

Date of visit: July 2018
Helpful?2  
Reviewed July 22, 2018

Who said the record shops were dying?! Rough Trade shops are legendary in London. Brilliant selection of vinyl, cd's etc etc... There is a cafe here, where you can get a craft beer plus if you are lucky, you can catch a gig here and...an autograph from the musician, who is promoting his/their new album. Check out the list of gigs on the wall! Lovely shop this one... Great atmosphere, knowledgeable staff. Time passes by very quickly here and you do not want to leave:)More

Date of visit: July 2018
Helpful?1  
Reviewed July 4, 2018

Four of us were wandering around Brick Lane and stumbled on Rough Trade East. Terrific record shop and great little cafe inside. Highly recommend if you are nearby.

Date of visit: April 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed April 8, 2018

The people know everything there is to know about music, they have gigs to promote new albums. The vinyl available is fab from folk, blues, reggae, soul,rock new and old and these modern things called CD's. And you can get a beer or a cupa...just the Coolest Combo !!!More

Date of visit: April 2018
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Spitalfields
For a glimpse of Georgian and Victorian London at its
most pristine, or a peek into what's apt to be the
next big global trend, the hipster zone of
Spitalfields can provide hours of amazement. Around
the clock, this is a haven for early morning bargain
hunters sizing up its street markets, foodie foragers
throughout the day, or late night revelers hitting
some of London's most popular bars and clubs.?? Wedged
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge London Bethnal Green
1,548 reviews
1.27 km away
Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel
998 reviews
1.26 km away
Club Quarters Hotel Gracechurch
2,153 reviews
1.27 km away
Apex London Wall Hotel
2,518 reviews
1.20 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Caboose
202 reviews
.06 km away
Dark Sugars Cocoa House
156 reviews
.09 km away
Sichuan-Folk Chinese Restaurant
303 reviews
.07 km away
DF Tacos
359 reviews
.08 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Brick Lane Market
339 reviews
.05 km away
Brick Lane
1,808 reviews
.04 km away
The Old Truman Brewery
147 reviews
.01 km away
Brick Lane Upmarket
77 reviews
.03 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Coral C
April 20, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from I1583AJandrewp | Reviewed this property |
Sorry forgot all about this the coffee is Lavazza.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing