We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sun., 09-27
20:00

Ratings and reviews

#446 of 2,421 Bar in London
#2,585 of 16,827 Restaurants in London
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

Hammersmith / Fulham
0.6 km from Natural History Museum
Improve this listing
Sponsored by: PJ's Bar and Grill

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Absolutely fabulous!!
1. Absolutely fabulous!!
"I had possibly the best steak I’ve ever eaten"
ollieizere
See reviews that mention Absolutely fabulous!!
2. Fabulous !
2. Fabulous !
"We had wonderful cocktail first follows by very good food and wine. "
Vibeke U
See reviews that mention Fabulous !
3. Amazing!
3. Amazing!
"Food was absolutely fabulous and delicious!"
Milda M
See reviews that mention Amazing!
About
PJ’s Bar and Grill features a range of British seasonal dishes made with the best ingredients. To ensure the best dining experience with us, we offer a selection of carefully curated menus dedicated to quality and seasonality. From our Dinner, Lunch, Brunch and Group Set Menu for 10 or more, we tailor our menus to suit the occasion.
PRICE RANGE
US$25 - US$76
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, European, International
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Table Service, Free Wifi
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
113
95
33
10
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
113
95
33
10
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch steak club sandwich oysters sea bass risotto salad nice atmosphere chelsea dickens martini
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed February 15, 2020

The service was excellent as it was before xmas . There is nothing that was too much trouble . However the food is another thing. Pre Xmas we went to the restaurant and had a burger. well aged beef it said. No problem with that...and nice chunky chips. After xmas we went again and ordered the same. I asked for well done and also for medium. The well done had a small bun. a lump of dry , black charred meat with a bitter taste ,one lettuce leaf, one slice of tomato and a slice of onion. £16.00 . The medium I asked for was a bit like steak tartare .a bit brownish on the outside. The chips were small french fries. We didnt bother to complain as it was clearly just a rip off. I dont mind paying for quality but give me a mc'donalds any day against what we had.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed November 10, 2019

Came here twice over the space of two days and I must say I had the best times. Super nice place, great food and our waiter Mihai was the best !!

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed February 9, 2020 via mobile

I’ve seen this grill restaurant a few times but never eaten here, so 1st time. Won’t be the last as I really enjoyed the vibe there and the food. Staff were very welcoming, it felt family run and had a very friendly feel. I felt...beards weren’t a Pre condition on working here until I saw a lady and an Italian waiter without a beard. All others wore very strong growth beards. I ordered a 8oz Filet medium rare with fries and creamed spinach. Steak was perfectly cooked, fries were good and so the creamed spinach. I had a glass of Sauvignon to start and a very nice Argentinian Mendoza Malbec with my steak. Finished with a martini coffee. Excellent all through. They have a huge fan built into the ceiling which apparently is built from the propellers of one of the 1st Bombardier airplanes that crossed the Atlantic . Interesting place with a great bar also if you just fancy a beer. Will be back here.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 8, 2020 via mobile

Poor service. The restaurant is quiet as there is no loud music & it is quite cosy. The choice is limited & I could find nothing exciting. It is fairly expensive for what it is. I would not recommend it.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 7, 2020

Lived in London for many years and for some reason never found this place. Great atmosphere, service (ask for Fabio) food was excellent (try the Stroganoff) Mango rice pudding was too good! Was in town for a couple of days and went back again the...next night! Pretty good value as well.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed December 15, 2019 via mobile

Nice welcome at the bar , we had booked over the road for Malaysian restaurant, went back later for more cocktails and welcomed back which was very nice . My husband and I were going to eat at Bibendum last week and made the effort...to return here which was again very enjoyable, we will definitely return and hope to have a meal here soon .More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed December 1, 2019

A wonderful good old fashioned bistro offering a great relaxed and yummy menu of all the old favourites. Very attentive staff.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed November 27, 2019

Whilst my beef stroganoff did, eventually, taste quite delicious and the staff were attentive there is a lot of improvement required. The menu is small, yet confused. There were 10 of us and for 8 of the 10 ‘aftercare’ was required on the food. For...instance my beef stroganoff was just beef with no sauce, whereas my neighbour had almost nothing but sauce. Two of the burgers were incredibly dry, for £16 you might imagine they mince the beef on the premises but this clearly is not the case. The chips too were not of any exceptionally quality despite the prices. The Gnocchi did not go down very well with my group nor the risotto, it wasn’t carnaroli. You’d want to like this place given its history, location and temperament however the menu is muddled the prices high and the venue half empty on a Saturday night. Management should immediately refocus the menu, leverage the fantastic location, improve ingredients and visit Cote a few doors down for comparative judgement - else this will be like Nicolas a few doors down, a tombstone in the graveyard of British Retail clinging onto the outdated model of yesteryear.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed November 25, 2019

PJ's bar and grill has been here for decades and I remember in my youth meeting here for cocktails or brunch. Comfortingly, nothing much has changed. We had a decent lunch - burratina and calamari followed by an excellent burger and Seabass. What really stood...out (or should I say who) was our waiter Fabio who was efficient, attentive and amusing to boot. Well done Fabio, you were fab!More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed November 2, 2019

Traditional feel , with excellent and attentive service . I love the bar and after the theatre or opera can easily find my way in here for a nightcap . It has that elegant feel of bars gone by , and the barman knows how...to make a great G and T. The food is always good ,and the portions are generous.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Belmond Cadogan Hotel
75 reviews
1.07 km away
Citadines South Kensington
1,216 reviews
1.06 km away
ibis Styles London Gloucester Road Hotel
198 reviews
.92 km away
Avni Kensington Hotel
1,264 reviews
1.01 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Claude Bosi
316 reviews
.30 km away
Le Colombier
314 reviews
.18 km away
The Hunter's Moon
69 reviews
.25 km away
The Hummingbird Bakery
408 reviews
.30 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
South Kensington
357 reviews
.35 km away
Michelin House
37 reviews
.28 km away
Holy Trinity Brompton Church
40 reviews
.19 km away
St Luke’s Church
23 reviews
.29 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Thewattogang
June 23, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Joie A | Reviewed this property |
Sorry to say, I don't know if they have a kid's menu. It's a pretty relaxed place, so I don't think they'd mind having kids there. Look at their website or give them a call.
0
Votes
veronica h
June 11, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from phillipg601 | Reviewed this property |
Hi , South Ken is 100% nearest ! Enjoy .
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing