We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Thu., 09-24
20:00

Ratings and reviews

#197 of 2,032 Italian in London
#993 of 16,824 Restaurants in London
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

Westminster
0.5 km from Westminster Abbey
Improve this listing

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

At lunch, this Italian opposite the Home Office is full of bustle and men in suits; at dinner it’s a little more relaxed. Staff are personable and the ...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
The MICHELIN Plate: Good cooking
Comfortable restaurant
PRICE RANGE
US$22 - US$59
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Italian
FEATURES
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
184
137
37
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
184
137
37
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pasta tiramisu monkfish crab bread pork belly pudding sea bass smith square westminster abbey tate britain italian food wine list monday evening staff were attentive lovely restaurant recommend this restaurant
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed July 12, 2020

Came with my gf and mate. We had an unforgettable dining experience. We sat outdoors in the warm light of the setting sun. I had the Vivaldi, it was most bodacious, meat, mushrooms, oliives, it was incredible. Our waiter was a legend, sorted out our...friend with bike parking and was accommodating throughout, changing up wine glasses to suit the bottle we bought across the road (it’s BYOB).More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed March 19, 2020 via mobile

We had a enjoyable meal here. The staff were welcoming & so professional. The food as good as we have had in Italy (my husband is Italian & he agreed). We had the burrata & beef carpaccio starters - both fantastic, but the former marginally...better if I had to choose. The pasta perfectly cooked (al-dente)- I loved the ravioli. For desert we had tortino caprese & the semifreddo - both excellent, but if I had to chose one it would be the later. With the covid epidemic the restaurant was quiet but yet they made my husband birthday feel special. I truly hope this business survives through this period - the wonderful staff here are an asset which many London restaurants do not have.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed March 8, 2020 via mobile

The service was fabulous The staff very attentive The food - oh dear The scallops were undercooked The deep fried artichokes ok The rest was underwhelming in flavour The wine was a bit like dilute juice The pudding was the the only saviour But the...waiter forget my order I couldn’t be bothered to chase it Not close to value for money That’s London I guess It will all get get better after BrexitMore

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 25, 2020 via mobile

My boyfriend and I came here for our anniversary dinner and we had a lovely evening. We were warmly greeted by Alessandro, who was very knowledgeable and kindly guided us through the menu and wine. We very much appreciated his courtesy and professionalism, and he...made our dinner very special. The food was fantastic (we started with the burrata followed by seabass, and finished with the tiramisu - which we highly recommend), and the ambience of the restaurant was great as well. Would definitely recommend and will be back again!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?3  
Reviewed February 23, 2020

The only one disadvantage of the place - sometimes its difficult to book a lunch, the restaurant gets too busy. But its easy to explain: excellent location, close to Home office and not far from Parliament, excellent Italian food and good lunch deals. I was...there few times, and every time just for a lunch, since my office was located nearby. Two course lunch costs less than £20, and you get quite big portions, enough not to feel empty like after many the way too sophisticated eateries. The most I enjoyed seafood, once they even served octopuses for the starters. I went there 5 times in 2018-2019, and believe it worth a dinner visit too. Feel curious to pair this delicious food with a glass of fine wine.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?2  
Reviewed February 12, 2020 via mobile

Food and professional service way above price level. The venison was the star of the evening. Interesting list of italien wines.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed January 31, 2020 via mobile

Good non-obtrusive service, lovely food, expensive but not outrageously so for this part of London. V relaxing. Enjoyed the monkfish and the dessert especially. Some reasonably priced wines on the menu.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed January 29, 2020 via mobile

Good food, great service, nice ambience. This small restaurant in the Westminster are of London is clean, cozy yet elegant, and serves really good food. The service was absolutely outstanding.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed January 28, 2020 via mobile

We popped here on a Monday evening and there was a really nice vibe in the restaurant. Most of the reviews I’d read were very positive, but there was the odd-one that made me wary, but we had a really positive experience. Food was well...presented and tasted fresh, staff were attentive but not overbearing and all in all we had a lovely evening. A meal for 4 with drinks was c.£220 (incl. service) which I was happy to pay, but you might want to save that for later in the week. All in all a solid 4 stars and could easily be a 5 if I’d been dining later in the week and let my hair down a bit! Definitely worth a visit.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed January 23, 2020

Although we made reservations we were seated in the bar rather than the dining room pictured on the website. Unbelievably uncomfortable seating. No cushion on the perfectly flat seat with a bar across the back as a back rest. Like sitting on a bare board...and being tortured. Most Italian restaurants have oil and vinegar as well as salt and pepper on the table. Here you have to ask for it and they pour about a table spoon worth in a saucer and take the bottle away. About enough for half a piece of bread. Service was close to non-existing and food about on a par with a second rate Italian restaurant with white linen first rate prices. Will never go backMore

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Westminster
If you only had an afternoon to experience London on a
grand scale, Westminster would be a wise place to
start. The ornate Houses of Parliament and Westminster
Abbey sit adjacent at a corner of Parliament Square,
and a short stroll along The Mall leads to Buckingham
Palace. Trafalgar Square and Nelson's Column are just
up the road as well. As captivating as the
architecture is, the wonders of Mother Nature are
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Dolphin House Serviced Apartments
1,485 reviews
1.04 km away
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
22,372 reviews
1.03 km away
The Rubens at the Palace
5,265 reviews
1.04 km away
Stanley House Hotel
1,266 reviews
.94 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Regency Cafe
1,421 reviews
.27 km away
Sapori Cafe' and Restaurant
333 reviews
.12 km away
Quirinale
269 reviews
.25 km away
Ma La Sichuan
374 reviews
.20 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Parliament Square
543 reviews
.23 km away
Saint Margaret's Church on Parliament Square
159 reviews
.37 km away
The Victoria Tower Gardens
124 reviews
.36 km away
Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Galleries
28 reviews
.32 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
georgie081
March 23, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Gedling | Reviewed this property |
Brian is correct in saying food is cooked to order. So it maybe worth changing your booking to 5.30 to avoid being rushed.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing