We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

#163 of 504 Dessert in London
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$625 - US$3,000
CUISINES
Japanese, Cafe, Asian, Healthy
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

South Kensington
0.6 km from Natural History Museum
Improve this listing
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
33
3
2
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
33
3
2
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mille crepe cakes matcha cake choux mango rice sushi gloucester road green tea sweet potato latte amazing desserts light lunch yuzu charcoal
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stumbled across Sakurado whilst walking through Kensington last week. Such a lovely experience, the Sushi was really lovely and fresh, the Matcha cake was amazing along with great service, will definitely be back again soon.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed May 7, 2020

Me and my partner came to visit this dessert restaurant after finding out they had the “UK’s Number 1 Matcha Mille Crepes”. We love trying new things and we love crepe cakes so we thought it would not disappoint. The restaurant itself was beautiful and...lovely but I wish I could say the same for what we ate. We ordered their Matcha Crepe cake and also Coconut Bubbletea. The crepe cake was dry and tbh it tasted stale. The coconut bubbletea wasn’t even made properly, the coconut powder was still floating around the drink and it just tasted like water with disgusting pieces of powder floating around. It looked like the owner was there and I was going to say something but my partner stopped me because he wanted to leave ASAP. Rather than making small talk with customers, I would suggest you overlook training and make sure staff know what they are doing. I’ve been a waitress and restaurant supervisor before and will NEVER serve the food/drink the way yours was. What a huge disappointment!More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?3  
Reviewed March 8, 2020

Lots of attention to detail in the interior drew us in off the street for a light lunch. We enjoyed the sushi, fresh-made before us, and this is the pioneering UK home of the 'sushi burger', a novel take on sushi - a 'sandwich' of...sorts, that you pick up in a sheet of seaweed, that, in of its self, adds a nice maritime accent to the flavours. When it fell apart a little, I just carried on with chop sticks as usual, enhanced with the traditional pickled ginger and wasabi. The miso was delicious. We just kept trying different dishes until we were happily sated. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, attentive to tidying-up, and generally personable. Rather intrigued by the dizzying selection of mille crepes - never seen or heard of one before, we decided to try the Japanese speciality of 'matcha' - made from green tea! It certainly is extraordinary, a Marmite moment for some perhaps. I thought it tasted of balloons at first; but it grew on me, for its texture and subtle flavour, and that besides, it looks fabulous. We really enjoyed our visit and encourage you to stop by for afternoon mille crepes - I think perhaps 14 varieties (I can recall passion fruit, mango, tiramisu, salted caramel), or a fine sushi meal at the bar or comfy seating room towards the back. If you are in a rush, or wish to treat your own guests, they also provided very smartly boxed sushi and cakes to go. We had beer and wine, service was included, and it was still only £44 for the both of us. Not at all bad for Kensington. Go find them on Gloucester Road.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 23, 2020

I had a superb birthday dinner here and it was a pleasure meeting Mei. She is intelligent, friendly, accommodating and the little treats from her and her team have made my evening an amazing one. Their Japanese cake and the sushi burger are the best...I’ve ever tried - I will definitely come back and I recommend this place to everyone!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed December 29, 2019

Matcha Mille Crepe and Matcha Tiramisu were absolutely divine! I am a huge fun of matcha, and the matcha desserts here were the best I ever have had in London. Loved the whole vibe of the place. Staff were very attentive. It’s a good place...to relax and meet friends. I will 100% go back.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 24, 2019

Cute little boutique bakery. We saw that they served food, but only had dessert as we came after dinner. The Matcha Tiramisu and Matcha Mille Crepe were delicate and delicious. A lot of the other desserts looked great as well and would be great to...back.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 8, 2019

Nice place, decor is good. Quite small, but excellent desserts. Can be busy at times, so try to go when it's quieter.

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed June 29, 2019 via mobile

Looking for a nice lunch with great reviews and what a surprise!!! - products not fresh, rancid spicy oil, salad wilted, even the rice was badly cooked - miserable quantities: a salmon bowl served with simply the quarter of a smoked salmon slice ! And...when we asked for more salmon they brought us just a second quarter of slice... Heavily disappointed!!!!More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?2  
Reviewed June 6, 2019 via mobile

We went to Sakurado to try their Japanese patisserie. The black sesame Mille crepe was simply amazing, light, fluffy, creamy and flavoursome. Friends had the salted caramel which was also delicious. The owners were super friendly and made us feel super welcome. Highly recommended visit...for cake lovers!More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed May 27, 2019 via mobile

Few friends visited together, the cake was really nice. Lots of different choices, pick any! It will be the best cake you ever had.

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque
white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's
easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with
superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and
Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely
child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to
mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall)
such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Ampersand Hotel
4,378 reviews
.80 km away
Premier Inn London Kensington (Earl's Court) Hotel
4,672 reviews
.79 km away
Kensington Rooms and Apartments
215 reviews
.76 km away
Hotel Moonlight
388 reviews
.77 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Launceston Place
1,051 reviews
.11 km away
Little India
2,210 reviews
.05 km away
Memories of India Kensington
998 reviews
.02 km away
Da Mario Kensington
1,471 reviews
.06 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Skates and Ladders
46 reviews
.44 km away
Kensington Square
36 reviews
.46 km away
St Stephen's Church
6 reviews
.03 km away
65 Queen's Gate, Baden-Powell House
50 reviews
.52 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
tonycurtis79
December 4, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from tonycurtis79 | Reviewed this property |
unfortunately this establishment is not recognized as authentic by the japanese community council of gb
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing