We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sun., 09-27
20:00

Ratings and reviews

#3,158 of 16,827 Restaurants in London
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Mentioned in

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$25 - US$51

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

A fun, basement restaurant all about barbecue and meats. The beasts are cooked whole, some are also smoked in-house and there’s a distinct South Africa...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
The MICHELIN Plate: Good cooking
Comfortable restaurant
Sponsored by: Temper

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. In-house butchered steaks
1. In-house butchered steaks
"The rib eye was cooked to perfection"
904kelvinl
See reviews that mention In-house butchered steaks
2. Sunday Lunch
2. Sunday Lunch
"beef was beautifully pink and the lamb was so tender"
48claireh
See reviews that mention sunday roast
3. Open-Kitchen
3. Open-Kitchen
"truly fantastic. We sat at the counter both times"
StormyGiraffe
See reviews that mention Open-Kitchen
Reviews (882)
Filter reviews
849 results
Traveller rating
346
190
141
97
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
346
190
141
97
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews taco cheeseburger flatbread beef potatoes larb carnitas flat bread smoked ham crab paratha pudding tortillas skewers tapas cakes master chef
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Glad to be back in town and this was the first place i booked. And as always it never dissapoints. Pork taco was great to start and obviously the steak is cooked to perfection. The highlight also was the cabbage side. I will always be...back.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed December 28, 2019 via mobile

We were weary and had a very tired two year old when I spotted the sign for ‘tacos’ and thought, let’s give that a go! Wow. We’re we given a booth in a tucked away area which was just perfect with a toddler, we had...tortilla and guacamole as a snack, my little lad demolished the lot, we opted for a bottle (which turned into two!) of Malbec, two fillet steaks with sides of house salad and a potato dish I can’t recall the name of, but it was basically potato, cheese, red onion and it was to die for. We finished it off with a Bakewell Tart cocktail and a peanut butter ice cream and chocolate cheesecake dessert. Totally stuffed and all in a cool atmosphere that was helpful to families but had an adult vibe that meant you felt you weren’t just in another chain that you could go to anywhere! Well done temper, I will definitely recommend to friends.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Was at my favourite Restaurant in a London on Thursday for the first time since Lockdown. It was amazing and made me realise how much I’d missed it. As usual the service was excellent. The staff always seem so happy and they don’t smother you...but are attentive. The food was great as always and those beef fat potatoes- oh my god I’ve missed them. I will be back very soon.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

Really didn’t feel safe visiting, very loud music meant the staff shouted and put their faces close to yours whilst none of them had any kind of masks on. The restaurant and bar were packed and no one way system at all. No system to...check if there were too many people in the toilets and in the toilets and corridors people squeezing past each other. It really felt like this restaurant was concerned much more about its image and operating back to max capacityMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A must visit! Found this place when looking on google at best roast dinners in London and this one was on the list. Booked to go the following day. There is an option to sit in a booth a table or the chefs table where...you can see it all in action. That’s where we sat. The bloody Mary’s were really good and cost £10 each. I had the roast pork belly and my partner had the beef. The guys that served us were very nice but sadly didn’t get their names. I don’t think this restaurant is wheelchair or pram accessible as it’s down lots of steps but there may be a lift. Separate male and female toilets. My pictures are naff but do go and visit ! The group sharing meat looked amazing.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A few of my friends and I went to temper for dinner and were treated exceptionally by a waiter called Alejandra. It was very busy at the time yet we were treated very well and I felt looked after. Her knowledge of the menu came...in handy and our expectations were overshot with her professionalism and calmness. All in all, great customer service and good food qualityMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went here for a couples meal, great food, great drinks, great service. The price was very reasonable for central London and I'm looking forward to trying their other restaurants.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Another Eat out to Help out experiment and a stressful un-enjoyable restaurant experience. Friends showed up in the pouring rain fifteen minutes early. They were told by reception that they could sit down now but that would impact when we would have to vacate the...table by. Not the warmest of welcomes for a customer. The waiter, in fact all the waiting staff appeared rush and stressed, service was highly impersonal. They took great delight in telling us again that we had a limited time at our table. Our main course took fifty minutes to show up. We tried and tried to get staff attention to order more drinks or ask where our food was. All staff appeared well trained in avoiding any eye contact with any customers. One wine order never showed up. Me and my guests were dumbfounded by the terrible service. Finally we spoke to a member of staff, possibly more senior then the others. No sincere apology, made to feel like we were just another random customer who they couldn’t care less about. Food would appear in five minutes we were told. Food arrived half hour before we were supposed to leave our table. By this point we had lost any enthusiasm for Tempers great food. And let me be absolutely clear, the food here is sensational. If you’re a meat eater, you’ll love Temper. Everything tasted great however I will say that for the cost, portion sizes are small. Things got even stranger at 8:45pm when we were told to order more food as the kitchen was closing at 9pm!!! So why on earth were we being told to rush our meal if the kitchens closed and no one else was taking over our table. We paid and adjusted the hefty 12.5% service charge to about 10%. Of course the waiter paid attention to this and we informed him that the service was simply no good. I’d heard so much about this venue. I was excited to eat here. Food is great but taking into account the high costs and terrible service I cannot recommend Temper.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Overall very impressive! Had a reservation for 5 on a busy Saturday night. Service was poor and it took 20 mns for drinks and over an hour for our food to arrive. The waiters were busy but rude when The food itself was nothing shy...of great. Steaks were seasoned and cooked well and the tacos/parathas were a brilliant touch. Would recommend to friends and revisit personally. Would be 5* if the service was even average.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 17, 2020 via mobile

I have never looked forward to a meal more. I was literally craving the cheeseburger tacos over lock down ?? so as soon as this place opened it’s doors I was in. Cheeseburger tacos it was and they were just as amazing as I had...remembered. We also had pork carnitas and steak - ah man it was sooooo good. A bottle of red and two cocktails later and we were one happy pair of people. Service was great, atmosphere was great (thank you for not putting up a million garish signs telling us to stay apart - we know!) I’ll be back soon!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Soho
The go-to district for a good time in London, Soho
hosts a wealth of world-class theatres and a
compelling lineup of cafes, restaurants, pubs, bars,
and clubs. At Soho's core is London's original Red
Light District and the epicenter of the LGBT scene –
and thus the city's hottest nightlife. For shopping
enthusiasts, Soho is not only the home of London's
greatest concentration of boutique shops, but also the
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hallam Hotel
394 reviews
.82 km away
The Ritz London
4,854 reviews
.82 km away
The Z Hotel Covent Garden
197 reviews
.82 km away
h Club London
317 reviews
.77 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
My Place Soho
368 reviews
.05 km away
Mediterranean Cafe
644 reviews
.05 km away
Tapas Brindisa Soho
611 reviews
.07 km away
BAO Soho
884 reviews
.06 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Wardour Street
51 reviews
.12 km away
Berwick Street Market
49 reviews
.11 km away
Broad Street Cholera Pump
13 reviews
.06 km away
John Snow Saloon
11 reviews
.09 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
salman08
August 30, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Edward1951S | Reviewed this property |
Yes!
1
Vote
Maggie894
July 27, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from aqsa82 | Reviewed this property |
Didn’t see a huge variety for vegetarians , but what there was wasn’t bad at all
1
Vote
Hannah G
May 8, 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from MandECGreyGappers | Reviewed this property |
Definitely at the bar.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing