We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#103 of 515 French in London
#1,416 of 16,828 Restaurants in London
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
French, Cafe, European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Reviews (593)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveller rating
246
177
40
23
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
246
177
40
23
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cakes bread coq au vin pastry sandwich covent garden light lunch afternoon tea pre theatre dinner a late lunch bakery pauls cream branch
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this restaurant for a quick breakfast and was pleasantly surprised. Walking in is like walking into Willy Wonka’s, you are surrounded by delicious looking cakes, sandwiches and pastries. I had a pastry that I’ve forgotten the name of but it was like a long...croissant filled with custard and chocolate cream. Definite recommendation!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 28, 2020

Family of four, asked for a quiet table in the corner, which we were allowed. Quick delivery of well tasting breakfast plates and what we wished to drink. Good service in nice locations. Have eaten here before, will hopefully again.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed July 18, 2020 via mobile

This place is open for both takeaways and to sit in. Choice was more limited than usual but we had generously filled tomato and mozzarella baguettes with pesto on delicious olive bread. Coffee is very nice too.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
paulukl, Owner at Le Restaurant de Paul, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2020

Thank you for the 5* review.

Reviewed May 16, 2020 via mobile

Came for drinks and a meeting. After being seated it came time to order and we were told by a very rude member of staff that we could not stay if we weren’t ordering food. In a cafe at 11am in the week it seemed...very strange to me that we couldn’t have coffees and a few cakes in the seating area. This used to be a lovely spot but definitely had a frosty atmosphere on my last trip. Also no vegan options at all and not very willing to make allowances.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 16, 2020

My 15 year old daughter and I were looking for somewhere to eat before we went to the theatre and came across Paul, immediately noticing the beautiful cakes and pastries in the window. The restaurant menu looked very appealing too. I had a delicious minute...steak, perfectly cooked, and my daughter had the mushroom and halloumi burger, and both were great. My daughter also had a creme brulee which was excellent. Next time I will have a smaller main course - maybe the smoked salmon - so I can have one of their gorgeous cakes too!More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
paulukl, Owner at Le Restaurant de Paul, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2020

Thank you Chery for your feedback and 5* review.

Reviewed March 16, 2020

Paul in Bedford Street Covent Garden is the ideal retreat for a quick snack or apperitiff. The staff are great and you can eat at the front on stools with a great selection of eateries from the counter or sit down in the often busy...restaurant area. On this occasion we sat in restaurant area which for us was just ideal.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 4, 2020

I bought some patisserie and Julien rushed into putting them in a bag instead of a box. Then, he lied about the bread machine saying that it does not work and hence he could not cut the bread for me. Then, by miracle! he headed...to it and used it easily and quickly! When asked he claimed that it s late for him and he did not want to waste time on me!!!? then he even added that next time he will not cut the bread for me as I complained!!! Luckily Eli saved the situation by jumping in. Paul is my local bakery and I cannot avoid going there on daily basis for years. A shame i need to find another bakery now!More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
paulukl, Owner at Le Restaurant de Paul, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2020

Thank you for your feedback. Please feel free to contact our customer service team on feedback@paul-uk.com for more details.

Reviewed February 15, 2020

Have been here many times but the first time for breakfast. The choice was brilliant - they do a great basket of pastries + half baguette butter and jam for £6.50 - there was plenty for two and with it being Paul amazing quality pastries...and bread. Can’t recommend it highly enough.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 15, 2020 via mobile

Very busy pattiserie, very helpful staff. Lovely proper hot chocolate but sadly a disappointing afternoon tea. £20 and the cream provided to go into the scone was squirty cream from a can. The least they could have provided was extra thick double cream, but should...really have been clotted.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 13, 2020 via mobile

We LOVE Paul! We were delighted to find that our hotel was just a 5-minute walk from a Paul with restaurant service. We’ve gone for breakfast every morning so far...an excellent value for such high quality food. The breads and pastries are, of course, always...fantastic, and the cooked breakfast selections are great. Francesca has also provided excellent service 2 mornings in a row (she even remembered our preferences). We look forward to going back!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
paulukl, Owner at Le Restaurant de Paul, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2020

Thank you for your feedback and 5* review.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Covent Garden
Whether you're headed here to check out the multitude
of shops, theaters, cafes, pubs, and restaurants, or
simply to be among the multitude of people who pass
through this pretty part of town, you'll love soaking
up the festive and historic atmosphere in and around
Covent Garden. Even if you don't have tickets to the
opera or a show at one of the many famous theaters
here, don't be surprised if find yourself captivated
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Cafe Royal
2,058 reviews
.79 km away
Cheshire Hotel
654 reviews
.75 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
3,826 reviews
.76 km away
The Hoxton, Holborn
2,289 reviews
.68 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Steak & Co. Garrick Street Covent Garden
1,986 reviews
.06 km away
Flat Iron Covent Garden
3,345 reviews
.07 km away
Clos Maggiore
3,951 reviews
.04 km away
The Lamb & Flag
1,091 reviews
.06 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Trafalgar Square
8,091 reviews
.10 km away
St. Paul's Church (The Actors' Church)
166 reviews
.11 km away
Iris Theatre
13 reviews
.10 km away
Galeria Melissa
6 reviews
.10 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Florence K
October 19, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Mikey D | Reviewed this property |
You'll have to ask them about that
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing