We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
Bookatable
About
The Bistro restaurant at the Hotel Du Vin, Bristol is part of a Grade II listed warehouse building dating back to the 1700s. The traditional style seen in the appearance of the building is also reflected in the Bistro’s menu, although a contemporary edge is also given to array of European cuisine on offer, with simple classic dishes shifting seasonally and head chef Marcus Lang providing his own unique recipes each day. Opened in 1999, the Bistro restaurant welcomes diners seven days a week for lunches and dinners consisting of the finest in local produce (see the self explanatory yet carefully created Land, Sea and Local Menu). You might also enjoy sampling the restaurant’s bountiful and eclectic
PRICE RANGE
US$25 - US$32
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
European, Soups, British
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (638)
Filter reviews
631 results
Traveller rating
257
170
102
61
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
257
170
102
61
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prawn cocktail soup chateaubriand creme brûlée cheese board cod seafood prawns cakes market table four courses smoked salmon sunday lunch attentive service lovely evening food was lovely birthday meal
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 days ago

Stayed here this evening and went for dinner in the downstairs bistro. Service was incredible (thanks to Emily) and both offered great recommendations for a quiet drink afterwards. Thankyou to the lovely staff for making the evening so lovely.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a difficult day having left our pre planned hotel. When we arrived at the hotel the lady on reception was excellent and really looked interested in us . The guy in the bar Dwayne is one of the most dedicated people that I’ve...ever met. He made you feel very welcome and you could tell that he took his role seriously. The parking could be improved but apart from that 10 out of 10 ThanksMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for one night, arrived at 12.30 as we were booked on the 1pm tour of SS GREAT BRITAIN. We Pulled into car park & I went in to ask if ok to park here , the lady on reception didn’t understand my urgency at...needing information asap , when I said I need to hurry she thought it was 11.30am, told no parking space as they only had spaces for 5 pre booked cars, not made aware of this on booking, told to go to ncp car park around one way system to park over night with a £25 charge! (You do get a voucher from hotel that knocks around £5 off when you pay on leaving ) Did this ,then legged it down the marina (20 min walk) got there at 13.10. Did the fantastic tour. Stayed out for long lunch, phoned the hotel informed them that we will be checking in around 20.30 & could we book dinner, no problem to check in but no space for dinner. Had to get a taxi to car park for our luggage and walk down street & across road to hotel. Check in ok staff miserable all of them ! The room was a hideous attic room very small yet it had a huge bathroom, I think the bathrooms seem to be a big deal in this hotel, free standing bath large shower, we are tall people and the bedroom was too small dark and dingy, I cut my leg three times on the corner of a bed that was shoe horned into very small bedroom. Not good facilities kettle too low on a shelf under safe that we struggled to get out, dangerous when water boiled. I complained about the size of room & was told by the uninterested staff that there were no more rooms but they had one room at their sister hotel, by this time 21.30 we just wanted to relax so we declined the offer and got the issue resolved even though we booked room only they tried to charge us for two breakfasts on checkout. We sat in the bar where we got talking to other really disappointed guests whom had eaten and the food seemed to be not very good, glad we didn’t eat here. The lad on the bar was probably the only pleasant helpful member we came across, thank you. Positive was good toiletries in room. Overall the hotel is dark, dull , lacking in atmosphere & not particularly clean. I will never stay here again we couldn’t get away fast enough. Oh and not one staff member said goodbye , surprise!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We haven’t eaten here for over a year but thought we’d use the eat out scheme.we will certainly be dining more often now ! We liked the relaxed atmosphere with attentive service where we weren’t rushed. Smoked salmon was of good quality and cod was...cooked to perfection. The recipes were classic french . If you can’t go to France eat hereMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were delighted to visit friendly and relaxed restaurant that was not obsessed with virus hysteria. It would be nice if the staff were allowed to get rid of masks. Nice food and good service. Good atmosphere.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been to some great restaurants and paid around about the same price for a meal See this place as I live near and wanted to go for my 21 wedding anniversary. We would of been better going to McDonalds .Over priced bland food.....remained me of school dinners .fries all over the plate cheap steak on top .The starter was the worse .no style to the food what so ever.bad bad bad.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 9, 2020 via mobile

I have eaten here several times over the years and always had great food and service. Unfortunately this time the food wasn’t good - I had Moules that were very overcooked and the “cream sauce” was bland and tasteless. The service was terribly slow and...even though only 7 tables - it was 40 minutes after starters til mains arrived. The staff were friendly though so that’s a bonus!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 15, 2020 via mobile

We got a voucher for the 4 course lunch menu in the Bistro for Christmas and we were so impressed! Though it’s located in central Bristol, the hotel is sort of tucked away and as such neither myself or my partner had been there before....The decor and ambience is lovely and the staff very friendly. The food was absolutely delicious and with the addition of the buffet course as an additional starter - we both left feeling very full (and satisfied!) I’d definitely recommend if you fancy popping on a shirt and enjoying an upmarket roast and a glad of red on a Sunday! (Other main courses were available too).More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 28, 2020

A vibrant Saturday night started with champagne in the bar area and then we made our way through the lovely tasting menu accompanied by some delicious wines. Would recommend to anyone wanting a nice dining experience that isn't too crowded at the weekend.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed February 23, 2020 via mobile

My sister and family held a special birthday party at this venue today and were delighted with their 4 course Sunday lunch. My special thanks to reception that ensured the birthday girl received a beautiful bunch of flowers at their table.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge Portishead
1,156 reviews
12.02 km away
Swan Hotel
326 reviews
10.73 km away
Premier Inn Portishead hotel
1,094 reviews
11.82 km away
Almondsbury Interchange Hotel
501 reviews
10.69 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Urban Tandoor
1,834 reviews
.17 km away
Chance & Counters
120 reviews
.06 km away
Quay St Diner
133 reviews
.13 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Colston Hall
425 reviews
.26 km away
Palestine Museum and Cultural Centre
62 reviews
.17 km away
Christmas Steps
312 reviews
.05 km away
St John on the Wall
23 reviews
.14 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
371ME
December 12, 2018|
Answer
Response from LeeandZena | Reviewed this property |
I have no idea. Sorry for delay in replying
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing