We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
Bookatable

Ratings and reviews

#132 of 231 Bar in Bristol
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks

Location and contact

Old City
1.0 km from Brunel's SS Great Britain
Improve this listing
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
19
14
9
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
19
14
9
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fries burger mac and cheese potatoes average pub grub menu choices small plates sit outside great beer great pub friendly atmosphere food was lovely service was excellent butcombe harbourside
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This pub has improved vastly since Butcombe took over and since Covid it’s got even better what with table service and decent, very clean toilets. We took the kids for Saturday lunch in the sunshine. From our table next to the harbour we ordered burgers,...fries and various drinks through the easy-to-use app. Service was quick and the staff were very friendly. My wife said it was the best burger she can remember eating. I’d probably agree - especially for the price. Just what the doctor ordered!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked ahead but hoped for an outside seat but these can’t be reserved And it was packed! , but had a nice table by open window downstairs and you can still order from burger menu there. Burgers are 2 flat patties but enjoyable and...dirty fries were too. Drinks also nice and easy to use online ordering service. Drinks came out almost immediately and normal waiting time for food. Shout out to the staff member attending to the lavs all afternoon! They were very clean and well organised! Security pleasant too. Good atmosphere with tables spaced and good music playing.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a meal for 4 of us upstairs for Saturday evening. We had an absolutely brilliant time. Between us we had Mac and cheese, stuffed buttermilk chicken and 2 steak and ale pies, followed by the apple and plum crumble, a brownie and the Affogata....The food was lovely, everyone loved their food, lovely flavours and well cooked. The great food was topped off with excellent service. All in all a great place to eat. We’ll be back againMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Glad they have made the effort to accommodate customers post lockdown, lots of outdoor space to enjoy a pint or two however the service was sketchy at best with most staff purposely ignoring us for fear of actually having to serve and a dear little...portion of skinny fries with a smidge of pulled pork and a couple of scrapes of cheese £7.50 come on guys!!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great time here. We had lunch, the vegan pie, mac and cheese and the sea bass. All were lovely and we were all very happy with our meals. The garden is a great sunspot and we managed to grab a table.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have visited twice since they reopened and have eaten in the upstairs restaurant on both occasions and can’t fault anything! When I visited Saturday the lovely lady who was serving remembered me from my previous visit and asked how my trip to Cornwall was...which was so lovely as it made me feel like I wasn’t just another customer putting money in the till but that the staff do actually listen and are interested in you. I had the macaroni cheese with beef brisket which was perfect for a windy grey Saturday. It was creamy and the beef was delightful. Both visits I have been impressed with the post lockdown COVID procedures. The staff can always be seen cleaning/sanitising anything and everything they touch and you feel very safe. I will be visiting again next weekend for my partners birthday and we will be sampling the food from the outside kitchen this time which I’m sure will be just as delicious as the upstairs kitchen!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Look great beer and great location for evening drinks especially when the sun is settibg. After a few beers we got the munchies so order two lots of chips with the next round at £2.95 per portion. On delivery the chips were delivered in a...small paper type coffe cup. The portion compared to cost was far from reasonable equivalent to approx half a medium sized potatoe. The refunded us for one portion. The portion we started to consume were then found to be almost cold. We took them back to the counter, explained the above cost issue again and that they were cold. The bar person could barely apologies and and after a short slightly terse conversation the cold chips were (what felt like) snatched out of my hand and taken away back to the kitchen on the brightside a larger hot portion was delivered, so they fixed the problem. The services was I feel, poor and there is definetley room for improvement if not a smile. I will return in the future.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Been here many times over the years. More recently been 3/4 times since lighting of lockdown. Great app making it easy to order. Simple reduced menu with FAB lobster roll!

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We sat outside and ordered some drinks and we did not have to wait long for them to arrive. The member of staff was very curtious and professional. We were very happy to return and will be visiting again.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 11, 2020

Went for after works drinks with a group, staff were repeatedly rude to us, told us if we kept moving they would kick us out, when we had not moved from the table at all. My friends ordered drinks and they told them to leave...without serving them the drinks. I understand the social distancing rules but there is no need for such rude delivery to customers. Such a shame as a lovely spotMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Portishead hotel
1,091 reviews
12.25 km away
Swan Hotel
326 reviews
11.69 km away
Ambassadors Health Farm
12.08 km away
Almondsbury Interchange Hotel
501 reviews
11.65 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Tare
290 reviews
.31 km away
The Crepe and Coffee Cabin
300 reviews
.21 km away
Adelina Yard
406 reviews
.32 km away
Casamia
876 reviews
.08 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Bristol Ferry Boats
1,367 reviews
.22 km away
St Mary Redcliffe Church
873 reviews
.30 km away
The Matthew of Bristol
340 reviews
.35 km away
Harbourside
243 reviews
.36 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Ostrich staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing