We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
Bookatable

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
151
132
61
25
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
151
132
61
25
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb pie burger sunday roast chilli potatoes bread soup the pub butcombe beer friendly staff and locals ate here evening meal new chef lovely meal great beer medieval town
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

We have been to the Lamb Inn twice this week for lunch. First last Sunday: a really fantastic roast. There was so much of it, we really did not need the extra potatoes we ordered. I had pork which was perfectly cooked, with lovely crackling....My partner had lamb, again perfectly cooked. And both plates had a huge Yorkshire pud abd a good selection of vegetables. A great meal. Today we sat outside in the sun for lunch. I had beef pie and my partner had fish and chips. Again both meals were cooked to perfection. We both had a sweet, he had crumble and I had cheesecake with local strawberries. Neither of us could fault anything at all in any of the meals we have had this week at the Lamb Inn.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good pub food and the best beer in the land; Butcombe’s! Reasonably priced, friendly, old fashioned pub.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Decided to have a drink in the sunshine after a walk. Had to follow the now ‘normal’ Covid secure way of ordering etc. which was fine, if not a little slow... BUT our table was scattered with bits of food from the previous diners, sticky...and quite clearly not been wiped at all. The way I understand it, each table, bench etc should be sanitised after every diner/drinker. Just a thought, but if we have another spike, some hospitality should be making a bigger effort You could be closed yet again.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited the Lamb Inn yesterday for Sunday lunch. A group of friends on holiday. The food was out standing! One of the best Sunday lunches we’ve ever tasted. We loved the fact we could have had a whole joint to share but we opted...for different meats, each tasted each other’s and boy did our mouths drool. We will be back this week for more as your calamari and share bread with Camembert was amazing. Thank you guys! 5 star and well recommended.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Possibly the best Sunday lunch we have ever had. Four of us booked a table and we even turned up half an hour early to which the staff greeted us with open arms. We decided to share the calamari which was amazing and the the...Camembert to share was equally amazing. We all opted for traditional Sunday fare, 2 beef, one lamb and one belly pork...... safe to say that we all really enjoyed, the meat, roast potatoes and veg were stunning and unfortunately none of us had room for dessert. This is definitely a place we recommend and we will definitely visit again. Keep up the good work guys especially in these difficult times.... well done all ????More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First of all the fly infestation which drove us, and another family to move tables, then the lack lustre service and dreadful food - my husbands pizza was burnt on the bottom and inedible, when we complained we were told it was because they had...been so busy and so the oven was too hot! My 3 cheese macaroni didn't even taste of cheese... Don't bother!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Researched before we visited and read good reviews ... the welcome and the food was really good and we would have stayed for a pudding but it was really busy (eat out to help out evening) and we seemed to be left alittle ... we...asked for another drink which never arrived and were sat for a long time with our dirty plates . We were impressed with the food and appreciated that it was very busy so wouldn’t say not to go and give it a tryMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked for 8 people for a birthday evening dinner. Starters had to be sent back as were cold. Mains were hit and miss, steaks tough and dry. Pie cold in the middle was sent back to be microwaved. Gammon fatty. Our sides arrived after we...had finished the main despite asking for them when being served our main. Sent the sides back as we had already finished, informed waitress we had finished. Took another 45mins for our table to be cleared. Wasn’t even cleared fully before dessert. Dessert they couldn’t go wrong as we provided our own birthday cake! Although they didn’t actually offer anyone any other dessert. Requested a second round of drinks which didn’t arrive and had to ask several more times. Overall a really disappointing evening having read such good reviews from locals and tourists on here and Facebook we thought we’d be in for a good meal. Won’t be returning in a hurry or recommending to anyone! Expensive night out for poor quality.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Just got back from a lovely meal at The Lamb. First meal back since March and we were really impressed with the whole evening. Simon and Fergus made it very clear how to navigate around the pub and were really helpful when we wanted to...know how to use the Butcombe app along with the Eat out to help out scheme. All of our food was absolutely delicious and arrived in a good amount of time even though the pub was fully booked. Thank you for a great meal! We will definitely be back soon??More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 24, 2020 via mobile

I never write reviews, but - wow! What a roast!!!! Vegetarian roasts can be so hit or miss, but this one yesterday was spot on!!! I wasn’t sure what to expect as vegetarian roasts can vary SO much, but we ordered it anyway, and got...a huge plate of food, with a delicious vegetable wellington type thing with flaky pastry, a massive Yorkshire pudding, and super vegetables and gravy. Best roast I’ve had in ages. We ate it in the beautiful beer garden to the rear of the pub, while loads of dragonflies darted above our heads in the sunshine. You could see banana trees, as well as native plants like hazel trees (with hazelnuts growing on them!) around the garden. The staff were friendly and nice, and the price for food was fair. The kids menu had a fun pirate-themed activities on the back, so being a pen to compete the activities! Thank you for a lovely spontaneous Sunday lunch!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Admirals Table, Bridgewater by Marston's Inns
381 reviews
18.21 km away
Walton Park Hotel
1,384 reviews
18.15 km away
Laburnum House Lodge Hotel
182 reviews
15.88 km away
Premier Inn Glastonbury hotel
1,097 reviews
17.36 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Almshouse Tea Shop
403 reviews
.03 km away
The New Inn
528 reviews
1.22 km away
The Dining Room at The Oak House
210 reviews
.04 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
King John's Hunting Lodge
96 reviews
.01 km away
Learn to Cave
77 reviews
3.31 km away
Aardvark Endeavours
33 reviews
3.32 km away
Cheddar Crazy Golf
248 reviews
3.38 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Lamb Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing