We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#87 of 289 Mexican in Tulum
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

Details

CUISINES
Mexican, Seafood, Central American, South American
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
82
34
5
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
82
34
5
7
9
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went there for lunch wifey and I. The set up is amazing, eating in front of the ocean, right outside a jungly hotel. Great atmosphere. Ordered the Pescado ( grilled ) and was amazing. Had drinks , coffee, desserts and yes a bit pricey but...definitely worth the experience. Our waiter Cim was amazing too. Also sat on a couch later for few more drinks. Definitely going back!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 27, 2020 via mobile

Beware of scams - my husband ordered a martini for me and they charged us $630 pesos. Always ask for the price before you order. Lesson learned!

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 18, 2020 via mobile

This is a bit of a hidden gem. The food is very good and you have a very nice view of the ocean from the restaurant. They play jazz and the service is good.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed October 23, 2019

Wonderful food, better people!!!!! Incredible breakfasts facing the beach. Diego and Monica treat us fantastic, and the food was second to no one.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed March 21, 2019

We were celebrating a friends birthday and there were 7 of us at the table. Our server was young, nice but really didn't know the menu and was completely unattentive. He would disappear for long periods of time and we ran out of wine several...times because our server was no where to be found. Towards the end of the evening, I asked for the wine list and was informed that the restaurant was closing (it was around 10 and there were plenty of other tables occupied) and we could not order more wine. Mind you we had just received our entrees. After some protest, he went back to speak with the manager and returned to inform us we could order more wine. Really? Food was actually ok, prices were high, service was awful. We were in Tulum for a week and this was our only bad meal. Don't waste your time or money.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed February 13, 2019 via mobile

This restaurant had a very nice well rounded menu! I always prefer savory and sweet dishes and they seem to have a dish fitting for everyone that dined with us one afternoon! The staff is quite nice and they will guide you in the right...direction for what you are craving! On top of that all the dishes are prepared very beautifully!More

Date of visit: February 2019
Helpful?2  
Reviewed January 27, 2019

Be Tulum is a great hotel in na amazing forest-jungle setting in Tulum. The hotel looks fantistic but we did not see the rooms. The beach restaurant is Maresias - good food, nice service, but very slow. The prices are absolutely off limits, specially the...wine list, unreachable - bottles of normal wine starting at 75 euros plus!! They don′t want you to drink wine, at that price… In this restaurant, as in many touristic restaurants in Yucatlán, you are harassed into tipping minimum 15%, regardless of the actual service provided. The waiters are bold enough to tell you "here we practice 15% minimum!". They forget that tipping is a voluntary act that rewards a good service - and good serice is not just the guy smiling and saying "I am David and I will be looking after you today" Good service is bringing your glass of wine with your steak and not when you finished it, and so on….More

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed January 9, 2019 via mobile

We attended one of Be Tulum’s sunset parties in January 2019. On arrival we ordered two vodka sodas and were asked to pay the exorbitant cost of 700 Mexican pesos for both (that’s around 80% more than anywhere else in expensive Tulum). When it came...time to pay for the drinks on our credit card, our waiter charged us 7,000 Mexican Pesos (around USD350) for the two drinks. When challenged, he informed us that we were wrong and that it was pesos and not USD. Wrong. It took us at least 20 minutes and strong language with staff to admit this was wrong and to reverse the amount on our card. Watch out. I suspect these guys do this all the time with unsuspecting party goers. Pay cash or don’t go too this place as you will be ripped off.More

Helpful?6  
Reviewed January 8, 2019 via mobile

Nice restaurant located inside the Be Tulum hotel with seating right before and on the beach. The food is delicious and presentation fantastic. Great place to hang out and relax.

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed December 3, 2018 via mobile

Every dish we ordered for our group of 7 was amazing. Perfectly prepared, well balanced flavors and textures, and great presentation. Our party did not enjoy the cocktails, but the wine selection was good. Great ambiance. It gets a little chilly in the evening from...the wind off the ocean, but sitting close to the grill helped and they had towels for use as throws :)More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Kore Tulum Retreat and Spa Resort
2,083 reviews
6.08 km away
Hotel CalaLuna Tulum
464 reviews
4.95 km away
Habitas Tulum
231 reviews
5.86 km away
Zamas Hotel
802 reviews
4.69 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Loco Tulum
351 reviews
.20 km away
Saikuk
86 reviews
.83 km away
Mexican Experience Tulum
270 reviews
.74 km away
BAK’ by Harry's Prime Steakhouse & Raw Bar
426 reviews
.60 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Ziggy Beach
800 reviews
2.32 km away
Yaan Wellness Energy Healing Spa
93 reviews
.14 km away
Full View Kitesurfing & Watersports
39 reviews
.21 km away
Mayan Clay Spa
96 reviews
.80 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
moskoula
July 15, 2016|
Answer
Response from Pyramid160 | Reviewed this property |
Hi - I think there were quite a few yes, however as neither of us are veggie/vegan I can't be sure how many. Sorry.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing