We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#42 of 119 Seafood in Tulum
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

Location and contact

7.9 km from Tulum Archaeological Site
Improve this listing
About
An open-air restaurant located on the jungle side of Tulum's beach road. Local sea-to-table ingredients cooked on the grill or wood burning oven. Menu changes daily based on availability of ingredients.Dinner only. Pesos only.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Central American
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Table Service
Reviews (1,894)
Filter reviews
1,612 results
Traveller rating
946
298
170
91
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
946
298
170
91
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ribs jicama salad octopus steak empanadas potatoes prawns ice cream pineapple pollo seafood juice worth the wait wood burning oven via email open fire delicious meal
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I had heard so much about this place that I thought I had to go. Prices are ridiculous for what it is, I’m mean it’s good but not crazy good. Good service. Friendly people

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 14, 2020

The only reason I came to Tulum was for hartwood and it was worth it. Our food was unbelievable (recommend the pork ribs) and the cocktails topped it up, the staff were really friendly, can’t wait to go back!

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 14, 2020

I went there with my girlfriend last week as a last minute trip to scape Corona crazyness from my city. Even though it was short notice, the reservation team (Polina) was very helpful to find a table for us and gave us information for our...booking like restaurant being cash only, estimated price points, nearby parking lots, cash withdrawals in town, etc. Every doubt I had was answered. Arriving to the restaurant the hosts are very friendly and helpful too, they quickly offered us a drink while waiting 5 min for our table to be ready. Our waiter told us about the menu and made sure to accommodate some allergies and food restrictions even though the menu is made by the Chef daily, they were able to make sure we had a great meal. Prices are some of the highest we paid in Tulum but we believe it’s worth it and if you are looking for a special treat, this is it! We left very satisfied and even had to take some of our food to go as we were to full already. Also we felt very safe since the restaurant is open air and all staff wears face masks, during our time in Hartwood we really enjoyed ourselves and the atmosphere. Thank you Hartwood for being a great getaway and a real experience in Tulum!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 12, 2020 via mobile

I usually do not spend too much time and words on negative reviews but this place earned every one of them. For starters, food and drinks are highly overpriced. Service is far from ideal but things get really nasty when they bring the check and...let you know they don’t take credit cards. The “Overpriced” and “no credit cards” combination means a lot of cash, which is not particularly smart in Mexico and much less in Tulum, where safety is far from ideal. We volunteered several cards to settle the bill but the waiters started to insult us for not carrying cash. We asked for the manager and this shirtless teenager shows up to insult us again. Terrible is an understatement. Trust me, after 60,000+ readers I’m sure this is not the idea of the consumer experience you have in mind coming all the way to Tulum...Stay away.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 2, 2020

Wood fired delicousness. Great service. Not over hyped - yes - a bit pricey - but worth it. Loved our experience here. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 10, 2020 via mobile

Wow! Where to start with this outdoor restaurant surrounded by jungle and stars. We had high expectations and they lived up to every bit and beyond. We were greeted by the nicest host and sat quickly, they brought over boards with their fresh selections of...the day, while we waited on our drinks our waiter came and walked us through every dish. We ordered grilled shrimp and tuna tostadas to start and followed with a surf and turf (because who wouldn’t?!) the appetizers were mouth watering and then came a huge lobster for only 90 dollars! We ate every last bite and unfortunately didn’t have room for their icecream creation of the day. Needless to say everything from ambiance, food and service were perfect! We will be back on our next trip to Tulum!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed July 6, 2020

what can i say....its a vibe and the food is on another level. whenever i come to Tulum, it is a place I always dine

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 1, 2020

I had high hopes for Hartwood as this restaurant came highly recommended to my husband and I from friends. However, we were very much disappointed. Everything was just average including the music, ambiance, service, cocktails and especially the food. The whole experience was quite expensive...as well for what received. The food was lacking in flavor and luster. Our appetizer was drenched in ranch of all things, RANCH! We had amazing food all around Tulum but this was probably our worst meal.More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed April 1, 2020

Hartwood is one of the reasons we picked Tulum as a destination a few years ago and is a huge part of why we keep coming back. The food + drinks are beyond, and the vibe + the people make it a place where you...just want to hang. You’re a part of the magic as soon as you walk in! Definitely some of our favorite dinners ever. Best of all is the Hartwood Family—we’ve made some friends for life. We can’t wait to get back—The Clash on the speakers, drinks in our hands, and hanging with some of our favorite people at our favorite spot.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed April 1, 2020

This wasn’t my first rodeo at Hartwood and to be honest we come to Tulum JUST to eat here. Never fails. Best meal of my LIFE every single time. The drinks, the flavors, the atmosphere... it’s all Hot and delicious

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Kore Tulum Retreat and Spa Resort
2,083 reviews
4.52 km away
Hotel CalaLuna Tulum
464 reviews
3.40 km away
Habitas Tulum
232 reviews
4.31 km away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
1,254 reviews
2.62 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Tora Tulum
227 reviews
.03 km away
BAL NAK'
228 reviews
.06 km away
Rosa Negra
2,040 reviews
.03 km away
Raw Love Cafe
507 reviews
.31 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Ziggy Beach
800 reviews
.75 km away
Get Wet Dive Shop
74 reviews
.22 km away
Tulum Jungle Gym
137 reviews
.25 km away
Mirko & Luna Candlelight Yoga Tulum Mexico
6 reviews
.29 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Rebecca B
January 14, 2020|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from JonnyViews | Reviewed this property |
I don't think so, but will be difficult to organise. The restaurant is always full.And don't be late.
0
Votes
Sheena Mae B
July 29, 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from angelaasher | Reviewed this property |
email if you have the time in advance . stop by if you’re in the area to see availability for same day, but more along the lines of a few days in advance . hope that helps
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing