We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
At Nü you will discover the results of a passion for food creation, hard work and friendship. Nü's creations are flavorful, honest and original. The goal is pure and yet ambitious: to make Tulum visitors discover the richness of the modern Mexican cuisine and ingredients, in a creative manner. Nü is run by a team of 7 talented chefs lead by Cesar Castaneda, who was elected as one of Mexico’s 10 best Chefs under 30 by Gourmet Magazine. When starting this adventure by leaving Mexico City for Tulum, they decided to get tattooed a heptagon symbolizing the spiritual bond between the 7 of them, dedication and unconventional spirit. This heptagon tattoo is now our logo, and we are very proud of it
PRICE RANGE
US$45 - US$1,300
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner
CUISINES
Mexican, Contemporary
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Wine and Beer
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
144
11
9
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
144
11
9
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pork belly tacos octopus vegetable rice lengua mole tasting menu tongue coconut ice cream homemade bread paella tortillas cakes la valise chef cesar fish of the day contemporary mexican food wine by the glass
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago

When you visit Tulum and better yet stay in Encantada hote, NU restaurant visit is a must!! Chef Cesar Castenada was elected one of the best Mexico`s chefs under age of 30. His culinary experience acquired through one of the best restaurants in the country...is clearly visible in his perception of food. The ambiance of NU is awesome, you can feel connection with a jungle, an open kitchen disperse the flavors of food, lights and burned copal make a great visual effect on the whole place. All the people working there from hosts, through servers and whole team are fantastic, you can definitely feel that you are in the right culinary place, well taken care of. Nu menu is definitely contemporary and you can expect nice and yet surprising twists on the dishes you order. We had fish tartare with coconut ice cream that blew us away and we will remember it for a long time. We also tried their octopus and whole grilled fish prepared by one of the NU chefs Rafa who absolutely knows the connection between food and natural fire. Team of NU is passionate about their food, choose their ingredients carefully and you can experience that at that place. Their menu changes based on season and products but I am pretty sure that chef Castenada artistic approach to gastronomy will make every dish incredible. They offer great selection of fabulous drinks, mezcal and tequilla. We even took a shot on a dessert ( to be honest we are not big fans of sweets, I know it may sound strange :))) Chocolate Tart and it was beyond delicious, made with local dark chocolate and avocado was a very interesting and yet not to sweet was a great supplement of our evening. Tulum has a huge restaurant scene to choose from but make sure you check the NU, I assure you your journey will be a one to remember.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
GuillaumeRGM, Director General at NU Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you so much for your kind words and the time you took to share your experience. For us this is a dream come true and feedback like this keeps us extremely motivated. We would love to have you back soon to surprise you again...More

Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed November 24, 2019

Tulum is quite a foodie experience and Nu was the best meal of our 6 day visit! We had excellent service, delicious cocktails and the food was amazing. Make sure Nu is on your agenda. The only thing that could have been better is if...they had plenty of fans turned on. It was very, very hot on the jungle side.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
Cesar C, Chief Executive at NU Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2019

It is a pleasure to know the experience was of your total satisfaction. Thank you so much for spreading the word about Nü and our Mexican creative cuisine. We would be thrilled to host you again at Nü and taste our new seasonal creations!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I had the most incredible meal and experience at Nu. The service is absolutely impeccable - the best in Tulum. The drinks are so unique, fresh, and high quality. And they will make you any drink you want, just tell them what...you like and you get the most delicious, fresh, hand crafted cocktail. From the moment you walk into Nu they treat you like you are a VIP guest, making sure everything is perfect and even asking if you need any other recommendations in the area. The food is the best - our waiter gave great tips on what to order and it was truly one of the best meals. Make sure to get their whole fish entree - it is phenomenal. Nu is beachfront with a beautiful breeze from the sea. The entire place is beautifully decorated and feels like you are in a hidden magical resort. A must go in Tulum!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
GuillaumeRGM, Director General at NU Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind words and the time you took to share your experience. For us this is a dream come true and feedback like this keeps us extremely motivated. We would love to have you back soon to surprise you again...More

Reviewed July 26, 2020

My husband and I dined at Nu in February and couldn’t wait to come back! We came back in July and our experience was just as amazing, actually even more so! Our service was impeccable, dishes were timed so perfectly. The food was to die...for! Everything on the menu is delicious but if you must limit to a few dishes- the pork belly tacos and the soccarot are the reasons we came back. For the drinks- a must try is the old fashioned.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
CesarC3133, Propietario at NU Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2020

Thank you so much for your kind words and the time you took to share your experience. For us this is a dream come true and feedback like this keeps us extremely motivated. We would love to have you back soon to surprise you again...More

Reviewed April 14, 2020

Food and service were amazing! The jungle vibes, the friendly staff, amazing cocktails and exquisite revisited Mexican cuisine..made our night so special!

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
CesarC3133, Chef at NU Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2020

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. It is a pleasure to read we fulfilled your expectations and that our service and food was of your total satisfaction. We would love to have you again to enjoy our seasonal menu!

Reviewed March 15, 2020 via mobile

Nu was an exceptional experience from start to finish. We started with a few expertly crafted cocktails and then shared a delicious ceviche and pork belly tacos, then a duck mole, followed by homemade ice cream for dessert. We liked it so much we went...back the next night! Definitely the culinary highlight of the trip!More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
CesarC3133, Chef at NU Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2020

Thank you so much for your kind words and the time you took to share your experience. For us this is a dream come true and feedback like this keeps us extremely motivated. We would love to have you back soon to surprise you again...More

Reviewed March 15, 2020 via mobile

There was less traffic and available seating at 7:30 on that end of the strip. The service was excellent. Drinks were good. What stood out were the mixture of sweetness into the main courses. The Fish Tartare had Coconut Ice Cream on top and the...Duck has sweet mole sauce. It was unexpected but greatMore

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
CesarC3133, Chef at NU Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2020

It is a pleasure to know the experience was of your total satisfaction. Thank you so much for spreading the word about Nü and our Mexican creative cuisine. We would be thrilled to host you again at Nü and taste our new seasonal creations!

Reviewed March 7, 2020 via mobile

Just yum. Really great Yucatán food. Eat everything they offer you. Excellent food, great drinks, cool location.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
CesarC3133, Chef at NU Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2020

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. It is a pleasure to read we fulfilled your expectations and that our service and food was of your total satisfaction. We would love to have you again to enjoy our seasonal menu!

Reviewed February 28, 2020

Best restaurant to have a refined and romantic dinner. Food is completely innovative, can be compared with any Michelin restaurant in London, atmosphere offers a real Tulum vibe with a real jungle feel. Because it's after Nomade and Casa Malca, you are more secluded and...you feel like the whole restaurant is reserved only for you and your dinner date. Exceptional service, visual food and amazing wine and cocktail menu. This is clearly our first stop every time we land in Tulum and go to dinner.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
CesarC3133, Chef at NU Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2020

Thank you so much for your kind words and the time you took to share your experience. For us this is a dream come true and feedback like this keeps us extremely motivated. We would love to have you back soon to surprise you again...More

Reviewed February 26, 2020

Excellent service and delicious food! Very nice and clean restaurant, we had a wonderfull time. Is a must to visit in Tulum. Music according to the place

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
CesarC3133, Chef at NU Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2020

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. It is a pleasure to read we fulfilled your expectations and that our service and food was of your total satisfaction. We would love to have you again to enjoy our seasonal menu!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Kore Tulum Retreat and Spa Resort
2,083 reviews
5.59 km away
Maria Del Mar Boutique Hotel
333 reviews
4.39 km away
Habitas Tulum
232 reviews
5.37 km away
Bejuco Hotel Tulum
24 reviews
4.30 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Loco Tulum
353 reviews
.36 km away
Saikuk
86 reviews
.33 km away
BAK’ by Harry's Prime Steakhouse & Raw Bar
428 reviews
.10 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Full View Kitesurfing & Watersports
39 reviews
.29 km away
Mayan Clay Spa
96 reviews
.30 km away
Yaan Wellness Energy Healing Spa
93 reviews
.46 km away
Tulum Jungle Gym
137 reviews
1.29 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from NU Tulum staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing