We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#69 of 119 Seafood in Tulum
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Mentioned in

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$40 - US$100
CUISINES
Seafood, Grill
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
37
4
4
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
37
4
4
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chocolate cake sardines octopus lamb michelin star chef mauricio dining experience tulum hotel wine list dishes cocktails presentation servings beach
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed February 20, 2020 via mobile

Fine dining in Tulum. This is one of the best and most sophisticated restaurants on the beach. If you like to splurge try the tasting menu with the wine parring. It is well worth it.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 19, 2020

We went to Ocumare as a family group while on holiday at Tulum beach and can thoroughly recommend it. The food was innovative and contemporary without losing sight of the fact that no matter how 'modern' and 'fusion' a meal is, it still has to...taste great. We loved it. The service was attentive and friendly without being solicitous. There was an excellent group of live musicians with a singer playing the night we ate. All in all, we couldn't fault it. Tulum Beach enjoys a number of excellent restaurants but nonetheless this was amongst the best.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 5, 2020

We walked in at 8:15 PM. It took 15 minutes of waiting at our table before we were given menu's. After additional 60 minutes our welcome stacks were served, and our first servings came just after. One of the dishes ordered had been forgotten. When...we received the bill our bottle of wine was charged with MXP 700 more than the price shown on the wine list. During our stay of just over two hours were not on single time approached by a waiter, but we have to wave for one every time we needed service. When we walked in the hostess made a big show about how difficult it would be to find us a table, because we had no reservation. When we left the restaurant around 10:30 PM eight tables which had been vacant upon our arrival was still vacant. Food was nice, but overprized.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 22, 2019 via mobile

In a major city full of upscale restaurants is would be a strong 4 This restaurant is owned or at least the menu is designed by Michelin star Argentinan chef Mauricio Giovanini. Nice ambiance, a solid menu with some interesting choices; service is very good...and dishes are carefully served and presented. Bar selection is very good and on thursday evenings there is jazzy live music Remember; this is located on a beach. There is no A/C so you ought to deal with it. Is it expensive: yes but you are not eating fish & chips We would ‘t go there with kids; the ambiance is couples welcoming...More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed April 22, 2019 via mobile

Ocumare is part of the Be Tulum hotel. My career is in hotel appraisals and I have been lucky enough to appraise some of the flagship hotels in NYC. And based on my career in hotel appraisals and personal travels around the world, i have...seldom come across a more pompous and arrogant staff as I have seen at Ocumare. I keep asking myself, “why”. Why do these staff members think its ok to act so elitist to patrons paying top dollar to eat here? Overall experience is that the food is overpriced, over salted and service based on the price ranks it among the worst I have ever experienced. If you want to enjoy Tulum avoid this place. One star. Barely. And i hope ownership can solve this, though I believe this elitist culture is from top down unfortunately.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed April 21, 2019 via mobile

Do not miss this gem in Tulum. I admit to my skepticism of “foam” as a component of a dish, but I was totally wrong. Ocumare has the best octopus and rack of lamb I’ve ever tasted. But my favorite might be the chicken thigh....Don’t miss out on the Mediterranean ceviche either. The ambience and wine were incredible as well. Highly recommend!More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed April 7, 2019

I am not sure what happened but everything was greasy and not tasty at all. The food is also totally over priced. I took one bite off each dish and refused to eat the rest. Stay away from this place. They are trying too hard...and the place is just pretentious. For a great meal go to Arca, Kitchen Table or Hartwood.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

Very expensive but so worth it it ! Everything was delicious and very subtle - from the lamb to Los chipa along with fish specialties. The service was great as well. The restaurant is more expensive than other you can find but was the best...we tasted.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed April 2, 2019

Our first warning should have been how much they mention that the Chef has a Michelin star. Except it's for another restaurant. In Spain. Where he is still the chef. Not here. I honestly have no idea what he has to do with Ocumare because...there is clearly nothing remotely star-worthy going on in the kitchen. The small-plate menu is creative though a little oddly organized into categories like "Ember Flavors". And somehow the only three Meat choices are chicken thigh, rack of lamb and gizzards. We ordered a selection five small plates plus dessert. The two marinated fish dishes were awful – the cured bass was bland and chewy, and the giant shrimp were flavorless, mushy and served in a puddle of runny goo. The rest of the meal didn’t get much better and we didn’t finish a single dish that was served. The meal ran about $200 US for two with one cocktail and a glass of wine. It was the most expensive meal we had in Tulum by far, but we wouldn’t have minded if the food wasn’t just so bad. I’m not sure what’s going on here. It’s a creative and ambitious concept. The restaurant itself is lovely and comfortable. The presentations were impressive but the tastes and textures all missed the mark. I kept thinking about those cooking competition shows where a young up-and-coming chef decides to do something really ambitious with the secret ingredient but his octopus infused foam didn't come out right so he tries to thicken it with potato starch but it comes out all gloppy and runny and the food critic judge tastes it and rolls her eyes and then Padma Lakshmi gives him that pitiful look and the other chef contestants look relieved because suddenly their octopus sorbet doesn't seem so ill-conceived by comparison. Yeah, it's like that.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed March 26, 2019

This restaurant would really benefit from a prix fixe menu, as in the end we left feeling the food feels disjointed. At the start the bring a little welcome dish with 4 lovely bites that works quite well. Then we had three dishes that were...ok (ceviche-classic nice presentation, Hindu chippas- tasty, Falafel- good but strange you can only eat with spoon would benifit from a pita). Then we had two that were ridiculous(grilled onion-nice presentation but nothing behind it, and Snapper- bad chain restaurant piaya flavor). Still hungery we ordered another type of chippas(sardines and olive tapenade- ironically the sardines would have benifitedcfrom being smaller...., ) Finally dessert Rustic chocolate cake it was just ok. We would probably not go back.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Ambre & Epices Jungle Hotel & Spa
4 reviews
6.04 km away
La Posada Del Sol
255 reviews
4.89 km away
Habitas Tulum
232 reviews
5.83 km away
Bejuco Hotel Tulum
24 reviews
4.77 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Loco Tulum
354 reviews
.12 km away
Saikuk
86 reviews
.80 km away
Mexican Experience Tulum
270 reviews
.77 km away
BAK’ by Harry's Prime Steakhouse & Raw Bar
428 reviews
.57 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Ziggy Beach
800 reviews
2.28 km away
Yaan Wellness Energy Healing Spa
93 reviews
.01 km away
Full View Kitesurfing & Watersports
39 reviews
.21 km away
Mayan Clay Spa
96 reviews
.77 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Ocumare staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing