We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#65 of 289 Mexican in Tulum
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Mentioned in

Food and ambience

Mexican, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
About
KIN TOH is a fine dining, high-cuisine restaurant experience. Built on stilts 12m above Tulum`s Mayan jungle, our venue is the best location to gaze at the beautiful Caribbean sunsets. We seek to surprise and create unparalleled and unforgettable sensations for our customers. We use different textures, flavours, temperatures and the best ingredients for Mexican and Mayan infused cuisine. We only use fresh products, most of them locally grown and organic, to ensure the best quality in every dish served. Through our cuisine, we invite our guests to join us in a unique gastronomical journey to reconnect with the elements. We offer a wide selection of international spirits and Mexican distillates
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner
CUISINES
Mexican
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Valet Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
188
34
30
17
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
188
34
30
17
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews truffle oysters fettuccine octopus tree house our waiter birds nest treehouse restaurant course menu amazing setting anniversary dinner nice table beautiful restaurant special occasion beautiful experience fine dining dining experience
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

They scam you with the wine, be careful. They charged us 300 US dollars for a wine that was "comperable" to a 50 dollar bottle we liked that was not available. Horrible experience.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 15, 2020

This place is architecturally stunning! But we had a distinctly average dinner. Menu was bizarre, food was not at all fresh and the service was not fitting of a restaurant that is more expensive than the top European city restaurants. Go for a cocktail and...a social media photo but don’t eat here! It’s also incredibly dark that essentially created a lack of atmosphere in the restaurant. They call it saving on electricity for the planet but still have CCTV cameras everywhere! Our food was cold and not nice at all. The Malbec wine I had, I get in Amsterdam for 11 euros a bottle. Here it was 16 euros for a very small glass! I understand mark ups but this is embarrassing. Also wanted a cocktail pre-dinner for sunset, but you have to pay an extra 50 dollars each for that! Then but the drink. We said we had a dinner reservation but the girl with the clipboard said no. Quite rude and really typifies the focus of the place, to just make as much money as possible off the back of a really cool venue.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?3  
Reviewed March 5, 2020 via mobile

First off, I highly recommend going to this place for drinks because the interior design is incredible, and that’s the most cost efficient way of getting in. We thought the food was average at best and when you factor in the cost, it was *not*...worth it. The appetizers were below average, while the entrees were pretty good (but 50% more money than better entrees at places like Rosa Negra).More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?3  
Reviewed March 4, 2020

Wow, this place lived up to and surpassed my expectations. We got there just in time for our reservation (of course I recommend you get one). From the beginning walking up to the restaurant I was captivated by the beauty of this place and we...were just making our way to the hostess. Once we got seated we got greeted by our waiter Mario. Mario was also beyond attentive, he truly made our dinning experience unforgettable. He helped my boyfriend take better pictures of my sister and I, gave us a tour of the other parts of the restaurant, all without us having to ask. We knew he had other tables to attend to but when he was with us he made us feel like we were his only table. Loved loved loved this place, the beauty of it, the drinks, service and dessert were my favorite parts of our visit here. I also posted this review on Yelp because I had to get the word out.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 14, 2020

It’s the most fabulous bar in the world! Really amazing! Thanks to the bar man takes pic for me every night! The best ever ! XxMore

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
AZULIK-Tulum, Owner at Kin Toh, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2020

Dear Flyer69060, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how your experience was, thank you for all your words. We are so glad reading that you really enjoyed your visit. We hope you can visit us in the near future!...More

Reviewed February 13, 2020 via mobile

3500$MX and a very bad feeling about this experience at the Kin Toh due to the server we got. The food not extraordinary. Perfect, just for the spot, not for the experience, not for the staff, not for the food.

Helpful?2  
Reviewed February 10, 2020

If you like going to restaurants for a unique experience, this is definitely the place. The beautiful surroundings and visuals are as important as the food to me and Kin Toh definitely has inspiring surroudings. We were a group of 6 and our two waiters...took VERY good care of us. Sorry I forgot their names, but their pictures are included. We did not order a lot of food, but what we had was beautifully presented with wonderful flavours. The evening was amazing and we would highly recommend Kin Toh for the experience and the food. We made reservations online for the six o'clock setting and that worked very well for us. We arrived at 5:45 and although there were a number of people lined up ahead of us (who had NOT made reservations online), we were shown to our table in a few minutes. All staff were friendly and kind. We walked around the facility easily to look at all the various views after ordering our drinks and enjoyed the various surroundings very much.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
AZULIK-Tulum, Owner at Kin Toh, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2020

Dear CJDueck, We would like to thank you for your review and your kind words, we are happy reading that your experience was great. We hope you can visit us again soon! Best Regards! AZULIK Tribe

Reviewed February 1, 2020

Mauricio gave us an excepcional service, professional and caring. Highly recomended to any tourist in Tulum willing to spend an excellent time!!!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
AZULIK-Tulum, Manager at Kin Toh, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2020

Dear adrianadM90PC, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your experience at Kin Toh was, thank you so much for your words about the service, be sure we are going to share your comment with Mauricio. We hope to see you...More

Reviewed January 30, 2020 via mobile

They charged me $96 just for establishing a reservation. I did not go nor service was rendered. This is basically larceny. I would not recommend. Me cobraron $96USA solo por establecer una reserva. No fui ni se prestó el servicio. Esto es básicamente hurto. No...lo recomendaría.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
AZULIK-Tulum, Owner at Kin Toh, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2020

Dear Livinglegit, We understand your complain, we answered you as well the review you left on our other account. The reservations are made via Open Table that has its no-show policies that include a charge if the client doesn't cancel his reservation at all. If...More

Reviewed January 30, 2020

PROS Let me start by saying that the food was excellent and our waiters were very nice during dinner, making us feel comfortable and welcome, and they all seemed to understand English. MEDIUM This restaurant has three seatings: 6, 7:30, and 9:00 pm. OpenTable says...that the restaurant has valet parking. When we arrived at 7:00, hoping to get a drink before dinner, the valet was there but there were no more parking spaces—I guess the 6:00 crowd filled up the lot. They told me to turn around, on this extremely busy narrow road, and go down 700 meters and find a spot on the side of the road. A bit of a pain, but at least the valet’s tip went to me. This restaurant is very expensive and OpenTable says the dress code is “Formal,” which makes sense even for Tulum. I came with black slacks and a white linen shirt and my partner wore black leggings with a very dressy top. She looked great. The only problem was that we were nearly the only ones who weren’t in shorts and tee shirts—the guy at a nearby table was barefoot. Still, not a big deal. Reviewers have said that Kin Toh didn’t have a wine list, but now they do. I saw an Italian wine I wanted to try and my partner wanted a Spanish Rioja. Both were by bottle or glass, so we decided to start with a glass of each. The “sommelier” brought two bottles of local Merlot and said they didn’t have any of the ones we wanted. They now have a wine list, just not the wines on the list. CONS I made a reservation on OpenTable for 7:30. When we arrived at 7:00 we planned to have a cocktail then dinner. The hostess told us that they did have my reservation, but to get a drink at the bar we had to pay a cover charge of $30 USD person even though we had a reservation. She said the balance of the $60, after the cost of our two drinks, would be credited to our dinner. We said ok and they charged my card for $60. I’ll come back to this later. Next we went to the small bar area and sat for ten minutes before one of the four servers came over. We ordered two drinks and 15 minutes later got our Grey Goose on the rocks and a Manhattan. Fifteen minutes? It wasn’t even busy. OpenTable says the noise level is “Quiet.” The reviewer must have been truly hard of hearing because they had a DJ playing repetitive House Music over and over, which was not only loud in the bar, but also piped into the dining areas. We went to our table for dinner, after making sure they would credit the remainder our $60 to the final bill. They assured us that it would be. After dinner we were presented with a check for the full amount of our dinner with no credit. We asked politely why the credit wasn’t deducted and all of a sudden no one understood English. Nothing we could say would convince them. We were charged $60 plus the entire cost of dinner. Definitely a big deal. We have multiple friends coming to visit during our 10 week stay in Akumal. We were hoping this would be our “go-to impressive” restaurant—we will have to keep looking and would not recommend this restaurant to anyone, despite good food.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?2  
AZULIK-Tulum, Owner at Kin Toh, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2020

Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry that you had an issue with the bar fee, we offer you a sincere apology. We are going to investigate what happened and why the bill had the full charge....More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Las Tres Palmas
135 reviews
3.69 km away
Amelie Tulum
333 reviews
3.53 km away
Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel
178 reviews
3.65 km away
Aldea Tulum
25 reviews
3.34 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Tunich
372 reviews
.15 km away
Boccanera Pizzeria y Cerveceria
65 reviews
.34 km away
Mivida Tapas Bar&Restaurant
479 reviews
.18 km away
Sin Yolanda Maricarmen
229 reviews
.19 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Ziggy Beach
800 reviews
2.79 km away
Playa Paraiso
4,793 reviews
2.81 km away
Aqua Asanas Tulum Sup Yoga
54 reviews
.15 km away
Mexidivers Tulum
329 reviews
.46 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sherrithomas21
September 11, 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from sherrithomas21 |
I reached out to Azulik through their Instagram account and got a response back. They are closed due to covid-19 and don’t have a date for a reopening. Since everything is so unpredictable- they have decided it is safer to... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing