We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

Shinjuku / Nakano / Suginami
0.5 km from Tokyo Metropolitan Government Buildings
Improve this listing
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveller rating
351
161
63
37
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
351
161
63
37
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fries cover charge lost in translation jazz band park hyatt great view bill murray great cocktails top floor 8pm movie views tokyo window smoking smoke bars
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed June 27, 2020

Like probably a lot of people who visit, I went there because of Lost In Translation but it didn't disappoint. It was everything I expected and more.

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed February 20, 2020

When I worked in Tokyo,my wife and I brought all of our children over for a visit - individually. Their homework before the flight was to watch Lost in Translation. This is the bar where Bill Murray would hang out. It's on the 52nd floor...and not to be confused with The Peak Lounge which is on the 41st floor. You should try to get there when it opens. At 7 PM, there is a nice band that performs and there is a small cover charge. Before that, you should be taking your pictures of the beautiful sunset and the awakening of the lights. It's Tokyo and it is the Park Hyatt so prices are higher. It's worth it.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed February 14, 2020 via mobile

A friend had arranged for us to have a few drinks here as a “must-see” while in Tokyo for our honeymoon, and we couldn’t have had a more perfect evening! The live jazz band were excellent, the gin martinis were strong but well-balanced, the staff...attentive and the general ambience exquisite, and that’s before you factor in the view. Do this or miss out!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 4, 2020

Went here with two friends while we were in Tokyo. Last minute decision that was one of our favorites! The hotel is stunning and that alone is worth seeing. The bar is dark and classy and the view at night is fantastic! We enjoyed sipping...our cosmopolitans and eating a few appetizers while we discussed what we had seen that day. The view and the classiness of this bar will be forever etched in my memory!More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

We went to the New York Bar on our last night. It’s worth a visit even for one drink. The fading light, glorious sunset behind Mt Fuji and then the amazing night sky of Tokyo make this a great experience. We didn’t stay for the...live music but the atmosphere still enjoyable.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed January 9, 2020 via mobile

It’s the Lost in Translation bar, but there’s nothing lost in the enjoyment and vibe here. Great cocktails, significant whiskies, good jazz. Perfect for after a fine meal at the restaurant.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed January 6, 2020

We went here a couple of time while we stayed at the hotel. Wish it was non-smoking and would have enjoyed the place more but the smoking was worse on some nights. The view is amazing, cocktails and service excellent. Definitely recommend early evening for...the view and later for the live band although if you don't stay at the hotel, there is a cover charge of around $25More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed December 9, 2019

I often go to restaurants and dine solo. I am visiting Japan and decided to give this place a try last minute. I arrived early. At approx 6pm. It was fairly empty so I got a seat quickly with no problem. First thing was the...strong smoke smell. I was told I was in the no smoking section but I was right next to the smoking section and I have asthma so this wouldn’t do. There were many seats by the window with the amazing view that were open but they were reserved because people had booked months in advance....fine. They move me to another seat... literally right next to the other one and again the smoke. So they moved me to the other side which was right next to the kitchen, taking away the ambiance of the place because I could here the hurrying and conversation of the staff. (Not that I understood what they were saying but still...) I ordered the caviar 30mg. It was nice. But me being a avid caviar eater couldn’t justify paying $180 for $70 caviar...but hey it’s all about the experience right? My main reason coming was to try the Waygu meat. It took forever to receive my food. When I say forever I mean people that came in a HOUR after me already had their entrees and here I am reading a book on kindle to pass the time while I anxiously wait for my +400 +++ on top of $180 caviar... meal. It was ridiculous. I am spending $600+ as a solo young female because I am wanting a spectacular experience. I expect to be waited ON not to wait on the server. I have been to hole in the wall restaurants with better service and quite frankly better food. I will say this: my waiter appeared to be new. Don’t get me wrong I love the Japanese culture and Japanese people are very kind and honest in general. So I am not upset about coming in late...getting a crappy view.... or the waiter because he was nice. I am upset about the lack of attention to detail and management of handling a staff and timing things properly. When I was younger (than I am now) I managed at a very high end restaurant. I paid attention to detail and made sure meals were timed just right. At this restaurant I felt like I was shoved in the corner and forgot about because other guest were more “important.” May not be true but it really felt like this. When you are looking at Multiple different guests that just sat down 15 minutes ago and they’re all eating meanwhile you don’t even have your main course yet...your judgements become true. Now onto the food. Very sub par. Again. I have been to many high end restaurants and multiple Michelin restaurants and this place did not deliver. My Waygu was of warm cook temperature (how long was it sitting out?) and it was very oily and lacking of quality. Very unimpressive with some parts being rubbery. I ordered the broccolini as a side and they delivered maybe 6 pieces? Again very basic and nothing special to write home about. Not that anyone cares but if management is reading this I felt very unappreciated here. This was my last day in Tokyo and I wanted a nice experience. Instead I got sub par food, meh service (although waiter was very nice and I don’t blame him) and long wait times between each ordered item. All in all I wouldn’t return. I am being nice giving 2 stars because again the waiter was very sweet but I would assume new because nothing was timed correctly and I found myself twirling my thumbs anxiously waiting and having to reach out and ask for my meal... my drink.... ect. I even waited for them to charge my card. They were just serving ANOTHER table that came way after me. Even the manager apologies many times but at this point I just wanted to leave. I am writing this review in the lounge bar. This just happened moments ago. Just a example of how furious I am that I had to leave a review right away to take out my frustration on my treatment here. My advice. If you want a great view, book months in advance because you won’t get a nice view at all. You’ll be high up but it won’t be a great view. If you’re a smoker then good in you you’ll love it. But if you prefer your food not having a stomach of tobacco I’d suggest another location as there are many that have much better reviews a bit outside Shinjuku. Keep in mind if you know your Waygu and are a avid foodie, this place won’t impress. Instead it’ll depress you. Good luck.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed December 4, 2019

The view cannot make up for the ridiculous drinks prices! And cannot believe that smoking is allowed anywhere in this bar to ruin the experience for all. If I had known that smoking was allowed I would not have visited. So incongruous for Tokyo, where...smoking is outlawed almost everywhere.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed November 1, 2019 via mobile

Go for the view and the jazz. My fries were too salty and my drink (new york punch) was too thick to easily drink. And my straw was made of paper.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Business Hotel Wel Inn Shinjuku
8 reviews
1.79 km away
International Hotel Kabukicho
25 reviews
1.79 km away
Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo-Shinjuku
209 reviews
1.72 km away
APA Hotel Shinjuku Gyoemmae
641 reviews
1.70 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
New York Grill
904 reviews
.02 km away
The Peak Lounge
224 reviews
.00 km away
Girandole
246 reviews
.01 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building Observation Decks
5,443 reviews
.47 km away
Tokyo Tourist Information Center, Tokyo Metropolitan Government Bldg.
196 reviews
.42 km away
Bunka Gakuen Costume Museum
31 reviews
.34 km away
Tokyo Opera City Concert Hall / Recital Hall
148 reviews
.46 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
davidtI6202SO
March 9, 2019|
Answer
Response from TinBeam |
How would you like to look going to a Park Hyatt hotel bar on the top floor overlooking Tokyo while listening to live jazz music drinking great drinks ? No shorts, sandals, flip flops etc.
0
Votes
davidtI6202SO
March 9, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from fayz2016 | Reviewed this property |
I was there in a simple dress and sneakers, the place is dark, nobody blinked an eye and the bartender was super attentive; I would say since it's a touristy spot, you get a mix of people; some are super dressy, some are... More
0
Votes
Chrissemac
September 16, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ReeDLV | Reviewed this property |
No problem
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing