We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
128
49
10
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
128
49
10
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shio ramen pork soup noodles citrus fruit vending machine ramen place delicious ramen spicy version dipping sauce ramen shop soft boiled egg al dente tasted great open kitchen yuzu refreshing
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed May 17, 2020 via mobile

Definitely our Favorite Ramen in Tokyo. You can also try the fantastic Tsukemen. I discovered it after a while and it is now becoming my favourite dish here. The special of the restaurant is Ramen with a bit of Yuzu that increase acidity and help...feel the soup a bit lighter.More

Date of visit: May 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 20, 2020

Ramen is great. Choshu poem compliments the yuzu souped well. Employees are great at making the ramen with minimal volatility however if you ask for something out of the norm, employees will call the cops on you - esp if you speak Englishonly. Afuri is...great dipctionnof why Japan is great but is also a depiction why Japan will fail as well. Great ramen though.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed December 17, 2019

Bloody pop, very very loud, contemporary excrement MTV-style, supper annoying. The music is obviously chosen by and meant to entertain the staff, not the customers. To the customers the message seems to be “LEAVE! LEAVE RIGHT NOW!” This is a chain restaurant with good ramen,...perhaps geared for the tourists, with service just OK, and the first one ever that I noticed one can pay the ticket machine with a credit card. Screen menu is easy to choose, with wording in English and photos for their varied choices. The specialty here is the shio ramen with yuzu, one of the three main native citrus fruits in Japan. Yuzu is a formidable addition to ramen, and it brings an explosive zest to the flavours, without being too spicy, or too acid. The tsukemen is great, and one could be surprised at the small bowl for the dipping sauce/broth, but because this is a thin sauce, it does not stick to the noodle in mass as the thick sauces do. There will be plenty left over, for you to sip from the bowl. This is a beautiful sauce, citric, with umami flavours, a bit savoury, sweet and certainly nutty, with the addition of the sesame seeds. Beautiful indeed, and in my opinion with a stronger yuzu character as compared to the great Hyotokko in Yurakucho. Super convenient, as it is open up to very late hours into the next day. If this is your third bowl of ramen for the day, order the normal size, as it has a nice small quantity of noodle and good amount of toppings. I chose the konyaku noodles, which felt just appropriate, but I want to try the regular what noodle next time. And certainly I’d like to try this ramen at the original store, Zund Bar in the middle of nowhere in Kanagawa (I think). Hopefully the food is at least as good and the music is better.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed November 27, 2019 via mobile

I have had my share of ramen but this one is unique I got the spicy ramen it has a lemon taste very tasty highly recommended! I would love to come back to this place.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed November 8, 2019

I visited this ramen shop after having some drinks. I chose soy sauce-based ramen. The soup is a light clear chicken broth and the noodles are straight, it's neither oily nor heavy. People who like a rich taste might be a little unsatisfied with this...soup, but roast pork complements this dish. The roast pork is thick and juicy, smells good and has a smoky flavor.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed October 15, 2019

A must try if you like your ramen soup based to be light. My personal favorite would be the signature Yuzu Shio Ramen. What surprised me the most, apart from the tasty yuzu flavoured soup, was the delicious chashu cooked over charcoal which I could...not forget even till now. I usually do not finish the ramen soup but I couldn't help myself with this one. I wish I could have stayed in Tokyo a little longer to enjoy the food!More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 8, 2019

Was very difficult to find inside the Shinjuku train station, but definitely worth the hunt!! The most delicious ramen we have ever eaten. They only have a Japanese vending machine to place your order with no option for English. Insert your money first and then...make your decision by the photos provided. I got the vegetable ramen and added egg, and my husband had the chicken. Both sensational! The vending machine spits out tickets for your order and you sit off to the side until a seat becomes available. Doesn’t take long at all! You are provided a giant paper bib (definitely use this as I was covered in ramen juices by the end) and within minutes your delicious bowl of ramen is presented. Would highly recommend!!More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed September 24, 2019 via mobile

Really nice ramen place. The ramen I chose ( the best seller recommendation) was light lemony and delicious. I was able to sub zero cal noodles in as well! Definitely not the most authentic ramen shop but delicious, cheap (10$ pp) and quick (>30 mins)

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed September 15, 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed our first ramen in Tokyo yesterday and it was sooooo good! You order on a computer screen, and a friendly employee came over right away to help us order since we were not sure what we wanted. The meal was fixed in under...five minutes and was absolutely delicious. The restaurant was super clean and we liked the open kitchen so you could watch your meal being prepared. 100% recommended!!!More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed September 15, 2019

Today I had my first ramen (I have never eaten it before) and luckily there was a vegan version. You order it from a machine which is the only minus because I don't think you can combine the ingredients like I wanted a vegetarian version...(with egg) but you can just choose from the fixed options. Apart from that everything was fine and ramen was super delicious !!! highly recommendMore

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
There are countless opportunities to shop in the
Shibuya and Harajuku districts, especially in shops
that focus on Japan's "Kawaii" culture. The trendiest
areas are around Shibuya’s Center district, Harajuku's
Takeshita-dori and in Omotesando. If you need to
recharge from all the shopping, you can easily refresh
yourself in Meiji Jingu or Sasaki Park. In contrast,
Ebisu has a more grown up ambiance of calm and cool.
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Remm Roppongi
267 reviews
2.53 km away
Candeo Hotels Tokyo Roppongi
145 reviews
2.48 km away
Hotel Arca Torre Roppongi
87 reviews
2.46 km away
Olympic Inn Azabu
108 reviews
2.37 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Udon Yamacho
50 reviews
.04 km away
Matsutora
12 reviews
.04 km away
Nikuzushi Ebisu Yokocho
40 reviews
.02 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Ebisu-Yokocho
8 reviews
.03 km away
Ebisu Higashi Park
14 reviews
.03 km away
Cat Cafe Nyafe Melange
32 reviews
.04 km away
Atre Ebisu
74 reviews
.20 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Afuri Ebisu staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing